Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unable to enter new data (Access 2000)

    Today I have been advised that I can post my dilemma on Woody's Lounge and get advise of how I can resolve the serious issue I am having within MS Access 2000.

    I am a self taught new user of access. I have developed a dbase with 8 tables and lookups linking to a central table.

    The eight tables relate to personnel, data of competitors, i.e. Christian names, surnames, address, town, zip, etc., etc. I was hoping have Data entry by using a form. Whilst rattling the keys data entry appears to be going alright, when I action a query and/or go to the central table there is no data entered except for the sequential self numbering record ID. Yet data can be entered directly into the Central table when it is opened as a table.

    As I said before I am a new users, so setting up the links, developing the forms and the lookups I have made extensive use of the Wizards. I have also used performance analysis, repair and condense, nothing seems to repair or suggest a possible repair to allow new data to be entered into this data base by using a form.

    Everything else (queries, reports etc) appear to be working OK on Historical data imported into the database from Excel

    In summary, my dilemma is how can I make this database accept the details of a new entrant while retaing the lookup facility active for individuals who have been here before.

    Keenly awaiting your assistance with positive responses.
    Harry

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Unable to enter new data (Access 2000)

    Welcome to Woody's Lounge.

    What is the Record Source property of your form? If it is the name of a query based on multiple tables, or a text string that starts with SELECT, the form may not be updatable. We would have to know more about the Record Source and about the tables to say for sure.

    Try setting the Record Source property to the name of the central table. You can use combo boxes to let the user choose values dependent on the other tables.

    Please feel free to ask further questions. It helps if you can provide detailed information.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to enter new data (Access 2000)

    I'd like to take a shot at this...if I'm undermining your intelligence or anything of the sort that is NOT my intention.....

    Have you made sure that your input fields in your form are linked to the columns/fields you want to enter the data into? If you're using separate tables (I.E. a separate table for things such as address, one for Christian names, etc.) and you're inputting the data in the same form, you need to have some sort of common denominator between them for access to recognize them as belonging to the same person (primary key, social security number, etc)...something different for all. With that primary key, Access can then know to export the info from your form into specific columns throughout your tables.

    That's how I'd start with it...but I consider myself a beginner user and I'm posting not only to try to help, but also for my own knowledge....
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What's more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to enter new data (Access 2000)

    G'day Hans
    First thanks for your prompt reply and your welcome to the Lounge room as I continue this sharp learning curve that I have been struggling with for over 12months now. I could imagine people thinking it is stupity on my part, but it is probably more a case of tenacity within my character that I have just got to get it to work to conserve space, hence dbase project.

    In reply to your inquiry, If I remember correctly and I am pretty certain that I built the form from a query linking fields of all the tables to the central tbl with tbl IDs. How do I check Record Source property of the data entry form - sorry as I said I am self taught and not that proficient with Access as yet!!!

    Yes for the individual fields in the data entry form I have already deployed Combo Boxes.

    You please keep asking the questions and I'll go to the dbase to see if I can find the answers for you (US - that is all of us in the lounge room)

    Re: NYIntensity's response they each of the tables have unique ID key and the central tble has a unique data field called "Rod_No" as there is only one such number issued to each competitor this year, but if he comes back next year he will be issued with a completely new Rod #.

    Again thanks for your prompt reply, I now have renewed enthusiasm that we will get on top of this one and learn big heaps in the process.
    Harry

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Unable to enter new data (Access 2000)

    To check the record source, open the form in design view. Activate the Properties window (View | Properties) and activate the Data tab in that window. The first property in that tab is the Record Source.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to enter new data (Access 2000)

    Hans
    The property record source is as follows: SELECT [ROD No].[Rod No], [ROD No].[SURNAME_ID], [ROD No].[CHRISTAIN_ID], [ROD No].[STREET_ID], [ROD No].[TOWN_ID], [ROD No].[SECTION_ID], [ROD No].[CLUB_ID], [ROD No].[YEAR_ID], [ROD No].[AWARE_ID], [AWARE].[TV], [AWARE].[Radio], [AWARE].[Poster], [AWARE].[WoM], [AWARE].[Regular], [AWARE].[Mail], [AWARE].[ID] FROM AWARE INNER JOIN [ROD No] ON [AWARE].[ID]=[ROD No].[AWARE_ID];

    I am not clever enough to write all this, it was done by creating the form using wizard.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to enter new data (Access 2000)

    Jeremy

    To follow our progress go back to the initial thread starting point (a reponse to your suggestion is included there too)

    Thanks for the suggestion I believe I am doing what you suggested.

    Hoo Roo for now Harry

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to enter new data (Access 2000)

    Hans

    Are you still suggesting that I change the Record Source for the form to the name of the Central Table. "Rod No".

    I am going to have to call it a night as the time is now 1/4 to 2 AM, have to be up for work in 5 hours, the missus is already starting to raise her voice saying BED TIME!!

    I look forward to hopefully tommorrow night to continue with you as we resolve this issue.

    Hoo Roo for now
    Harry

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Unable to enter new data (Access 2000)

    Thanks. This Record Source is an SQL statement, representing a query. The query is based on two tables, AWARE and ROD No, linked on the ID vs AWARE_ID field. I don't know which one of these is the "main" table (probably ROD No?); the link field in the "main" table should be the primary key of that table. You can check this by opening the main table in design view and inspecting the Indexes window.

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to enter new data (Access 2000)

    Hans
    Yes the Main Table (central tbl) is ROD No

    The primary Key is called just "ID". Wish I knew how to capture a pic of that page to send you.

    [ROD No]![ID] or [ID] as it is shown on the table property page it has displayed beside it the only key symbol on that page. The reported Feild Properties are as follows "Long Integer"; "Increment" & for indexed it is "Yes (No Duplicates)". Lookup is blanked out.

    Shall catch you tommorrow if I can, or read with great expectations your reply & suggestions. The whole data base zipped up is nearly 450 Kbs if that is easier for you. But by working slowly through everything on the board in the lounge room, my knowledge is being expanded and/or reaffirmed, plus there is an opportunity for others to maybe learn something as well.

    Thanks very much.
    Hoo Roo & Sleep Well
    Harry

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Unable to enter new data (Access 2000)

    That sounds OK. The downside is that it's not clear to me why the form shouldn't be updatable.

    If you want to post a copy of your database, it will have to be less than 100 KB zipped. See <post#=401925>post 401925</post#> for instructions on how to cut down the size of the database.

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to enter new data (Access 2000)

    Thanks for that Jeremy - Hey I love this lounge - I am LEARNING

    Hans See below if I can get the pic attached now.

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to enter new data (Access 2000)

    To capture a screenshot, press Alt-PrntScrn....then you can paste into a word document or paint, etc..
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What&#39;s more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Unable to enter new data (Access 2000)

    Thanks. And is ID the primary key in the AWARE table?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •