Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Modem won't install

    Trying to help someone change their modem. The old one is 28.8Kb and it plugs into the older style slot (EIA?). The new one is a V.90 56Kb PCI. I removed the old one and plugged in the new one, but W98 doesn't detect it. I've tried removing the modem, starting up, then installing it and starting up again. It still doesn't recognize the modem. I can install the modem software (driver) successfully, but the computer still doesn't detect the hardware..

    Perhaps I should have started the computer up after removing the old one so W98 could sense it was gone becasue W98 either thinks that the old modem is still installed or plug-and-play just isn't working. One other thought, there are no PCI cards being used so I suppose there could be a failure in the PCI bus.

    The computer is an old Pent II running W98 Service Pack 2. Everything else seems to run OK. I tried the modem out in my computer and it recognized it right away, so the modem card is working.

    Any suggestions?

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sterling Heights, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    551
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Modem won't install

    Did you remove the drivers for the old modem in Device Manager? You should have done this before physically removing the ISA card, but go ahead and do it now if you hadn't.

    Does the PC have more than one PCI slot? If so, try different slots for the new modem.

  4. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Modem won't install

    Hi John,

    I can't recall if I removed the drivers before removing the card, but I certainly did afterward. The motherboard has four unused PCI slots (there were no PCI devices installed). I tried the new modem in two of them, but it simply doesn't find the new modem there. I brought the new modem home with me and installed it in my computer -- it found it right away, so it is not a failed modem problem. I think I'll try cleaning contacts -- this is a very old computer and the PCI slots have not been used until now, so it's conceivable that they are somemwhat corroded. Short of that I am running out of ideas.

  5. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Modem won't install

    Chuck,

    Check the box or literature that came with the new modem. It's possible that the hardware or OS doesn't support that modem. I gave a friend an old 166 Pentium a while back to use for Word Processing and such. They deceided to connect it to the internet and went out and bought an v90 modem and tried to install it. Didn't work and when I got there to troubleshoot/fix it the problem was that the system didn't support v90 technology. Sometimes you can't teach an old dog new tricks. <img src=/S/nope.gif border=0 alt=nope width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Modem won't install

    Well Doc, you named it! After checking the modem manufacturer's web site and downloading the full manual it requires a Pentium III or higher, and my friend has a Pentium II. At least I now know what the problem is.
    Thanks for your comments.

  7. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Modem won't install

    Glad I could help. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •