Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Sointula, Br. Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Firefox won't display SPSS Help (Firefox 1.0)

    I have a copy of SPSS v11.5; just learning to use it. The help files won't display properly with Firefox set as default browser. I have read that Firefox will not always display web pages correctly, and that it is not the fault of Mozilla org. But, in order to use Help, I had to set IE as default browser and will have to leave it that way until I find a workaround, if such exists. Or is there any extension sort of program that will allow.
    Any advice would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Firefox won't display SPSS Help (Firefox 1.0)

    There are at least three situations in which IE really still is required. The first is when an ActiveX control is required, and there is no matching plug-in (such as the matching Flash plug-in) for Mozilla-based browsers. The second is where the script code is so closely tied to the Microsoft IE document object model (DOM) or JScript variant of JavaScript that even Firefox's special accommodations for compatbility are insufficient to make the page work. The third is where differences in the display engines render the page more than unattractive in Firefox compared with IE (e.g., text hidden behind graphics). Fortunately, most public web sites are largely cross-browser compatible. The worst exceptions, as you have discovered, are business software products written specifically for IE. This is not surprising, as IE has dominated the corporate desktop, and still does. I suspect it will be many years and require much pressure to get any significant part of these products rewritten.

    Until then, I would personally really like to figure out how to make a shortcut that specifies which browser to use when launching a "site." In your case, your shortcut might have to specify Firefox. I'm hoping to do the opposite: specify IE for just one intranet application that requires it. Maybe some of our Windows experts will have a suggestion.

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox won't display SPSS Help (Firefox 1.0)

    > I'm hoping to do the opposite: specify IE for just one intranet application that requires it.

    That's the only situation for which the current defaults are available (if I've understood you correctly). <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> Set the requisite IE site as the Home Page for IE and specify Firefox as your default browser (for all other sites).
    Gre

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Paragould, Arkansas, USA
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox won't display SPSS Help (Firefox 1.0)

    Jefferson,
    I have used a desktop shortcut similar to the following for an IE only site. My default browser is set to Firefox, but this will open in IE. It's not a bookmark, rather this shortcut sits on my desktop. This text goes in the "Target" field for the shortcut properties:

    "C:Program FilesInternet Exploreriexplore.exe" "http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/astropix.html"

    Is this what you're talking about?

    Errol

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox won't display SPSS Help (Firefox 1.0)

    For these situations, I use the "IEview" Firefox extension. It adds a context menu item "View in IE", which of course, opens the page in Internet Explorer. Hasn't failed me yet!

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Sointula, Br. Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox won't display SPSS Help (Firefox 1.0)

    Thanks so much for all the advice.
    To jscher2000: Great explanation. Helped turn the light on!
    To you others:
    Not sure how to apply some of it. What happens, aside from text not displaying too well; first, the tutorial will not change pages with an arrow icon that does not work with Firefox. The tutorial folder has about 1000 or so ".htm" files and 3 javascript files, some :.gif" files, etc. I think that the javascript files are the ones that make the pages change when clicking on the arrow icon as well as doing highlighting on a displayed page, e.g. outlining a set of data, etc.
    The help files are compiled HTML files, and I can get by using Firefox, except for some display problems. Anything that signals an action, e.g., "click here" for something to happen, it won't.
    Therefore, I am not sure how to apply IEview because it seems that it can only be applied to individual pages.
    Similarly, I am not sure how to write the "Target" field address. The problem is built into the program's (SPSS) help and tutorial files, notably the tutorial.
    Had to install the Java plug in when I got Mozilla, and I think that Firefox found it when I changed.
    Is it possible that Firefox can't find the plug in when it is a program using the browser, and not the internet?
    Shows how little I know about all this.
    Again, many thanks.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Firefox won't display SPSS Help (Firefox 1.0)

    Thanks. It sounds as though starting with a shortcut to IE and customizing it is the key. Starting with a URL dragged to the desktop was a dead end.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Firefox won't display SPSS Help (Firefox 1.0)

    If SPSS help is critical to getting work done, it sounds as though you will have to have Firefox not be your primary browser. It's not so bad; you can start Firefox from its shortcut, you'll just miss out on links outside of the browser (in e-mail messages, etc.), which will open in IE.

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Sointula, Br. Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox won't display SPSS Help (Firefox 1.0)

    Yeah, that's about what I ended up doing. And as you say, it is no real problem. I usually launch Firefox, than go from there. Launch IE when necessary. Just thought it would be better if I could set Firefox as default. Tidier, or something.
    Thanks again.

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox won't display SPSS Help (Firefox 1.0)

    Yeah, I noticed that also. Yet I have Avant Browser, which uses the IE engine, & was able to create a context menu entry for "OpenWithAvantBrowser" for the File Type "Internet Shortcut". Couldn't do it directly for IE though.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •