Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Star Lounger
    Thanks

Access 2000 update (Access 2000)

Hello,
    I am new to Access 2000 and am having trouble with updating a single record. When I say update what I mean is I would like to take the original records data and add to it. This is for stock on hand adjustments. I am not sure if I should use an update query or do it programmatically. The table I would like to update to is called tblParts and the field within this table is called UnitsInStock. If at all possible I would like to include some sort of user criteria for selecting the PartNumber's quantities(UnitsInStock) that need to be updated. I am sorry if this is confusing but I HAVE NOWHERE ELSE TO GO. Any help will be very much appreciated.

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Access 2000 update (Access 2000)

I'm sorry, it isn't clear to me what you want.
    <hr>When I say update what I mean is I would like to take the original records data and add to it.<hr>
    Does this mean that you want to modify the existing data, or that you want to create a new record with the modified values?

Normally, you would modify existing data in a form based on the table that contains the data.

Star Lounger
    Thanks

Hans,
    Thank you very much for replying to my post. What I need to do is to be able to add or subtract from the UnitsInStock to reflect accurately what we have in stock. Again the table that holds the data is called tblParts and the field I would like to update is called UnitsInStock and the field that is unique is called PartNumber. Again any help you can give would be very much appreciated

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Please bear with me, I'm probably going to ask a long series of annoying questions.

Is the updating going to be a manual process, i.e. the user sits behind the PC, locates (in a way to be discussed) the appropriate PartNumber, then specifies the number to be added to or subtracted from UnitsInStock?