Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Read-only subform

    AARRRRGHH - These hidden switches are going to drive me crazy!

    I open an ADO recordset with an OpenKeyset cursor.
    Then I assign the recordset to a subform in datasheet view.
    When I try to put the cursor into a subform field I get a 'bing' and the status bar says "Form is read-only".
    I have looked at the Property sheet for the form and all of the fields and they are all set to Enabled=yes, Locked=no. The form has AllowEdits=yes.

    So where is this read-only coming from?

    TIA
    Donald

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Read-only subform

    Forms bound to ADO recordsets are automatically readonly. Sorry, but there is NO workaround with a bound form, which means no workaround with a continuous subform.
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Read-only subform

    Nnnnnoooooooooo......... :-(

    How can the "newest" technology have such a limitation?

    Do you happen to have handy, a reference in MSDN or KB that discusses this?

    Thanks for the reply
    (but not the message) ;-)
    Donald

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Read-only subform

    ADO is really intended for working with data in code, not for being the source for a bound form. It can't do everything DAO can do because it was designed to allow development to different providers with very simple changes in the code instead of having to learn whole different object models for each provider. DAO is Jet specific so it was never intended to be all things to all data sources.

    There is an ADO data control in VB, but I don't know whether that presents editable records or not since I haven't tried it.
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Read-only subform

    Thanks for the clear explanation.

    Too bad they didn't make ADO fully functional against Jet so that I wouldn't have to muck about trying to keep the two techniques separate in my poor befuddled brain.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Read-only subform

    It's really more of a problem with Jet than with ADO, I think. The Jet OleDB provider just doesn't expose everything it should, and ADO was made to work with all kinds of data sources, not just Jet.
    Charlotte

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •