Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Posting Data To Sage Accounts (2000+)

    Does any one know if it is possible to get data into Sage Accounts (v10) from Access.
    It is possible to import from Excel and CSV files if you are in Sage,
    but I need to automate the process from Access.
    It is easy enough to get data out of Sage using
    either ODBC Tables or SQL Pass through queries.

    Can you use a SQL Pass through query to Append Data
    from an Access Table into Sage, or is it possible using
    ADO or DAO.

    I could try all this but if anyone can give me a simple yes or no then
    I know whether to make the effort or NOT.

    Thanks ( whatever the answer )
    Andrew

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Posting Data To Sage Accounts (2000+)

    I have no familiarity with Sage, but the key consideration is whether or not there is a decent ODBC driver. If you can link to Sage tables from Access and they are updateable, then you should be able to do what you envision.
    Wendell

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Posting Data To Sage Accounts (2000+)

    It may be possible but I urge you to think carefully about what you intend to do. Sage is an accounting package. That means that "just" appending data is not a straightforward operation because of the checks and balances built into good accounting packages. When the application imports from an outside source, it controls the results. If you push data into it, that control is lost and you may have an unholy mess on your hands. Be very careful.
    Charlotte

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Posting Data To Sage Accounts (2000+)

    The ODBC driver supplied by Sage works fine, but the tables
    all seem to be read only and I suspect that that is at the discretion of Sage.
    Indeed I can understand why they do not want pushed data arriving.

    I think I may have to investigate how easy it is to link to Sage as an OLE
    application and use some of it's functionality.

    Never done this so may not be possible.

    Thanks anyway.
    Andrew

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Posting Data To Sage Accounts (2000+)

    This is a very worthy point, and I suspect one of the reasons that all the
    ODBC links to sage appear to be read only.

    I wonder if Sage supports OLE APP programming so that
    I can make use of elements of its object model.
    If this was the case then I could trigger it's internal importing tools
    so that there was no infringement of the data's integrity.

    Hmm, food for thought.
    Now can it be done?
    Andrew

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Posting Data To Sage Accounts (2000+)

    I suspect the same limitation you have with updating of data will be applied to any sort of Automation features. On the other hand, you can use Access as an Automation server rather than the client, if of course SAGE will work as an Automation client. Thus you would trigger the process from SAGE rather Access - but that presumes you have something akin to VBA available within SAGE.
    Wendell

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger AndrewKKWalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    1,020
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Posting Data To Sage Accounts (2000+)

    Yeah.
    Things are not looking positive on this front.

    I can find no Automation functionality in Sage
    And
    The Automation objects exposed by Sage (within Access)
    are few and limited ( or at least they appear that way to me ).
    Also, they have minimal help.

    Ho Hum!
    Andrew

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •