Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Duluth, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    215
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Boot Problem on Homemade PC (XP Home, SP2)

    All,

    Don't know if this is the right forum for this, but let me explain my problem and then we can move it if necessary.

    I am building a PC with my son. Powered it up last night for the first time and voila, no sparks or smoke. Did the BIOS boot OK and then formatted the HD and loaded windows XP. All went well until we had to reboot the PC and it would not boot from the HD. It sees the HD, but refuses to boot from it.

    Anybody out there experienced something like this before? Hope to have this fixed by the time school gets out.

    Douglas

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Boot Problem on Homemade PC (XP Home, SP2)

    Joe

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Duluth, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    215
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot Problem on Homemade PC (XP Home, SP2)

    Joe,

    What has happened so far is that it goes through the BIOS boot (very, very slowly) and then send a "Boot from CD" message. After a bit it then says "DISK BOOT FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER".

    I am currently reformatting the drive and laying a fresh copy of XP down.

    Douglas

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Boot Problem on Homemade PC (XP Home, SP2)

    Really silly question. Is the BIOS configured to boot from the hard disk?

    StuartR

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Duluth, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    215
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot Problem on Homemade PC (XP Home, SP2)

    Yes. I have tried a number of different BIOS boot sequence priorities: CD, then HD, no floppy; HD, then CD, no floppy. Now I have just returned from buying a floppy and a couple of new connectors and will try the system default of floppy, HD, CD.

    Douglas

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Boot Problem on Homemade PC (XP Home, SP2)

    Is this a standard IDE disk drive, or do you have some sort of RAID or SCSI controller?

    StuartR

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Boot Problem on Homemade PC (XP Home, SP2)

    You said you formatted the HD - how did you do that? Is it possible that the hard drive does not have an ACTIVE boot partition? I always do my hard drive prep from a Win98SE boot floppy so I don't know how you check to make sure it's ACTIVE if you did it from the XP CD.

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Duluth, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    215
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot Problem on Homemade PC (XP Home, SP2)

    Stuart,

    It is a standard hard drive: WD800JB.

    Douglas

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Duluth, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    215
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot Problem on Homemade PC (XP Home, SP2)

    When I booted from the WinXP CD, it recognized the virgin HD and offered to format it for me. I accepted assuming that it would prepare it properly. I do not know if that trust is misplaced or not. Something is not working right, but at this point, I don't know where the problem lies.

    Douglas

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Boot Problem on Homemade PC (XP Home, SP2)

    Are you sure you have the jumper(s) on the drive hardware in the correct position? Western Digital has a somewhat strange way of jumpering its drives. Here's one link showing that there is a big difference: Answer

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Boot Problem on Homemade PC (XP Home, SP2)

    Hi Douglas,

    You might want to take a look at the Windows XP Professional Install Guide on Black Viper's site. Very through with lots of step-by-step screenshots of the install process. IMHO, worth the ink to print it an have a copy next to you when you are doing an installation. It might provide you with a clue about why you can't seem to boot from the HD. HTH <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Duluth, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    215
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot Problem on Homemade PC (XP Home, SP2)

    That was the ticket. I had the jumper incorrectly positioned. Whether the on-disk diagram was wrong, or I mis-read it does not matter at this point. The system now sees the HD as a boot device and all is well (until the next problem).

    You guys are great. A much appreciated resource. Thanks again.

    Douglas

  13. #13
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot Problem on Homemade PC (XP Home, SP2)

    WD's method looks like everybody else's method that I have seen.

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Boot Problem on Homemade PC (XP Home, SP2)

    Here's the facet of jumpering that I was talking about. Most drive manufacturers jumper their hard drives as either master, slave or cable select. Western Digital is the only one that I'm aware of that uses an additional parameter of SINGLE, for systems where there is only ONE physical drive in the machine. There may be others but WD is the primary one that I'm aware of and mis-jumpering their drives is frequent because of this difference. Please give explanatory backup if you make comments such as you did.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •