Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    568
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Setting Up Admin Account (XP)

    The office where my son works has upgraded all there office computers and my son gave me his old one. It runs Windows XP, which I have never used before. I
    Ronny Richardson

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Setting Up Admin Account (XP)

    Log on using your son's account. Then you can follow these instructions, straight from the horse's mouth. If you have any questions, post back and we'll try to help you get setup. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    Edited by Doc to add... You might find this site more helpful. It has screenshots to help you along.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Setting Up Admin Account (XP)

    Ronny,
    The first thing to do is to see what the account status is for your sons ID.
    Click on Start>settings>control panel>user accounts.
    That will show you if he was an administrator or not, since the account ID are shown there and what their status is.
    If he was an admin, then you can click on "add a new account" to put your own ID in.
    Without account privledges, you will not be able to set up a new Administrator account without the admins password. ( assuming he had one ).
    Possibly the office admin would provide his old password and log in. POSSIBLY.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Setting Up Admin Account (XP)

    Ronny

    There are a number of different solutions to what you want to do. Other people may suggest other approaches!

    First, let me answer your questions:

    Q1. If you can log on, click on Start then on Control Panel then on User Accounts, and it should list just the account you logged on with (if it's a "Limited account") or all the accounts (if it's a Computer Administrator account).

    Q2. Changing names of accounts is very messy indeed. It would be best to set up your own account, and then delete your son's, after ensuring that your's does just what you want it to for a month or two.

    Q3. Buying a new copy of XP would be a little extreme, since a Computer Administrator can set up new Computer Administrator account(s) or Limited Account(s).

    If the PC is just going to be used "by itself", not on a network, it doesn't really matter what is the name of the account you use (you could keep your son's if you wanted!). There are arguments for and against being a Computer Administrator, but this tends to be the best solution if you are going to install software on the PC (since it is difficult to do this if your account is "Limited").

    Hope that's enough to get you started (and for other people to provide contrary views!)...

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Setting Up Admin Account (XP)

    I agree with John, stay away from any "Renaming", make a new user account nad tweak it the way YOU want it.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    568
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Setting Up Admin Account (XP)

    The good news is that his account appears to be an Administrator account. I logged on to it as was suggested here and looked in Control Panel and I could see a bunch of accounts. I was able to change the password to the administrator account and then log back in as Administrator. However, there are a couple of problems/issues remaining.

    The first is that my son
    Ronny Richardson

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Setting Up Admin Account (XP)

    The problem you have in adding a new user is almost certainly because the pc still thinks it is part of a domain. The following may help:

    MSKB 295017: How to change a computer name or join a domain in Windows XP
    MSKB 303593: Error Message When You Try to Add a New Local User to a Computer That Is a Domain Member

    I have never had the need to remove a pc from a domain so am not familiar with the procedure, but theoretically it should be the reverse of joining. Bear in mind that when you remove the pc from the domain, you will lose those users who log on as members of the domain rather than locally to the machine.

    (It may be worth waiting for someone else to point out further pitfalls I have overlooked.)

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Setting Up Admin Account (XP)

    Ronny,
    Try to use the following to create a new account
    ------------------------------------------------------
    To add a new user to the computer
    You must have a computer administrator account to add a new user to the computer.

    Open User Accounts in Control Panel.
    Under Pick a task, click Create a new account.
    Type a name for the new user account, and click Next.
    Click either Computer administrator or Limited, depending on the type of account you want to assign to the new user, and then click Create Account.
    If you see an account named Owner, rename that account with a user's name. The Owner account, with computer administrator privileges, is created during installation if no user accounts are set up at that time.

    To open User Accounts, click Start, point to Settings, click Control Panel, and then double-click User Accounts.
    The name you assign to the new account is the name that will appear on the Welcome screen and the Start menu.
    The first user you add to the computer must be assigned the computer administrator account.
    -------------------------------------------------------

    To change the name of the computer,
    Go to Control Panel,click "systems".
    On the computer name tab, click "change"
    Fill in the new name & OK out.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    568
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Update on Problem

    I appreciate the help you all have provide with this problem. However, the suggestions did not work. I was able to change passwords for both my son and the Administrator so I assume my son
    Ronny Richardson

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Update on Problem

    "Windows XP really did not have any features (that I needed) "
    Xp is more stable, support is still there and some of the new programs require it.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Update on Problem

    Ronny,
    In addition to Dave's input, I'll add that once you try XP you sure wouldn't want to go back to ME. It's worth the upgrade. Try it, you'll like it !
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    568
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Update on Problem

    >Xp is more stable, support is still there and some of the new programs require it.

    I have XP at work and don't really notice any difference in XP and ME at all; except, of course, that XP requires me to log in. Luckily, none of the programs I use require XP and, in fact, one of them will not run under XP.

    Ronny
    Ronny Richardson

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    568
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Update on Problem

    >I'll add that once you try XP you sure wouldn't want to go back to ME. It's worth the upgrade. Try it, you'll like it !

    I use it every day at work. I can't tell one bit of difference between it and ME except that XP requires me to log in. The simple fact is that any operating system that lets me start Word, Excel, Firefox, and Eudora is fine with me. I don't really use the operating system at all other than to start the few programs I use.

    Ronny
    Ronny Richardson

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Update on Problem

    You use your OS to manage & organize your files (documents, spreadsheets, etc.), connect you to the internet, install and organize your programs and much more. BTW, you can change XP to login automatically if you wish. XP SP-2 is much more stable then ME and is much more secure.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •