Star Lounger
    Thanks

Keeping Graph Format

Hi, I'm using Office 2000 Sr-1. I'm pretty new to Excel although I've been using Word and Access quite alot. My problem is with a chart saved on the same worksheet as the data. If some one resizes the chart, the font sizes change for all the labels. Are there other ways to prevent this besides saving the chart alone on a separate sheet? I also need to allow new entries into the chart data columns.
    Any suggestions are appreciated.

Gold Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Keeping Graph Format

If you click on the text item involved, you should get a format dialogue, select the Font tab and switch off Auto scale.

If you enter new data into the column, you can select the chart Bars or lines, and you will notice the current range is enclosed in a blue box. You can drag that box to encompass the new data entries, and they then be included in the chart.

Andrew C

Star Lounger
    Thanks

Thanks. I think that what I need to do is to set up the Chart the way I want, including turning off the auto scale, then save it as a user defined chart type.
    When I do this it saves my text also. If I don't leave the text in place it defaults to the "default" chart value.
    I'm sure I'm missing something simple. Is there a way to save the settings without the text? And is there a way to apply the new format to older charts without it over-writing existing text?

georgette