Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    482
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Custom Menus don't appear unless ... (Word 2003)

    I made a post a year or two ago that seemed to have everyone stumped. I thought I would try again to see if new blood or old experiences might help identify what is going on.

    I have created some custom buttons to activate a few macros on a custom toolbar. However, when I open the document, the toolbar does not appear. This seems to be specifically related to the installation of Adobe Acrobat and their custom toolbars and macros. If Adobe Acrobat is not installed, the problem does not exist.

    I have found a workaround. If I open the Customize dialog box (on the Tools menu, click Customize.), and then immediately close it (without making any changes), then my custom toolbar appears.

    Two questions:

    1. Is there any way to stop the Acrobat macros from interfering?

    2. If not, what is it that opening the Customize dialog box does to fix it? Is there a way to automate whatever this action is in an autoOpen macro so that this will not be an issue?

    Thanks!!
    Troy

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Putnam Valley, New York, USA
    Posts
    113
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Custom Menus don't appear unless ... (Word 2003)

    This is the only help I can offer.

    What is your add-in named? I vaguely recall that when multiple add-ins are active, the alphabetical order determines precedence between the globals. Document templates had precedence over globals, and document customization took precedence over templates. I'm guessing that when the Customize dialog box comes up, Word is forced to refresh its view of what add-ins are currently active, what is in normal.dot, what document template may be attached, so that it can re-establish order of precedence.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    482
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Custom Menus don't appear unless ... (Word 2003)

    This is not an addin. The macros are contained within a doc file.

    Any other thoughts?

    Thanks!!
    Troy

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Custom Menus don't appear unless ... (Word 2003)

    The approach I take is to move the Acrobat add-ins to a non-default folder, then explicity add them from Tools > Templates and Add-Ins, and then clear the check box next to them. This completely gets rid of the Acrobat toolbar and menus, but I can easily add them back by checking the box in Templates and Add-Ins

    StuartR

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    482
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Custom Menus don't appear unless ... (Word 2003)

    That is a good workaround. Thanks!!

    Do you have any idea why custom toolbars reappear when you open and then close the Customize dialog box (when the Acrobat plugins are loaded)? If I could ever figure out why this works, I might could figure a way to program it.

    It actually only works temporarily. If I switch to another document and then switch back to the document with the custom toolbar, it disappears again, until I open the Customize dialog box again.

    Thanks!!
    Troy

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Custom Menus don't appear unless ... (Word 2003)

    Not a clue, but I suspect it is caused by code in the Adobe add-in.

    Since this code is protected you can't (easily) debug it - and since the workaround I have seems effective I didn't bother to research it any further.

    StuartR

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Zoetermeer, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
    Posts
    559
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Custom Menus don't appear unless ... (Word 2003)

    Maybe this is a workaround. In a class module "EventsModule", insert this code

    <pre>Public WithEvents wdApp As Word.Application
    Private Sub wdApp_WindowActivate(ByVal Doc As Document, ByVal Wn As Window)
    If Doc.AttachedTemplate.Name = "MyTemplate.dot" Then
    CommandBars("MyBar").Visible = True
    End If
    End Sub </pre>

    And in a standard module called "AutoExec" add this code:

    <pre>Dim X As New EventsModule
    Sub Main()
    Set X.wdApp = Word.Application
    End Sub </pre>


    This will initialize the application event WindowActivate at the start of each Word session. Every time you change documents this event will be fired. It checks the template name and if appropriate, makes the commandbar visible.
    Not sure if it will work, but you could give this a try.

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Custom Menus don't appear unless ... (Word 2003)

    Hi Troy

    This happened to me.
    What version of Adobe Acrobat did you install? Did you install Adobe Acrobat 6.0? Professional? as this includes distiller. Do you have a different custom directory as your Word startup path, then the default standard MS directory? Do you need the Adobe toolbar displayed in Word?

    We have a custom directory with our custom Word templates > when Word starts up >on Words 'Standard toolbar' > loads up & displays our custom menu.
    After installing Adobe Acrobat 6.0 Professional- our Word custom menu couldnt be used anymore.

    I discovered that on installation of Adobe > Adobe installs template files so on the applications Word & Excel, it displays the Adobe Convertion toolbar (see screen dump) to make it easier for the end user to convert to PDF.

    Adobe installs the template files in the locations:
    C:Program FilesMicrosoft OfficeOffice10StartupPDFMaker.dot &
    C:Program FilesMicrosoft OfficeOffice10XLStartPDFMaker.xla

    If the Adobe Word template 'PDFMaker.dot ', is in this Startup directory it will override any of your custom Word menus that have been set in your custom global template directory for Words startup.

    To resolve:
    1. remove the template from C:Program FilesMicrosoft OfficeOffice10StartupPDFMaker.dot
    2. if you require the Adobe toolbars displayed in Word so you can convert your Word docs into PDF & you do have a custom template startup directory. then move PDFMaker.dot into your custom template startup directory.
    or if you dont require the Adobe toolbars displayed in Word then I've just moved the Adobe template PDFMaker.dot into the Adobe 6.0 directory.

    alot easier than writing work-around-code...
    cheers Diana :-)

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    482
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Custom Menus don't appear unless ... (Word 2003)

    F.Y.I. I just installed Adobe Acrobat 7.0, and guess what? Adobe seems to have actually fixed the problem!! Their menus and button bar appear when they are supposed to, and don't interfere with the custom menus button bars from other addins or attached dot files.

    Obviously, I cannot easily test your solutions, but they appear to be similar to other posts, which did prove to be good workarounds.

    Thanks!!
    Troy

  10. #10
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Custom Menus don't appear unless ... (Word 2003)

    Hey Troy

    When this issue 1st occured with me in Adobe 6.0 - I had a look at the adobe website & other forums & it was a known issue with ver6.0. They must have bee resolved it in version 7.0

    cheers Diana

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger kmurdock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pacific Grove, California, USA
    Posts
    710
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 33 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Custom Menus don't appear unless ... (Word 2003)

    Troy,

    I had a custom menu item to the right of Help on the menu bar which loaded from a global template. When I installed the Acrobat 7 try-out version, the Adobe menu items overwrote my menu item. Further, it seemed to remove all the buttons from a custom toolbar saved in normal.dot. It even added one of its menu items to a non-global template that I opened to edit.

    I would be interested in knowing a little more about your environment. The only solution I had was to uninstall Acrobat and reset the menubars on normal, my document template and on the global template that had the menu item.

    Thanks,
    Kim

  12. #12
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Weert, Limburg, Netherlands
    Posts
    4,812
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Custom Menus don't appear unless ... (Word 2003)

    Now that would be a change! Adobe is one of the top problem causing applications for Excel users, causing runtime errors at startup and the like.
    Good thing they try to fix things.
    Jan Karel Pieterse
    Microsoft Excel MVP, WMVP
    www.jkp-ads.com
    Professional Office Developers Association

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    482
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Custom Menus don't appear unless ... (Word 2003)

    Well, given Adobe's track record lately, I guess it was too good to be true that it fixed all the problems related to this issue.

    I specifically tested this on Windows XP Home with Word 2003. I had a .doc file that contained custom menu bars. These now come up fine. I also have a .dot file that attaches to a doc file that contains both a custom menu and a custom button bar. These also come up fine.

    Let me know what other information you want.

    Troy

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger kmurdock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pacific Grove, California, USA
    Posts
    710
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 33 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Custom Menus don't appear unless ... (Word 2003)

    Thanks Troy.

    My environment isn't that different. Word 2003 on XP Pro. From your response, it sounds as if both the document and the template that attaches to a document load after Acrobat has finished installing itself. This may be why it's working for you.

    It seems as if there's a mighty struggle to make menu items persist. As I watched Word load, I saw my menu items and toolbars appear then disappear -- Acrobat seems to load last. They may have designed it like this because in the past people complained that the menu item and toolbar for Acrobat used to disappear. This must be their revenge. <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>

    If it hadn't yanked the buttons off a toolbar (a locked toolbar saved in normal.dot) and "adjusted" another template (as it was being edited?), I would try to find a work-around, but that was really anti-social. I can't take the time to experiment with this myself right now, so until (unless?) this is resolved I will have to use Acrobat 5 on my other laptop.

    Thanks again for the further info,
    Kim

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •