Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Lost Connection With Cable?

    I'm not sure what forum this belongs in - how can I lose my internet connection if I have cable? I thought it was always on. Before SP2 (at least I think it was ok before SP2) once I turned on my PC I was always connected. Now, if the PC runs for any length of time I will have to reboot before I can access the Internet or before Outlook can send/receive mail. Even when I first boot, the connection isn't always there but then if I reboot right away it's there. I can't decide if this is a Windows problem or my ISP's (Earthlink) problem. Any ideas?

    TIA
    <font face="Comic Sans MS"><big><font color=4682b4>Sherry</font color=4682b4></big></font face=comic>

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Lost Connection With Cable?

    I don't know if a setting got accidently misconfigured, but while "we're" thinking on that... How about your cable modem and its indicator lights - would that give any clues? Mine is an RCA model with five indicator lights, four of which are ON all the time. Two of the lights blink continuously for PC-link and 'Net traffic and the other two are solid, non-flashing. On the rare occasion when I have "lost" my cable, the two flashing lights would be out. I've only lost mine a couple of times in the six months since I switched. Meanwhile, I can't remember where in Windows one would go to "disable" connectivity, so I've got to go looking...

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Lost Connection With Cable?

    When I had cable service, before I switched to DSL, I would often have the internet service "go down" as a result of what the cables service provider's support staff called a "connectivity" problem. The solution was to unplug the cable modem and wait a minute and then plug it back in. If this didn't work, they would have you unplug the modem and then reboot the computer. While the PC was booting up, you reconnected the modem and it usually got the connection back then. I have similar issues with the DSL service. Might have something to do with me leaving my PCs on 24/7, but it would seem to me that the broadband providers shouldn't be able to advertise always on connections if it ain't necessarily so. Some days are worse than others and I've had times when the service, both cable and DSL will go down 3 or 4 times a day. Always the same "connectivity issue". Try reinitilizing your modem the next time it happens, before you reboot the computer. HTH
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ashmore, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: Lost Connection With Cable?

    I am not sure whether this is relevant to your problem, but I recently installed Norton Internet Security 2005 and had the same problem with my ADSL connection. After 5 days of lost communication and productivity, endless conversations with patient techs from my ISP and the modem manufacturer, Googling into every possible relevant site, and the unnecessary purchase of a new ADSL modem, it came down to NIS. Once uninstalled, all is back to normal. Have asked for a refund. Had used NIS 2004 Pro without a moment's bother, but the 2005 version appears to be fraught with problems relating to connectivity, email download etc.

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Lost Connection With Cable?

    Bigaldoc,
    I will have to make note of the lights when I have a good connection and then when it's dropped. I'm thinking it is a cable company problem and it falls in the category of annoyance more than anything. Thanks for the idea.
    <font face="Comic Sans MS"><big><font color=4682b4>Sherry</font color=4682b4></big></font face=comic>

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Lost Connection With Cable?

    Doc,
    There have been one or two times where I needed to do as you suggested (unplug modem etc.) but mostly a reboot solves the problem. Seems like on 1st boot there is no connection then I reboot and it is fine. Then if the PC runs for any length of time the connection is lost again and I have to reboot. I have never lost the connection while I am using it (surfing), only when IE hasn't been used for a while. Almost makes me think the cable company monitors usage and doles it out according to need. Kind of a Big Brother is watching. <img src=/S/sneaky.gif border=0 alt=sneaky width=15 height=15> And I would probably get the royal run around if I called them. I'm going to monitor the modem lights as Bigaldoc suggested to see what that tells me.

    Thanks.
    <font face="Comic Sans MS"><big><font color=4682b4>Sherry</font color=4682b4></big></font face=comic>

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Lost Connection With Cable?

    Dianne,
    I used to use Norton until I realized that everytime I had a problem it was related to Norton. Good luck getting a refund.
    <font face="Comic Sans MS"><big><font color=4682b4>Sherry</font color=4682b4></big></font face=comic>

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,348
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,016 Times in 891 Posts

    Re: Lost Connection With Cable?

    Sherry,
    Have you checked all the physical connections? Is this a wired or wireless connection? Have you also checked the Power Management settings for the NIC?

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Update Re: Lost Connection With Cable?

    I have been able to (mostly) solve my connectivity problem. I read somewhere (could have been while browsing at the Lounge) that you can "refresh" your connection by typing ipconfig /release and then ipconfig /renew in a command window. I have tried it and it works. Sometimes it doesn't "take" the first time and I have to redo the command. But if the connection is gone, mostly due to the PC being idle, ipconfig does the trick!

    Another thing I figured out - Sometimes the connection isn't lost at all but rather Earthlink is in the twilight zone. Explanation: I start my PC and do one of two things - open Outlook which automatically tries to retreive mail from Earthlink - and fails, OR I immediately open Explorer which has Earthlink as the home page, and I get "the page cannot be found" message. However, if I select another site, it will load and then I can select Earthlink which will load and I can retreive mail through Outlook. I usually try this before trying the ipconfig command.

    Finally, my notebook never has these problems. It is networked and uses the same cable connection and never has a problem. If I were a bit more techy I would be able to figure out what setting or hardware causes the desktop to blip while the notebook is rock solid.

    Anyhow, I have reduced the frustration level and wanted to tell you about the ipconfig command <img src=/S/groovin.gif border=0 alt=groovin width=21 height=21>
    <font face="Comic Sans MS"><big><font color=4682b4>Sherry</font color=4682b4></big></font face=comic>

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,348
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,016 Times in 891 Posts

    Update Re: Lost Connection With Cable?

    When you boot the PC do you make sure everything is loaded and disk activity has subsided before you try IE or Outlook? If your firewall or networking components have not been fully initialized you may have a problem making a connection.

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Update Re: Lost Connection With Cable?

    Sherry, are you using a router?
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Update Re: Lost Connection With Cable?

    John, yes I am using a Belkin 802.11g Wireless DSL/Cable Gateway Router.
    <font face="Comic Sans MS"><big><font color=4682b4>Sherry</font color=4682b4></big></font face=comic>

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Update Re: Lost Connection With Cable?

    Joe, I guess that makes sense - and I don't know if all activity has subsided when I have tried to access the Internet - I will watch for that. And that would explain the problems on boot. I'm still not sure what would cause the problem when the PC has been idle for a while - but I can deal with ipconfiging it. Thanks.
    <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    <font face="Comic Sans MS"><big><font color=4682b4>Sherry</font color=4682b4></big></font face=comic>

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Update Re: Lost Connection With Cable?

    Hibernation will kill the network.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  15. #15
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Update Re: Lost Connection With Cable?

    Then from my experience (although this may not be the case with your situation), I would suspect that these problems are router related rather than with the modem. Are you powering down the router and modem when you turn your computer off, or are you leaving them on 24/7? If you are shutting them off and then turning them back on when you start the computer, it is probably a timing issue. I leave both my router and modem on at all times.

    I find that sometimes (no set pattern or time interval) that the router simply loses its connection. If I try to open the router configuration screen, I get a message to the effect that "this device could not be found". When this happens, I power off the router and the modem (they are both connected to the same surge protector), wait 30 seconds or so, and power them up again. This in most cases resolves the problem. My DSL service has been interrupted on the odd occasion, and then of course nothing will work until the service is restored.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •