Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    NY, NY, USA
    Posts
    654
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Loads with Full Screen 2/3 times vs normal size (IE 6 sp2)

    My internet explorer seems to load in full screen, which I do not want, 2/3 times. Is there some setting that is off?
    Thanks Jeorme

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Loads with Full Screen 2/3 times vs normal size (IE 6 sp2)

    Usually, people complain that they can't get Internet Explorer to open maximized - it is a known bug/feature that Internet Explorer does not "remember" if it was maximized the previous time it was used.

    How are you starting Internet Explorer? From the default IE icon on the desktop, or from a regular shortcut? If you right-click the icon and select Properties, you either get Internet Options, or shortcut properties. In shortcut properties, you can set the window size.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Loads with Full Screen 2/3 times vs normal siz

    Do you mean it loads 2/3 times the full screen size?
    or that you get 2/3 separate IE windows opening?

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Loads with Full Screen 2/3 times vs normal siz

    I'm still not sure exactly what you mean, but F11 toggles 'Full Screen' on and off (See View > Full Screen)

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    NY, NY, USA
    Posts
    654
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Loads with Full Screen 2/3 times vs normal siz

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by Leif on 04-Dec-04 12:06. to reduce width of attached graphic to a more user friendly size)</P>
    I mean that 1 time is maxamized adn 3 times is full screen ie more than maximized which I don't like. All being opened from the desktop
    see attached graphic
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: jpg a.jpg (9.2 KB, 1 views)

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    NY, NY, USA
    Posts
    654
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Loads with Full Screen 2/3 times vs normal siz

    Leif:
    Yes that is the problem who wants to hit f11 80% of the time just to get back to the "regular" common maximized screen where you see all the toolbars. Just does not want to ""stick" with the maximized setting, Keeps wanting to revert to the "full"" screen like a stubborn child.
    Jerome

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Loads with Full Screen 2/3 times vs normal siz

    Aha!
    You mean that 80% of the time, when you start IE, it starts in Full Screen mode, but sometimes not?

    Right-click > Properties your desktop IE shortcut. What window size is it showing?
    Do you always start IE the same way?
    Are you starting with a shortcut to IE (and your homepage), or to a specific website (or websites)?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: gif x.gif (13.7 KB, 0 views)

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    NY, NY, USA
    Posts
    654
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Loads with Full Screen 2/3 times vs normal siz

    shows normal window, usually use the desktop internet icon, but sometimes starts a new instance within IE. can be any page. Just surfing.
    I am away at a course for the next 8 hrs so won't be responding
    Thanks for your help
    Jerome

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Loads with Full Screen 2/3 times vs normal siz

    Any chance the page you use as your home page is doing it to you? (If your home page is the Lounge, then, no, we are not doing it to you.)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •