Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    patches to running databases (XP/SR3)

    I maintain a number of MS Access databases. For several years, I have used a product called Surgical Strike that allows me to modify the database and send a patch that contains just the modifications. This patch is then applied to the running database at the other end - very efficient, especially when the database contains data.

    However, recently, this application has stopped working (after installation of Windows SP2 to XP). The vendor (yes, it cost money) can't help and says that there are no plans for further development of the product. It has been an excellent tool but looks like it's time is up.

    Does anybody know of another tool that allows me to create patches for a database and send them to be applied at the other end - rather than sending a new copy of the database? I have turned up nothing so far in my searches.

    Thanks.

    Graeme.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: patches to running databases (XP/SR3)

    I think most of us develop our own methods for doing this and tailor them to suit the situation. I've never used a commercial product for this, and since I don't know how SurgicalStrike worked, I can't suggest a comparable code alternative for you. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: patches to running databases (XP/SR3)

    Thanks Charlotte. I find making mods to running databases a pain where the database also contains the data (not backend-frontend type) - they have to send the DB back, I make the mods then resend it and they cannot use it in the meantime. The SS patcher allowed you to put forms, reports, queries, code etc into a small DB via an Access Add-In. At the other end they just ran an application that made the changes on the fly. You could even modify tables and execute after-mod queries to update/modify/create data. It also maintained control of versions. But thanks for the advice.

    Cheers.

    Graeme.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: patches to running databases (XP/SR3)

    Except for demos, I never build databases any way except split front end and back end. That becomes even more critical in Access 2000 and later. In fact, you don't need an add-in to create a new empty database and export the changed objects to it. The tricky part is replacing the existing objects on the other end.
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,430
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

    Re: patches to running databases (XP/SR3)

    I do contract programming for a company, and I developed a routine in which I send the database objects I created/modified in a special Update DB. When run at the main office, the Update DB in turn launches the regular DB specifying a /cmd line parameter. When the full DB sees this option, it bypasses regular startup and initiates the upgrade routine, which transfers in all my updates (first checking a Last Modified By and a Last Modified Date to make sure it hasn't been updated by someone else in the meantime).

    There is one rather weird situation which arises, however, which makes it rather unuseable in anything but a developmental environment. The database must be recompiled after the import. Often (not always), Access will throw up a compile error if you refer in code to a field in the recordsource; for example, if using Me.InvoiceNo, where InvoiceNo is a field in the recordsource. You will have to manually open the form in design mode and reselect the form's recordsource; then Access will recognize it again! Just strange (and annoying).
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, Br. Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    631
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: patches to running databases (XP/SR3)

    I use a custom-written MDE file to modify the backend database, after checking for correct version numbers. Works OK for small changes.

    I also dabbled with using "Backend Upgrader (BEU)", but never used it in a production environment. Not sure of its development status -- I last looked at it in early 2003. http://www.databaseadvisors.com/downloads.htm
    --------------------------------------------------
    Jack MacDonald
    Vancouver, Canada

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: patches to running databases (XP/SR3)

    Thanks Mark. I appreciate your advice. Seems like there might be a need in this area for a good tool.

    Graeme.

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: patches to running databases (XP/SR3)

    Thanks Jackson. I will have a look at BEU - maybe it will fill the bill.

    Cheers.

    Graeme.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •