Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: System Shutdown

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    228
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    System Shutdown

    Hi all....
    I am getting a lot of problems with my wifes computer. She can start it and it starts to work then all of the sudden at random times...(Boot right into full running for a couple of hours) the monitor will seem to lose signal and the HD light will come on all the time. Most times it takes about 8-12 boots to get it up and fully running
    i was thinking it might be a windows problem but I have installed a different OS on a second HD and the machine still keeps (I want to say shutting down but it is only the monitor which is losing the signal the power still seems to keep going.)

    I really don't know what info you might need so i will start with

    1st OS
    XP Pro no SP

    2nd OS
    XP home (E-machine setup disk) (came with machine)

    Machine
    Emachine
    T1742
    1.7G Intel Celeron
    128 DDR

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts

    Re: System Shutdown

    Sees like it could be bad memory or faulty power supply. If you have more than one stick of memory take one out and see what happens. Then reverse the sticks and see what happens.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts

    Re: System Shutdown

    Also, it could just need a good cleaning. If you choose to open the box check out the cable connections while it is open.

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Shutdown

    Hi Cory. Sounds like a similar problem I had recently. Can I refer you to this <post#=432508>post 432508</post#>. In my case it was a power supply problem.

    Good luck!
    <font color=448800><font face="Comic Sans MS"><big>Lyra J </font color=448800></font face=comic></big>
    <img src=/S/flags/UK.gif border=0 alt=UK width=30 height=18> Ducking the arrows in Robin Hood country <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Lyra_J_sig.gif ALT="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!" title="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!">

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: System Shutdown

    When you open up the case, note if it seems HOT inside! And check that the fans are rotating enthusiastically. And remove all that dust and fluff...!

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    228
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Shutdown

    All the fans work and I have allready tried removing the cover and leaving it off. (I also thought it might be a heating problem) The only thing that did not make sence is the fact that this problem would occure first thing in the morning (it is cold here at night) with the machine being off for almost 8 hours.
    As for the dust.... my wife is a clean freek... so the cover comes off every 4 months of both our computers and the inside gets a good cleaning...

    Also I have tried checking all the connections they seem to be solid.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    228
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Shutdown

    All the fans work and I have allready tried removing the cover and leaving it off. (I also thought it might be a heating problem) The only thing that did not make sence is the fact that this problem would occure first thing in the morning (it is cold here at night) with the machine being off for almost 8 hours.
    As for the dust.... my wife is a clean freek... so the cover comes off every 4 months of both our computers and the inside gets a good cleaning...

    Also I have tried checking all the connections they seem to be solid.

    I will try switching the RAM between my 2 machines and see what happens....

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    228
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Shutdown

    I was thinking of that but sometimes the system will start and run for hours before it stops.....I would love to swap the PSU but mine will not fit...

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Shutdown

    The same thing happened with mine Corey (see earlier post). First time I tried switching on during the day, the problem was really bad, then would slowly get better the more times it was attempted. I initially thought it might have been a temperature issue, but was proved wrong. I would definitely recommend getting the PSU checked out if swapping the RAM makes no difference.
    <font color=448800><font face="Comic Sans MS"><big>Lyra J </font color=448800></font face=comic></big>
    <img src=/S/flags/UK.gif border=0 alt=UK width=30 height=18> Ducking the arrows in Robin Hood country <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Lyra_J_sig.gif ALT="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!" title="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!">

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    228
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Shutdown

    I will try switching RAM from my system tonight... The wife is allready calling for prices on a new PSW....As she put it " We bought the power box thingy from a surplus store.... 30 day warenty... probably not the best computer parts store in the world for quality...."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •