Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Can't run/edit macros (2003 SP1)

    When I try to run a macro via Tools/Macro/Macros (or Alt-F8, or Alt-F11), Outlook crashes with a dialog box that says that Outlook has encountered a problem and has to close. I have tried looking for an .otm file, but not successfully. I have tried changing the security level - again, no luck. I have also tried looking in the MSKB, but again no luck.

    Any ideas what to try next?

    Thanks,

    kiwi44

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
    Posts
    9,508
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

    Re: Can't run/edit macros (2003 SP1)

    All macros exhibit this behavior? I hope you don't have a corrupt OTM file, but it is known to happen, and if it does, you have to delete it and start over.

    To find your OTM file you'll need to search with "search hidden files and folders". In default 2000 and XP installations, the OTM file is in:

    Cocuments and Settings<username>Application DataMicrosoftOutlook
    -John ... I float in liquid gardens
    UTC -7ąDS

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't run/edit macros (2003 SP1)

    Thanks for the response. I can't get to any macros at all - I just crash out with the 'encountered problem' dialog.

    I looked 'everywhere' for VbaProject and *.otm, but came up with a blank (even with search for hidden files turned on.

    This is the first time (I think!) that I have tried to use macros in Outlook, but the same technique works fine in Access, Word, and Excel - no crashes.

    I forgot to mention that I have SP2 on XP as well - not sure if that makes any difference ...

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
    Posts
    9,508
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

    Re: Can't run/edit macros (2003 SP1)

    Do you have any macros yet? What are you trying to do? If you do not have any macros you will not have an OTM, and if not, do this: set Tools | Macro |Security to low, close and reopen Outlook, and then reset macro security to medium, and see what happens if you open the VBE editor via Alt-F11.
    -John ... I float in liquid gardens
    UTC -7ąDS

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't run/edit macros (2003 SP1)

    Same problem - Microsoft Office Outlook has encountered a problem and needs to restart. We apologize for the inconvenience.

    Regards

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Can't run/edit macros (2003 SP1)

    You could try manually disabling COM Add-ins and regular add-ins in case one of them is uncomfortable with the idea of you opening the VBE. In earlier versions of Outlook, there are buttons on the Tools>Options..., Other tab, Advanced... button dialog pane to get at these things.

    You might want to make backups of your mail files before experimenting further. All the abnormal shutting down may not be good for them...

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't run/edit macros (2003 SP1)

    Thanks for the advice - unfortunately that doesn't work either. Looks like a fresh install of OL. Not a high priority as there is no problem with running macros in the other office products. Just frustrating! <img src=/S/brickwall.gif border=0 alt=brickwall width=25 height=15> <img src=/S/bummer.gif border=0 alt=bummer width=15 height=15>

    kiwi44

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Portland, Maine, USA
    Posts
    296
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't run/edit macros (2003 SP1)

    One other thing you can try ... If you have another user with a working vbaproject.otm file, copy to some place where you can get to is and start outlook with the "altvba" switch. Start, run: Outlook /altvba pathfilename

    To look (again) for your otm file, type this in the run command: "%appdata%microsoftoutlook" Using the %appdata% variable is just a quick/easy way to get to the right spot.

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't run/edit macros (2003 SP1)

    Many thanks - I'll try this at home. My office computer now has a working .otm file.

    I'll let you know if this works!

    Best wishes,

    Kiwi44

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't run/edit macros (2003 SP1)

    Unfortunately that didn't work either.

    Thanks for the suggestions.

    kiwi44

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't run/edit macros (2003 SP1)

    Finally fixed it <img src=/S/music.gif border=0 alt=music width=97 height=29>.

    Made sure that I had backups of the important bits, reinstalled Outlook, and then ran Detect & Repair. Am now in the happy state of being able to write and run macros again <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23>.

    Thanks for the support!

    kiwi44

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •