Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    920
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Adding New Child to New Parent (A2K)

    I have a form which contains Corporate name and address information.

    This form contains a linked subform for adding personnel to any of the corporations.

    Scenario:

    I add a new corporation to the main form.

    I click to enter new personnel in the subform for that new corporation.

    It immediately jumps to the first record in the database.

    Not good.

    Even saving it prior to entering personnel data the first time in does not work.

    If I save and exit the corporation I can immediately go back and add new personnel.

    Would, as always, appreciate any help with my problem.
    Cheers,
    Andy

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Adding New Child to New Parent (A2K)

    WHICH immediately jumps to the first record? Your form and subform are based on two different tables, right? So you need to either provide more detail or zip up a stripped down copy of the database and post it here.
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: Adding New Child to New Parent (A2K)

    Is the field that links the main form and subform an AutoNumber field in the main form?
    Do you have code behind the main form and/or subform?

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    920
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adding New Child to New Parent (A2K)

    Hans,

    The database that I'm alluding to is the same as the example that I gave you the location to in my email to you. If you comment out the lines that will appear when you try and add a new record, it will display the problem that I have. If you haven't been able to access this database, please let me know.
    Cheers,
    Andy

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    920
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adding New Child to New Parent (A2K)

    Charlotte,

    Thanks for the quick response. As you can note in my response to Hans, he already has a copy of it.
    Cheers,
    Andy

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: Adding New Child to New Parent (A2K)

    I haven't received an e-mail from you, which is hardly surprising, since I haven't given you my e-mail address. I haven't seen a PM from you either, so I'm confused.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    920
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adding New Child to New Parent (A2K)

    Hans,

    I too am confused as always. I thought I'd sent it via this board but obviously not. If you want to send me your email address you can do so to agmcon37@hotmail.com. I've set up an area on a Yahoo briefcase which contains the alluded to database.
    Cheers,
    Andy

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: Adding New Child to New Parent (A2K)

    I'm sorry, I don't give out my e-mail address. If you like, you can send me a URL from which I can download the database in a PM (click on PostBox in the Lounge menu bar).

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Adding New Child to New Parent (A2K)

    Andy,

    We discourage sending things back and forth like this unless it's the only possible way to handle the situation. Unfortunately, when you do this, a great deal of the information is lost on other loungers who might have somewhat similar problems, since they don't get to see *your* problem in situ, as it were. It is always preferable to post a stripped down database as an attachment or post a link where others can download the file.
    Charlotte

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    920
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adding New Child to New Parent (A2K)

    Hans,

    Not a problem. I did try sending you the message the last time and I've once more gone through the PostBox and it claims that the message has been sent. Now, please tell me I was correct in sending it to "HansV". I haven't tried using this service before so that could be the answer to my messing up the first time. Let's hope this works.
    Cheers,
    Andy

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    920
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adding New Child to New Parent (A2K)

    Charlotte,
    I totally agree with you 100%. The problem I ran into was that even the most pared down zipped version was 786k and the limit appears to be 100k for attachments. It's amazing that 2 small tables and 3 small forms hit the 5 mb size. Again, I appreciate your pointing out the incorrect manner that I attempted in trying to get my problem solved. If I ever get this straightened out in how to do this, I'll at least be ready for my next anomaly! Hope to do better in the future,
    Cheers,
    Andy

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: Adding New Child to New Parent (A2K)

    I have received your PM and I have downloaded the database. I will report what I find in this forum.

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    920
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adding New Child to New Parent (A2K)

    Hans,

    Much appreciated. This is not a high priority item, so please do this at your leisure.
    Cheers,
    Andy

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: Adding New Child to New Parent (A2K)

    The problem is that you have code in the After Update event of the main form that moves to the record whose name is in the combo box on the main form. But that combo box is not bound, it still contains the last corporation you selected. You should remove the code from the After Update event.

    Note 1: when I imported the tables etc. into a new blank database and compacted it, it was only 184 KB in size, and the zip file only 21 KB! If you like, I can attach the zip file.
    Note 2: I also posted a reply in your previous thread.

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    920
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adding New Child to New Parent (A2K)

    Hans,

    Can't thank you enough for your help and patience. Your use of a new database for resizing was an excellent suggestion. Will definetly follow that road if I have to submit something else in the future. Again, thanks to you and Charlotte.
    Cheers,
    Andy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •