Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Northern, NJ, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Can't Assign Value...

    I am at the end of my rope on this one!...

    I have a form with a subform. There is a combo on the form to select the store name and the subform is where all the discrepancies are entered.

    The first time I attempt to enter any data into the subform I get the message...
    "You can't assign a value to this object
    *Object may be a control on a read-only form
    *Object may be on a form that is open in design view
    *The value may be too large for this field"

    When I click OK on the error... I can continue as normal. I can enter all data and everythig is added to the table as expected.

    What does this mean and how can I make it GO AWAY!
    I believe I have all the properties set correctly... the form is not read-only, it is not open in design view anywhere, I have the value set to text with 50 char.

    Help!?
    There is always a way.

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Assign Value...

    Do you have any code in the combo box events that is trying to assign values?

    Can you attach the form and tables with a small data sample? I will be glad to look at the form to see if I notice any thing that would give you error.


    Richard Aheron
    raheron@hotmail.com
    Richard

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Northern, NJ, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Assign Value...

    How can I attach what you asked to this board?
    There is always a way.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Assign Value...

    After typing you post, go to the "Preview/Attach a File" butotn.

    Use the "Browse" button to find the file to be attached.

    This should get the file on the post.


    Richard Aheron
    raheron@hotmail.com
    Richard

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Northern, NJ, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Assign Value...

    The limit is 100K and the Db is 468K I think we have a problem...
    There is always a way.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Assign Value...

    I ran into this error message recently. I fixed it without really tracking it down, but it looked as though Access changed the syntax for referring to a control on a subform between 97 and 2000.

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Northern, NJ, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Assign Value...

    I don't understand how you fixed it... I am using 2000 and how do I fix it?
    There is always a way.

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Assign Value...

    If you have WinZIP you can compress the file.

    If you do not have it go to WinZip.com and it is a free down load.



    Richard Aheron
    raheron@hotmail.com
    Richard

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Northern, NJ, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Assign Value...

    Got it!
    It is zipped and attached.

    Go to Froms - Discrepancy Tracking Form - Select a location from the drop down and type into the subform... you will see the error.

    THANKS!
    Attached Files Attached Files
    There is always a way.

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    NYC,USA,Earth
    Posts
    273
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Assign Value...

    I tried your sample and when I entered the appropriate data type into the associated control I had no trouble. When I tried to enter a text character into a control that was bound to a numeric field I got the error you describe ([Trf Num]). It would be helpful using input masks for dates and using the description property for fields in the table design view or the tooltips property of the control to give the user an indicator as to what type of data is expected in the control. e.g.

    "Enter the number of widgets sold."

    "Enter the date the widgets were sold."

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Northern, NJ, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Assign Value...

    I find it impossible to believe you entered any data into the subform with out an error. The ([TRF Number]) is set as a text field and I get the error as soon as I enter anything into it.

    This is the wackiest thing I have ever seen.

    Thanks for your help.
    There is always a way.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •