Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger gsterry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Virginia or South Africa
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Drive Image 5.0 bootable CD

    I have been using Drive Image 5.0 for some time and find it meets my needs; however, I am unsure as to how to use it to create a bootable CD.

    What I've been doing is using the "Rescue Diskettes" to create images; however, a "new" system's floppy drive appears to be dead in the water <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>
    So what will it take to make a Drive Image 5.0 bootable CD that will enable me to make images?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Drive Image 5.0 bootable CD

    First I should say that I used Drive Image for many years, but have since switched to Acronis TrueImage, so my ol' memory doesn't remember if DI can be setup on a bootable CD or not. Since it's a "DOS based" program, I too always ran it from floppy disks. There will be others who disagree with me on the relative un-importance of a floppy drive these days, but I think that's the problem you need to attack. With the LOW cost of a drive and the simplicity of an install, you should be able to rectify that one in nothing flat. Any reason that's not practical?

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Drive Image 5.0 bootable CD

    Most CD writing programs will allow you to supply a bootable floppy and use that as an image for creating a bootable CD. Would this do what you need?

    StuartR

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger gsterry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Virginia or South Africa
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Drive Image 5.0 bootable CD

    <hr>First I should say that I used Drive Image for many years, but have since switched to Acronis TrueImage, so my ol' memory doesn't remember if DI can be setup on a bootable CD or not. Since it's a "DOS based" program, I too always ran it from floppy disks. There will be others who disagree with me on the relative un-importance of a floppy drive these days, but I think that's the problem you need to attack. With the LOW cost of a drive and the simplicity of an install, you should be able to rectify that one in nothing flat. Any reason that's not practical?<hr>
    Yeah... I live in Jerusalem (with the imperative words being "low cost" and "simplicity") <img src=/S/rofl.gif border=0 alt=rofl width=15 height=15>
    If I'm unable to make the bootable CD, then I'll "hike up my britches" and consider the overall cost to be more beneficial than losing data.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger gsterry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Virginia or South Africa
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Drive Image 5.0 bootable CD

    <hr>Most CD writing programs will allow you to supply a bootable floppy and use that as an image for creating a bootable CD. Would this do what you need?
    <hr>
    Funny, I thought about an hour or two after I posted my initial challenge and plan on checking that out; hopefully, that will solve it all <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger gsterry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Virginia or South Africa
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Drive Image 5.0 bootable CD

    I have an external floppy drive I could attach to the USB port... would that work?
    (I won't know until I try, of course, but what do I need to do to make it work?)

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Drive Image 5.0 bootable CD

    External USB floppies have always been able to boot when I try them, but there may be some issues related to BIOS support if you have a very old PC.

    StuartR

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger gsterry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Virginia or South Africa
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Drive Image 5.0 bootable CD

    <hr>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Most CD writing programs will allow you to supply a bootable floppy and use that as an image for creating a bootable CD. Would this do what you need?

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Funny, I thought about an hour or two after I posted my initial challenge and plan on checking that out; hopefully, that will solve it all <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15><hr>
    The CDRW s/w can make a bootable CD from a bootable floppy, and I saw that work <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    Drive Image 5.0, however, has its boot floppy plus *Insert Disk 2* to execute the program. I tried "Adding the Files" from Disk 2 to the soon-to-be bootable CD, but they "wouldn't take." <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>

    The CD boots and becomes drive A:
    I tried A: dir to search for the files added from Disk 2 by way of a copy of them from a folder in Windows Explorer, but they didn't appear; however, only those files show in Windows Explorer when the CD becomes its "usual" D:

    So what will it take to get both floppies on this bootable CD so I can execute the program as if I were using the two floppies <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>?

    FWIW, the four files on Disk 2 are:
    DIHELP.DAT
    PQDI.EXE
    pqDI.ovl
    PQDI.pqg

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger gsterry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Virginia or South Africa
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Drive Image 5.0 bootable CD

    <hr>External USB floppies have always been able to boot when I try them, but there may be some issues related to BIOS support if you have a very old PC.<hr>
    I didn't get to this step today as the bootable CD ate my time <img src=/S/mad.gif border=0 alt=mad width=15 height=15> but, hey, there's always tomorrow <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Drive Image 5.0 bootable CD

    If you want to do this then your bootable floppy would need to include suitable drivers for the CD. I have succeeded in doing this by using a Windows 98 boot floppy, and putting all the other files on the CD in the normal way. This way the floppy boots and allows you to access the rest of the files on the CD.

    StuartR

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Drive Image 5.0 bootable CD

    As I recall, Drive Image uses DR DOS as its boot software and the reason for the two disks is that all the files won't fit on one floppy. I tried at one time to "make" my own, using a Win98SE boot floppy but because of the Command.Com, and the two hidden boot files, I was never able to make it fly. In the final analysis, I would boot the system with my regular Win98 boot floppy and manually insert a homemade disk with the DI files on it, running PQDI.EXE in the process. The reason you're getting the "...insert disk #2..." message is that the batch file has to be present on both floppies in order for it to continue.

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger gsterry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Virginia or South Africa
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Drive Image 5.0 bootable CD

    <hr>If you want to do this then your bootable floppy would need to include suitable drivers for the CD. I have succeeded in doing this by using a Windows 98 boot floppy, and putting all the other files on the CD in the normal way. This way the floppy boots and allows you to access the rest of the files on the CD.<hr>
    Well, it turns out that the CD boots, but I'm only getting the data from the first of two Drive Image Rescue Disks. Somehow I need to get the data/files from both Rescue Diskettes on to the CD--but how?! <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger gsterry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Virginia or South Africa
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Drive Image 5.0 bootable CD

    <hr>As I recall, Drive Image uses DR DOS as its boot software and the reason for the two disks is that all the files won't fit on one floppy. I tried at one time to "make" my own, using a Win98SE boot floppy but because of the Command.Com, and the two hidden boot files, I was never able to make it fly. In the final analysis, I would boot the system with my regular Win98 boot floppy and manually insert a homemade disk with the DI files on it, running PQDI.EXE in the process. The reason you're getting the "...insert disk #2..." message is that the batch file has to be present on both floppies in order for it to continue.<hr>
    Oh, and BTW, I want to avoid using the floppy drive.

    Yes, you're correct in saying that the Drive Image data will not fit one floppy. I have the two floppy disks, the first of which is bootable; however, I want to avoid using the floppy drive in favor of a completely bootable Drive Image CD that acts like the two floppies since the floppy drive is acting, uh, goofy.

    <hr>The reason you're getting the "...insert disk #2..." message is that the batch file has to be present on both floppies in order for it to continue.<hr>
    So what will it take to get this message off of the CD so it will continue on to Disk 2 without user intervention (or even with user intervention)?

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Drive Image 5.0 bootable CD

    On your floppies you can see a file named AUTOEXEC.BAT
    Right-click this file and from pop-up menu choose "Edit". Then please copy all this text and post it there: it is very difficult to suggest changes without it.
    If you have a file named CONFIG.SYS open it with Notepad and post it also.

    If you don't see these files, from Tools menu choose Folder Options, then click View tab and check "Show hidden files and folders" and UNcheck "Hide file extensions for known file types". Then click Apply, OK.

    Your Autoexec.bat file must be edited to load CD-ROM drivers first, then assign a letter to CD-ROM drive and run all other commands from this drive (i.e. from your CD).

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger gsterry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Virginia or South Africa
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Drive Image 5.0 bootable CD

    I'm at home looking at the Drive Image floppy disk, and it's not encouraging:
    Hmm, I see an AUTOEXEC.001; however, there is no 'Edit' option from the right-click menu <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>
    I made sure the hidden files were shown and that to hide file extensions was unchecked.

    When I get back to the office, however, I'll run your ideas for the bootable CD to see what happens <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    I'll be back once I've chewed on this idea <img src=/S/munch.gif border=0 alt=munch width=19 height=17>

    Thanks for the new possibilities!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •