Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Windows Won't Load (XP Pro SP2 & all current updates)

    Guess it's my turn on the MS whipping post. <img src=/S/sigh.gif border=0 alt=sigh width=15 height=15> Turned on my system this AM (just the monitor, the CPU runs 24/7) and my DSL connection was acting up so I rebooted the modem and my system and that's when the trouble began. Booted to the log on screen, no problem, but when I clicked on my profile icon it didn't respond and the system began to react very slowly. After a minute or so it began to slowly tell me it was loading my user settings the put up this dialog box, "Windows cannot load the locally stored profile. Possible causes of this error insufficient security rights or a corrupt local profile. If the problem persists contact your network administrator." I waited and clicked and hit cntrl-alt-del a couple times and got this error, "Insufficient system resources exist to complete requested service." I shut down (powered off) and rebooted a couple times with no better results. I managed to get the wallpaper up, but thenm got an error about desktop not being able to load due to insufficient resources and then a string of errors for most of my programs and services that couldn't or wouldn't load due to mising dll files or insufficient resources. Rebooted and then went to the F8 key and chose Last Known Good. Got the desktop back and all it's icons this time but no Systray and the quicklaunch bar was all windows generic icons. It took a while for the Start button to appear as well. Then a series of errors for components not found and missing dll files for what appear to be all the programs and services that are started when the system boots. It says that reinstalling the application may fix the problem. I right clicked on the desktop to kill the wallpaper and start to recover system resources to troubleshoot the problem and got this little gem, "Control Panel window - Windows cannot access the specified device, path or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access the item." I'm not sure what the problem is, how it started or how to proceed. I'm about to just take it to my local guru and let him do his magic. I have an image backup, but it's about a month old and I'd like to save the recent data. Any ideas before I pull the plug ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Won't Load (XP Pro SP2 & all current updates)

    So it lets you into safe mode? I would try sfc /scannow at the DOS prompt. Have the OS disk ready, it will ask for it. When the scan is done, the Window will just close with no indication that anything was fixed.

    Note that insufficient system resources could be your disk space running very low too.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Windows Won't Load (XP Pro SP2 & all current updates)

    What's the command "sfc" ?? System File Checker ?? What will it do ?? After the window closes then what ???

    My disk space shouldn't be a problem. My C partition is 20GB with 4+GB free (or at least it was yesterday). The system was behaving normally execpting for the internet connectivity issue with the DSL (also pretty normal) before I rebooted to fix the DSL connectivity issue. That's when the system began acting up.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,328
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,014 Times in 889 Posts

    Re: Windows Won't Load (XP Pro SP2 & all current updates)

    Doc,

    Can you boot to safe mode? Do you have Autoruns to check out what is really loaded when you start the system?

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Windows Won't Load (XP Pro SP2 & all current updates)

    Joe,
    Doesn't seem to boot to Safe Mode. Hit F8 and brought up the selection screen. But when I select Safe Mode, the disk goes through some processing and then after a couple minutes boots to the log on screen with no Safe Mode characteristics and is as slow as before to do anything. Clicking on my profile icon brought up my wallpaper in aboput 3 minutes. Nothing else on the screen. Did cntrl-alt-del and it rebooted (it didn't do that before). But now it's as stubborn and slow as before. I'm done playin' with this. Too close to the holiday to get my shorts all twisted over a PC problem. I'm pulling the plug and taking it in to my guy for service. I'll put up the outside Christmas Lights. I know I can get that done without too much trouble. <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15> Thanks for the input. I'll post back with the results of my adventure (with the PC, not the Christmas Lights).
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Won't Load (XP Pro SP2 & all current updates)

    <hr>What's the command "sfc" ?? System File Checker ?? What will it do ?? After the window closes then what ???

    My disk space shouldn't be a problem. My C partition is 20GB with 4+GB free (or at least it was yesterday). The system was behaving normally execpting for the internet connectivity issue with the DSL (also pretty normal) before I rebooted to fix the DSL connectivity issue. That's when the system began acting up.
    <hr>
    Yes, system file checker - it analyzes all the system files on your disk to ensure they are not corrupt. The fact that it wants the CD is actually a bug - since you don't want SFC replacing a system file from the CD when MS might have updated it - but the program will ask for the CD over and over again. If it finds a corrupt file, it will attempt to repair it from the dllcache on your system. After the windows closes, reboot and see if it work.

    Certainly 4Gb should be plenty, unless some log file or something went wild and ate up your space. Is your page file on your C: drive?
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Windows Won't Load (XP Pro SP2 & all current updates)

    Bill,

    Thanks for stickin' with my "old humbug' self on this one. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> I went to ground yesterday after I returned from my local guru with no joy. It seems the initial error was the one that is the core of the problem. "Windows cannot load the locally stored profile. Possible causes of this error insufficient security rights or a corrupt local profile. If the problem persists contact your network administrator." My profile settings seem to be corrupted and I can't get in to change anything. My guy used some software he had to try and change the Administrator password, even though I don't recall setting one when I first setup the machine and never used the Administrator account. I always had my profile set as an Administrator and that was all I used. He was unable to access the system because there was a password in place and it couldn't be circumvented. His suggestion was to buy another hard drive and install it as the primary with my old drive as a slave and install Windows to the new drive and then copy my data over to the new drive. A workable solution to be sure, provided the data can be seen and moved. Long story short, I came home and pulled the HD and installed it in a Drive Enclosure with a USB2 connection and brought it up on my kids XP Pro system. Saw the whole thing and since this machine has a DVD burner, I spent my day and most all night backing up my data to DVDs. I got all the stuff I care about off the system and now can work on solving this mess without worrying about losing anything important except my time. I could probably just replace the drive an restore the TrueImage backup I have that is about 6 weeks old (I was bad and skipped my last two backups) and then restore the data folders and update all the programs, AV & Spyware utilities, but I want to take this opportunity to learn some of the stuff about XP Pro that I've only read about. I'm not brave or foolish enough to mess up a perfectly good system configuration to experiment with all the disaster senerios I read about, but once things are FUBAR .......... well, let's just say, "The game's afoot !!".

    Now that I have access to the drive, not bootable access, but I can run some utilities and diagnostics on it where I couldn't before, what would my best choice be to resolve the profile corruption issue. Can I go back to the True Image BU and simply copy off the profile info from there and replace the corrupted info on my drive ??? Should I run SFC on the corrupt drive while it's attached to this system ?? Is there a way to do an "over the top" install of XP like there was with the Win 9X systems?? Can I delete the Windows folder and do a "Clean Install" of XP and still maintain the data, just having to reinstall all the programs ?? Questions, questions, questions !!! I'll go run Nortons, Adaware and Spybot on the corrupt drive while it's attached to this system, just to be sure that it's not some damn virus, spyware or browser hijack that has caused this. As always, any and all help will be gratefully and humbly accepted.

    Humbug !!! <img src=/S/hmmn.gif border=0 alt=hmmn width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Windows Won't Load (XP Pro SP2 & all current updates)

    One more question. The C: drive from my machine is showing up on this system as the F: drive in Windows Explorer and My Computer when attached using a USB2 Drive Enclosure. What would happen if I ran SFC from the command prompt on the F: drive ??? What would the text of the command be ??

    At this point I'm beginning to think that the best course would be to restore my backup image and then update my data from these backups and then proceed to update my AV software, Spyware detection utilities, Windows, etc and move on. Thoughts ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Won't Load (XP Pro SP2 & all current updates)

    This is a good source of info for rebuilding XP.

    http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/

    As far as your drive letters, did you change the master/slave settings when you moved the drives around?
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Windows Won't Load (XP Pro SP2 & all current updates)

    Didn't change the jumpers. Guess that's why the system wants to run Auto Play whenever I power that drive on. Just have to click "Cancel" and tick off "Take No Action" 4 times (once for each partition) and then I can go anywhere I want on the drive, except where I need to go. The registry or the desktop or Start button to get to Control Panel and the User Accounts settings. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

    Thanks for the link, but there wasn't much there that I haven't seen yet. I've been at this for about 36 hours now with only 5 hours sleep and have come to the conclusion that I'm too old for this <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> !!! Guess it's time to reinstall the drive and restore the image of the C: drive from backup.

    Seems as though everyone is out Christmas shopping today. The holidays are never a good time to have computer problems !! I'm still open to suggestions as it will take me a litle time to move the hardwqare around and get all the cables back in place. Keep those cards and letters coming !!!!
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Won't Load (XP Pro SP2 & all current updates)

    If you didn't change the jumpers and moved your Master into your Slave position, then the BIOS will change your drive letters for you.

    The link I provided tells you how to do a "Repair" install - which should keep your data and most of your updated drivers safe - I would try that before doing a complete restore.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Windows Won't Load (XP Pro SP2 & all current updates)

    Ok. I've been reading up on this all day and am going to put the drive back tomorrow and have at it. <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16> I'll have a go at a repair installation first, but think that my guy already tried that and we couldn't get past the password. I don't recall installing one, but the system says I did. If that's the case, I'll restore the image of the C: drive and hope I didn't install anything new since I made the image. I've got all the data secured on DVDs.

    Any last minute advice ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Won't Load (XP Pro SP2 & all current updates)

    You might want to try and copy your .pst file (if present) and your favorites, documents, downloads/drivers. And network settings.

    Good luck!
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Windows Won't Load (XP Pro SP2 & all current updates)

    Copied the entire C: drive to DVD and will restore selectively as needed.... once I have something to restore to. Tried a repair installation and it failed miserably. Windows couldn't copy a great many file back for some reason. <img src=/S/frown.gif border=0 alt=frown width=15 height=15> Then tried to boot to the TrueImage CD and that hung at the "True Image is loading please wait...." stage for over 20 minutes (3 times). Am contemplating a format and complete reinstall of Windows and all programs or perhaps just Windows and True Image and then restore C Partition on the image from a working installation of Windows (the preferred method). It seems that my data should be OK and unchanged once I restore my My Documents folder and my Outlook Express folder and Address Book. This problem should only affect my C partition and not the other 3 partitions with data, unless I do something dumb. I also came across a way to recover from situations like this by getting at the restore points using the Recovery Panel and a lot of command line stuff. I'm not 100% convinced it will work as I don't believe that the restore points can fix a corrupt profile (which I'm sure is the problem). I've attached a copy of the procedure. Any thoughts on the workability of this solution ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  15. #15
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Won't Load (XP Pro SP2 & all current updates)

    I wall say that it (formatting) will work - however, realize that the applications located on your other 3 partitions will not work because Windows will not be aware of them. You will actually have to reinstall most so the registry points to the correct locations.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •