Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    forever to start (xp home)

    when booting up windows starts and gets to the user select page after selecting user the user page comes up but then it takes forever for the puter to finish booting, going to the task manager I can see that the cpu usage has spiked at 100% and staying there, if I click start-shut down-restart the puter starts up as it should with no time lag and can go right to work. have defraged,ran spykiller,deleted temp files and cookies and history. Have installed sp2 and didn't realy have any issues prior to that. system is xp home,900mhz athelon and 256 megs ram. looking foward to ya'lls thoughts on a solution. Thanks....Terry

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: forever to start (xp home)

    The solution will be more obvious if, as soon as you can after Boot, you start up Task Manager (e.g. with the usual Ctrl+Alt+Del) and then click on the Processes tab, then on the CPU column heading (either once or twice) to get the process with the highest CPU at the top. That will be the one we need to address...!

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: forever to start (xp home)

    John did what you suggested and came up with "system idle process" it was drawing 84% of the cpu useage others seemed to drop off as they loaded but this one stayed up there, might there be anything there

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: forever to start (xp home)

    The System Idle Process simply indicates the unused percentage of the CPU. In addition to John's suggestion, another <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> utility which is highly recommended is Autoruns . This shows everything that loads at startup and is highly configurable. You may be able to isolate the problem with this utility.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: forever to start (xp home)

    That is just the behaviour you would expect, as stuff gets loaded. If the "system idle time" is that high, it means that there shouldn't be much else going on and you should be able to start anything you want.

    Rebel's suggestion should be useful if you can identify stuff that you don't need -- but be careful in removing stuff...

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: forever to start (xp home)

    John and rebel, I'm learning slowly, I found out that sys idles high # was not a bad thing, one of two things I've found since startingthis thread is that I found a virus called "graybird.g" listed in the task manager ran a virus scan but it didn't come up there and the vs is up to date. I don't get that one the virus not showing up, went to the task manager and ended the process for applacation that graybird was running under. also went into the registry and found no lines of text that applied to graybird it runs as explore.exe. Have also figured out that the afore mentioned problem of the slow startup only happens when changing users if you reboot istead of using the switch user utility the puter starts just fine, go figure, A day off and I'm spending it trying to figure this out I do appeciate your help and continue to seek it until this is resolved........Terry

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: forever to start (xp home)

    If you've got a virus then all bets are off until you've got rid of it! See <post#=417745>post 417745</post#> for some online scanners (they will take quite some time to run). Use one or the other.

    Then see <post#=296439>post 296439</post#> for suggested free anti-malware programs, of which Spybot - Search & Destroy and Ad-aware should be used initially.

    If you haven't got regularly-updated antivirus software software running on your PC, you should have!! AVG from Grisoft and Avast are both free, and well-thought-of. Easily Googled-for. (You say you have AV on your PC, but is it regularly/automatically updated?).

    And if you're on broadband, you should have a firewall. Recommendations from other people here!

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: forever to start (xp home)

    If your virus definitions are up to date, your AV program should have detected it. Symantec (Norton Anti Virus) added this one to their list in September of 2003. Removal instructions can be found here .

    If you switch users using "fast user switching" instead of logging off and logging on, then your whole system will run slower, especially with only 256 MB of Ram.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: forever to start (xp home)

    John and Rebel a final follow up, all's well on the homefront, I may have spent the day trying to figure this thing out but oh well there's snow on the ground would rather be indoors anyway. I've been places on this thing I didn't know were there it's kind of funny I built it and don't understand it, I guess whea a fellow has folks like ya'll I don't need to know everything "L" . John my antivirus is current and up to date and automaticly updated, it's norton, have the grisoft on the other puter and it seems to work well. Rebel the log off was the trick all works well doing the user switching that way, although I don't understand why I never had probs. before useing the other method.. Anyway I thank you both for staying with me today, I think admin should send ya both a big candy kiss..... Thanks again....Terry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •