Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    A very tight connection!

    This may cause a few chuckles but here's my problem. I am still working with the reformat of a new HD (Win XP Pro), and I am making progress, but I found that some information I wanted is located on the old HD. I want to be able to swap the two back and forth (and no, I don't have a bay to do it in <img src=/S/sigh.gif border=0 alt=sigh width=15 height=15> ), so I have to unplug it internally and replug the old. There's the rub! The Disk Drive Power Connector fastens in so tightly that it is hard to insert it or then disconnect it. Is there a way to make this process just a bit easier to do? I have threatened to spray the plug pins with oil but I haven't - yet! <img src=/S/nope.gif border=0 alt=nope width=15 height=15> The other connectors are not this tight, even the one on the slave drive. I am afraid that I may harm the new drive if I keep trying to manhandle the connector's plug/unplug in problem.

    ps: As clarification: I don't want to make my old drive a slave because I want to be able to save the information onto the permanent slave drive that is already in my computer so this HD does need to boot. That is why I am still swapping the two drives. And yes, I know that you want this thing to be firmly attached, but not this firmly surely!! <img src=/S/sigh.gif border=0 alt=sigh width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    Once again, I will appreciate any information "tossed" my way!! <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: A very tight connection!

    If you don't mind spending a couple of dollars to do it, you could purchase a Y-adapter for the power leads. That way both would receive the power while you're doing this entire process.
    Christopher Baldrey

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: A very tight connection!

    Is it possible to set which one that I want to use for the book drive if I have them both connected through the Y-connector? I don't want either of these to be in the slave position because I am backing up the "forgotten" information from the old drive still so I need it to be operational? I haven't activated the new drive yet so I can still boot the both of them and work in either environment.

    <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts

    Re: A very tight connection!

    Do you have a backup old the 'old' drive? Most backup software will allow you extract files and restroe them to any folder you wish. If you do not have a backup and you have enough room why not install the 'old' drive as a slave and just copy the whole 'old' drive to the new drive. Then you can keep it around for a while and copy/move what you wish.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: A very tight connection!

    Skitterbug

    The Y-splitter power connection thingie sounds good to me, because that will give you some more cable length to play with.

    I wonder what anyone thinks of powering the drive from another adjacent computer, while connecting the data cable from the first computer to the disk? Have to earth both chassises together, of course...

    There's always the Files and Settings Transfer Wizard and the associated cable it will cost you $20 for.

    Or my old favourite, the USB flash disk/pen drive (now seen in 2 GB size!)?

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: A very tight connection!

    I would say it would be essential to common the 0V rail of the power connectors, not (just) the chassis of each pc.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: A very tight connection!

    I don't think it is a generally good idea to common two Power supplies like that. Beside the the grounding ( earthing ) of the the two supplies both the chassis and 0 volt line, you also have to consider the possible differences of positive potential of the two. For example, If one supply has an output of 5.3 volts and the other is 4.9 volts, there is a difference of .4 volts between the two. This can create a ground loop voltage of .4 and is the usual source of noise and or erratic behavior and potential damage to one or both of the drives. This is a very simplified description, but it does show the reason for NOT using the supplies in this fashion. True paralleled power supplies are a different story.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: A very tight connection!

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by skitterbug on 01-Dec-04 20:37. Just keep finding and fixing errors. [sigh] )</P> <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15> everyone for your thoughts about my problem. I do have a couple of backups actually. It is the matter of remembering what I made them with in the first place. <img src=/S/sigh.gif border=0 alt=sigh width=15 height=15> This all goes back to <!post=my post,422055>my post<!/post>. Nothing is ever simple, is it?
    I was hoping to "dig into the registry" through the backups, for a couple of specific keys, if I could find them but it doesn't appear to work that way! And I don't want to load the old registry or the old system on the new hard drive because I was having some troubles with it that I couldn't solve. That's why I wanted to go through the old drive 'one more time'!!
    I will eventually wipe the old HD clean and use it for storage. The Reg. keys I was hunting for involve the authentication of some software I have from a company that is now out of business. But I couldn't seem to find what I needed. I had also tried to just backup the folder with the software, and the "system state" and load it onto the new one but that really ended up causing havoc.
    I threw my hands in the air, and started all over again!! I know when I get finished setting the new HD up this time, I am going to make a decent backup of it, mark it with what I used to create it with and put it someplace safe!! And I figure the app. in question is toast now and I will "get over it"!! <img src=/S/crybaby.gif border=0 alt=crybaby width=15 height=15>

    BTW, there apparently isn't any way to make these Disk Drive Power Connectors easier to plug into their sockets, other than trying new ones perhaps?

    End of Story and I'm stickin' to it!!
    <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15> again for everyone's input!


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts

    Re: A very tight connection!

    Did you look under both HKLM & HKCU? Did you just search the registry for the company name or product name?

    Joe
    Joe

  10. #10
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: A very tight connection!

    I thought I did, but now that you ask, I wonder if I searched every corner of the registry!

    So my first question is (and you knew I would have more then one question, right?), if I find some keys that I think are relevant, I can export just those keys and then import them into the proper place in the new registry? Or would I need to write the info down and create the new keys in their proper folders?

    Another question - can I look at a registry if the drive is hooked up as a slave drive? So far, I have gone under the notion that the drive had to be the operating OS to be able to view the registry.

    Or another question - I had exported the whole registry and have it in a file, is there any way to search that copy of the registry for just the keys I want?

    And as a precaution <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15> I WILL make a full backup of my new hard drive before I try doing anything to my registry!! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Thanks for your interest and help!! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts

    Re: A very tight connection!

    In answer to your questions:
    1.) Yes. You can export keys and the merge them into the new registry.
    2.) No. - AFAIK, you have to have an OS that has loaded the registry to be able to access it via REGEDIT.
    3.) If you have exported the registry the exported file is just a text file. So, you can you almost any tool to search and edit it.

    Joe
    Joe

  12. #12
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: A very tight connection!

    Joe

    > 3.) If you have exported the registry the exported file is just a text file. So, you can you almost any tool to search and edit it.

    Yes - but exporting just my HKLM hive as a text file gives 103 MB, and it's in Unicode!

    Good luck, Ms S. K. Bug! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: A very tight connection!

    Skitterbug,
    -------------------------
    Disk Drive Power Connectors easier to plug into their sockets
    --------------------------
    These plugs are designed to be rather snug. ( for want of a better term ) but it won't hurt anything to give the plugs and sockets a light spray of silicone. It's non-conductive and does improve the friction factor.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  14. #14
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: A very tight connection!

    Hi Joe,

    I didn't realize it could be searched through Notepad. <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23> I have located several pieces that would probably do what I want. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> So my next question is - can I reproduce reg keys from this information or will I have to go back to the registry on the old hard drive and find what I need? I am thinking that if I copy and paste the information to notepad and save it as a .reg file that the key would work? and then I could just click on it and merge it with my current registry? I also note that I will have to adjust the path to the C: drive rather then the D: drive where I originally had this software loaded! Am I making any headway in understanding this process??

    <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  15. #15
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: A very tight connection!

    Hello Mr. Gray!! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    My exported .reg file is 67,312KB in size! And as Joe indicated, by golly it can be viewed in Notepad in language I can understand!! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> Your file seems very large!! I wonder what is causing the difference in file size? <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>]


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •