Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Manchester, Gtr Manchester, England
    Posts
    299
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Use pop up dialog to limits records in report

    I have a simple report (i.e. a list of orders details).
    I need to allow users to choose the records displayed on the report.
    I understand I could this by choosing a start and end range (say of the record id) from combo boxes on a pop up form. I'm sure this is simple but I just can't figure out how to do it. Does anyone have a simple example.

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    La Verne, California, USA
    Posts
    313
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Use pop up dialog to limits records in report

    I'd suggest basing the report on a parameter query that prompts the user for a beginning OrderID and an ending OrderID (or use whatever the actual field name is.) Place the prompts in brackets in the criteria field of the query like this:

    Between [Enter The Beginning OrderID] And [Enter The Ending OrderID]

    When the report is run it will generate two boxes asking for the IDs.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Manchester, Gtr Manchester, England
    Posts
    299
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Use pop up dialog to limits records in report

    Thanks, I've tried tried this before.
    My reason for asking the original question is I'm being asked to do some more advanced stuff and need to figure out how to build up a query based on selections the user makes from a form (i.e. they aren't typing in values where a mistake could be made but selecting actual values that exist in the database. Any more suggestions? [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Use pop up dialog to limits records in report

    use list boxes or combo boxes for choosing then
    tie the query to the list or combo as the parameters for the query

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Manchester, Gtr Manchester, England
    Posts
    299
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Use pop up dialog to limits records in report

    I know this is what I need to do - I just know very little about queries full stop. I'm being asked to program before I know fully about databases. I'm looking for a simple example I could learn from.

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Wirral, Merseyside, Merseyside, England
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Use pop up dialog to limits records in report

    Have you tried looking in the Solutions database for an example? Look under "Control what you print on reports."

    Or look in Northwind at the "Sales Reports Dialog" form.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •