Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada, Ontario
    Posts
    144
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    How can I repair SP2 ? (WXP Pro SP2)

    Hi,
    I have strange things going on in my system - all sorts of hangups, printer spool fails, and such like. I'd like to do a reinstall of WXP PRO SP2, but don't know how. When I go to the MS site it says i need no updates, and I can't seem to find any way to run a repair. Is there a way?

    Thanks,
    Michael

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: How can I repair SP2 ? (WXP Pro SP2)

    How to perform a reinstallation of Windows XP from the MS knowledge base.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada, Ontario
    Posts
    144
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How can I repair SP2 ? (WXP Pro SP2)

    Thanks for the suggestion, but the method you cite requires a disk. Since I've upgraded to SP2, I don't have one.

    I'm having troubles with various DLLs. Most lately it is effecting my printing - says Spooler Subsystem App won't work. That uses unidrv.dll. Any further help appreciated.

    Best,
    Michael

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,348
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,015 Times in 890 Posts

    Re: How can I repair SP2 ? (WXP Pro SP2)

    If you have the original XP Cd see: Paul Thurrott's SuperSite for Windows: Slipstreaming Windows XP with Service Pack 2 (SP2). You'll end up with a CD that you can use to do a repair.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: How can I repair SP2 ? (WXP Pro SP2)

    Just a reminder that (I think) this one's even easier than ISO Buster. See <!post=this post,402949>this post<!/post> from <!profile=Pilgrim>Pilgrim<!/profile> about AutoStreamer.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,348
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,015 Times in 890 Posts

    Re: How can I repair SP2 ? (WXP Pro SP2)

    One of these days I'll get around to slipstreaming an SP-2 (or who knows maybe SP-3 by the time I get around to it <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>) CD. I've not needed one yet and why not procrastinate a little longer? <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •