Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Calif
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    View Record Source in Form

    I have a form for tracking inventory. I have macro buttons with part numbers on them that change the recordsource of one form to view all parts rather that create many forms.
    What I want to do is, when the form comes up and there are no parts in stock, I have a control that says "NO STOCK".
    But the other controls are blank. I would like to be able to show the record source, which is a query named with the actual part number. So if I could show the record source, it would show the part number that we are out of in the form. I dont know if this can be done, but any help would be greatly appreciated. (Access 97) SR1
    Thanks
    Cary

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: View Record Source in Form

    is the part number in the criteria field of the query if so why not set a control for this field

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Calif
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: View Record Source in Form

    The part number is in the Criteria field in the query in quotes. But if there are no parts in stock, the query comes up empty so the part number doesnt show in the form.
    I dont understand how you would put a control in the form that would show that criteria in the query.

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: View Record Source in Form

    is the part number still in the field even though there is no stock
    also how do you start the query from a button a list or combo box or what

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Calif
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: View Record Source in Form

    I have a query for eacn part number so it doesnt have to be typed in a parameter box. A command button on the menu form
    runs a macro and changes the form record source to the correct query. So when the form opens and there is no record in the query, all controls come up blank in the form.
    I want the part number to show even though there are no records.
    Thanks for your help
    Cary

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: View Record Source in Form

    is there a command button for each part number
    if not how do you tell the macro what part number you want

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Calif
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: View Record Source in Form

    In this data base there are six part numbers. Each has four different lenghts and two colors. I have a query set up for each part number with each length. So there are 24 queries. I used [type color] parameter in each query to avoid making an additional 12 queries. You may ask why I didnt just use a [type part number] paremeter too. I wanted to make it easier one the user to just click one button and type in one color number instead of typing in (part number)(length) and (color). When the command button is clicked, it opens the form and it runs the set value command and uses the right query and the query only asks the user for the color number. But if there is no stock the form comes up and a control says "NO STOCK", but since there is no record, it shows no part number so the user has to remember the correct (part number);(length) button she clicked. That's why I would like it to show the part number.
    Thanks again for trying to help
    Cary

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: View Record Source in Form

    ok i taking it that you have six different buttons for the part numbers
    if this is correct
    place an unbound textbox on the form
    then on the onclick of the button put the part number in the text box
    like this
    text1 = "the part number"
    the part number will stay there until you remove it or replace it with another number
    also if you wanted you could make a list box for color and the user wouldn't have to type that
    let me know if any of this works for you

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: View Record Source in Form

    i was just re reading your form setup
    if you wanted you could place three listboxes or combo boxes in the form one for part number one for length and the other for color that way one query would work for all part numbers and and unbound textbox for each list or combo box would let you know all the information when the "no stock" came up
    just a thought

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Calif
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: View Record Source in Form

    In the on click event of the command button that runs the macro it already has the name of the macro there. I tried to put it in other events but it just says unable to find "part number". Even when put in quotes, it still thinks it is looking for a macro. I dont see how this would work anyway since the form is not even open at this point so the unbound text box in not even in existence yet. I guess this just can not be done. Thanks for trying to help though.
    Cary

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: View Record Source in Form

    yes it can be done
    remove the macro from the on click event
    now click on the three dot button at the left on the on click event then choose code builder
    now enter the name of the unbound textbox like this
    text1 = "part number"
    hit enter and on the next line run your macro
    docmd.RunMacro "macro name"
    this will fill the text box with the part number and then run your macro
    don't give up this is easier than you think
    it's just a different way than you are use to
    if you want send me a zipped db with this form in it and i will show you what i mean
    if you want send to jwcurry@cafes.net

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •