Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Sygate And The Tray

    I mentioned this <!post=in this post,437087>in this post<!/post> where the question had to do with the tray (notification area) of WinXP. I now ask the question here, specifically for Sygate Personal Firewall users to see if it ever happens to anyone else. I routinely reboot my machine every morning - old habits! Every once in awhile, and not too often, the SPF icon does not show up in the tray for some reason. Without that icon, you cannot access the program if needed, at least as far as I can tell. When I look in Task Manager Processes, SMC.EXE is running and as far as I know that's the heart of SPF, so maybe there's nothing to be concerned about. But, being a nervous sort, I usually reboot again and on that second try, the icon seems to show up. Anyone else? Do you suppose it's "safe" to continue operating if that sucker isn't there? (I'm running what I think to be the latest - Version 5.6, Build 2808)

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Sygate And The Tray

    Al,
    I have the same "problem", and I'm not sure whether or not it's "safe" to continue without the icons in the notification area. I sometimes lose the SPF, Spybot Tea Timer and my UPS icons. I updated my video drivers a few months ago and that seemed to rectify the problem for a few weeks but then it started again. BTW my settings are set to "always show" icons.

    Two "solutions" that I have found:
    1) When booting, I leave the Welcome Screen idle for a few minutes (usually making a pot of coffee in the morning) before logging in. Invariably (with this delay), all of the icons are displayed. If I click my User Name as soon as the Welcome screen appears, I will be missing a few icons.
    2) If I have to do a warm boot (eg. after installing or removing software) and don't wait at the Welcome screen, same thing. I will then log off, log in as another user, log off that user and log in as myself again. All icons present and accounted for. There are a few KB articles about notification area icons but nothing that seems relevant to this situation. <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20> <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Sygate And The Tray

    Although not using SPF, I frequently have problems with not all apps coming on line after a reboot. I have found that if I wait an extra 10 - 15 seconds to log into to my system after a reboot, then it seems all load fine.

    In your case with SPF, try running Shields Up/LeakTest next time the Icon is missing and see what happens.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Sygate And The Tray

    John and Bill: That's some kinda timing, that both of you replied with that bit about the logon pause. I think (for whatever WinXP crazy reason) you're onto something. Usually when I reboot in the morning, I go outside the back door for a smoke or over for a second cup of coffee and the logon screen DOES sit there idle for a few minutes. I'm gonna have to start a little test to see if I can make it happen with a "fast" logon. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    BTW, I forgot to say that I made an extensive cruise through the Sygate forums and a simple "tray" search. Found a few threads of a similar problem but nothing that looked like a clear solution. More later...

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sygate And The Tray

    Al,

    I do not use Sygate but did experience losing an icon in the tray. The one in question was the "Scottie" for Win Patrol. It was the only one disappearing... intermittently. At the time I would check the Task Manager and it did show WinPatrol as being active. After a few months, I sort of gave up. Then... an update was issued by WinPatrol and one of the fixes had to do with the disappearing "Scottie". Since applying the fix, "Scottie" is always on duty.

    So perhaps Sygate might want to contact WinPatrol to see what it was that they did to rein in the wandering pooch!! <g>

    Cheers, Bob
    Regards,
    Bob

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Sygate And The Tray

    Sygate is NOT alone with this. I have seen it happen with NAV. It appears to be a timing issue. Some people are just in such a hurry, as soon as the "Welcome Screen" appears they will click a icon.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Sygate And The Tray

    Al,
    When I was using Zone Alarm, I was having a similar problem with the ZA icon not coming up on a reboot. After much back and forth with their techs, I found that it was a matter of timing on the REBOOT sequence not giving the prog a second or two to properly close down before the restart began. I was also making it worse because I use a couple of utilities called Fast Reboot & Fast Shutdown. They really cut the margin close and it occurred more often than a "normal" reboot.

    BTW, I'm back to using ZA again after Sygate gave me a real problem with a reinstall. That's another story.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Sygate And The Tray

    Thanks to you and Dave for your input! I never would have imagined that something as simple as a "timing" problem could cause this situation. Dave, one would think that once a "menu" screen like the Welcome Screen appears, it would be safe to click on the <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> thing! Well, such are the vagaries of Windows and I can live with it. As I said earlier, I'll be doing a little monitoring to see if this new-found knowledge helps out. Thanx guys!

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Sygate And The Tray

    Hi Al:
    I don't have Sygate or Win XP, but I wonder if it would help to increase the max icon cache in the registry. Here's what I did when I had problems with icons displaying:

    Run Regedit
    Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentV ersionexplorer
    Create a new string called Max Cached Icons
    Give it a high value of [my current was 2048, so I tried 4096]
    This will increase response time in windows and give the Shelliconcache file more room. You can also delete the ShelliconCache file as it's rebuilt when you reboot. On the other hand, if this is strictly a timing issue, it may not help. I have noticed my icons a little more stable withe the higher value.
    Hope this helps,

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Sygate And The Tray

    I don't know, Phil, but thanks for putting your input in the thread. I think I'm just gonna "cool it" for awhile and see what happens. Every time I've rebooted since those tips about the pause, I've purposely waited several minutes at the Welcome screen. That's been once a day plus a few extra reboots needed when I do other things. I have noticed a little bit of hard drive activity while the machine sits at the Welcome screen, more than just a few seconds. So, since I don't know what Windows is dealing with I'm just experimenting. The trouble with these "once in awhile" problems is that you never truly know the answer. Thanks.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Sygate And The Tray

    It's been just over three weeks since I posted my last entry. I don't expect an answer to this and admit I haven't yet contacted Sygate about it, since it's a "minor" annoyance. The reason for this post is just to update the record. The problem popped up again on reboot this morning and I've been very faithful about my Welcome Screen pausing. I forgot to take Bill's suggestion and visit Shields Up, but I did logoff and log back on and the SPF icon didn't appear. As the attachment shows, another reboot and the icon was back, allowing access to the GUI. As I mentioned in my first post, SMC.EXE is running but you can't access the program in any way, not even if you try re-running it. I guess I'll go back to their forums to see if there's been any further mention of the problem.

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Sygate And The Tray

    Just to eliminate the obvious, I see you are using XP's "Hide Inactive Icons" option - I assume you checked to make sure it was not hidden?

    Normally, I would not ask and I would assume the obvious (even knowing what "ass-u-me" means) but I do ask because I frequently (couple times a week) have problems where the "Hide Inactive Icons" option forgets my settings. For example, I have Mailwasher Pro set to "always show" and yet every so often, the darn thing is missing - a quick check and it is hidden and the config setting is back to the default.

    Just something else to ponder.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Sygate And The Tray

    I have three cons that regularly go "missing", in each case I have to tell the program to stop displaying the icon in the system tray and then start displaying it again to get my icon back. I suspect that Windows XP SP2 has a slight "problem" in this area.

    StuartR

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Sygate And The Tray

    Stuart,
    What three program icons are disappearing and when?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,353
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,016 Times in 891 Posts

    Re: Sygate And The Tray

    BigAl,

    Are you logging on as a different user? I seem to remember something about Sygate and mutiple users but then again it could just be a weekend hallucination.

    Joe
    Joe

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •