New Lounger
    Thanks

SP2 upgrading question (XP Home SP1)

I've finally decided to do the SP2 installation, and just got the CD in the mail from Microsoft.
    I decided that this might be as good a time as any to do a fresh installation of XP (something that I've never done before). So I've got my data now saved off the hard drive, and am about ready to go.

My question is: after I install my original Windows XP home CD, is the SP2 upgrade CD installed next? Or is Windows going to expect to first get a SP1 patch? I guess what I'm asking is are all those SP1 fixes embedded in the SP2 upgrade?

Also, any tips, or links to tips, on doing this procedure for a non-expert user? Thanks.

Thanks

Re: SP2 upgrading question (XP Home SP1)

SP2 is cumulative and contains all the SP1 patches. If you have the full SP2 CD - and it sounds like you have - it will contain all you need.

And search through this forum will bring up various tips, otherwise:
    MSKB 875364: Detailed installation walkthrough for Windows XP Service Pack 2

Uranium Lounger
    Thanks

Service Pack 2 is a cumulative update and there will be no need to apply SP1 first.

If you intend to do a clean installation, I suggest that you integrate SP2 into your Windows installation to save yourself having to install it separately. There is an excellent guide on this process at http://www.theeldergeek.com/slipstreamed_xpsp2_cd.htm

After installing Windows with SP2, I would next install any antivirus, spyware scanners, and firewall software.

I take this a step further and add all of the drivers for my machine onto the CD as well. This way, I can install XP with SP2 in one fell swoop, leave the CD in the drive, and update all of my drivers with ease. For that matter, you can also add other things onto the CD -- such as Acrobat Reader, Macromedia Flash, and anything else that is more or less necessary but not included with Windows proper.