Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    San Mateo, California, USA
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Move programs from Dell PC to Dell Axim

    I've read the manual <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20> , installed ActiveSynch on my laptop, then connected the Axim cradle to the AC-power and to the USB port on the laptop. I have a .exe file on my laptop that I would like to have on my Axim but upon double clicking looks like it's working, and then it says, "on the NEXT connection, this program will be installed on your handheld." However, nothing happens. The icon on ActiveSynch just spins and spins and . . . The Axim Active Synch screen just says "Not connected" Help!! <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Windy Wellington, Wellington
    Posts
    123
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Move programs from Dell PC to Dell Axim

    You need to get ActiveSync working before you can think of installing anything on your PPC. Have you tried the obvious, eg making sure all the cable connections are properly made, etc? Have you tried a soft reset on the PPC?
    Keith Rodgers
    <img src=/S/flags/NewZealand.gif border=0 alt=NewZealand width=30 height=18>

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    San Mateo, California, USA
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Move programs from Dell PC to Dell Axim

    Keith -- Thanks, I have finally got ActiveSync working. Turns out that it was Norton's Firewall that was the problem -- I spent some time on the phone with Bangalore and the tech walked me through accepting ActiveSync as recognized in Norton. Since then, all (well, almost all -- some freeware doesn't work with the version of Windows CE that I have <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> ) and I've installed the latest version of ActiveSync.
    There's one item that won't synchronize, but I don't know what it is, and turning everything off and then on again doesn't tell me what it is. But the stuff on my Axim works, and if I save data to my SD card, I can move it to my laptop using my card reader, [shades of sneaker-net <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29> so I'm OK.
    I'm glad that all is working well, since I'm leaving on vacation tomorrow <gg>.
    Thanks again.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Move programs from Dell PC to Dell Axim

    The Freeware MUST be designed to run a a PPC. You can NOT just use any program on the PPC.
    If the Freeware was designed for the PPC and does NOT work, then I would go to the website of the program and see if there is a update to that program.

    Also note, that Palm type programs will NOT run on a PPC.

    What programs are you having trouble with?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    San Mateo, California, USA
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Move programs from Dell PC to Dell Axim

    Dave -- Thanks for your reply. Part of the problem was that I was trying to make programs written for WinCE2000 work on my new Axim! Anyway, I finally got all the _necessary_ programs to work. When I get back from vacation, I'll spend some more time learniing more about my new toy!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •