Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    16 bit Windows Subsystem

    After running my weekly SpyBot and removing everthing it found I now get the following error message on re-boot:

    16 bit Windows Subsystem
    C:WINDOWS32AUTOEXEC.NT The file system is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Choose 'Close' to terminate the application.

    When I chose 'Close' the system apprears to continue with the boot-up just fine. However, if I re-boot I get the error message back. What's up?
    <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: 16 bit Windows Subsystem

    Do the suggestions in <!mskb=324767>Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 324767<!/mskb> help?

    StuartR

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 16 bit Windows Subsystem

    What if my system is OEM? Will a Windows XP Upgrade disc that I purchased for another computer work?

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: 16 bit Windows Subsystem

    I suspect that it would, for the specific instructions in this knowledge base article, if it is for exactly the same version of Windows.

    StuartR

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 16 bit Windows Subsystem

    I found the original OEM Operating System CD and followed the KB article to the letter, but no luck. I'm still getting the 16 bit Windows Subsystem error message. My system seems to be working just fine but the error message is really annoying. Any other ideas? <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23>

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 16 bit Windows Subsystem

    What are the contents of AUTOEXEC.NT? It sure sounds like something is trying to run from there.
    -Mark

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 16 bit Windows Subsystem

    In C:WINDOWSsystem32autoexec.nt

    @echo off
    lh %SYSTEMROOT%system32mscdexnt.exe
    lh %SYSTEMROOT%system32redir
    lh %SYSTEMROOT%system32dosx
    SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 P330 T3

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: 16 bit Windows Subsystem

    Have you installed the MS Anti Spyware Beta? This seems to be a common problem among some users after installing this program. Have a look in the MS Newsgroups . Click on the "Announcements" link and then scroll down to the AUTOEXEC.NT DELETION thread.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 16 bit Windows Subsystem

    No, I have not installed the MS Anti Spyware Beta

    - I have followed the instructions in the MS KB article: 324767
    - I have run the xp_fix.exe from visualtour.com
    - I have copied the autoexec.nt file from C:WINDOWSrepair folder and pasted it into C:WINDOWSsystem32 folder.

    All to NO AVAIL!
    <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,337
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,014 Times in 889 Posts

    Re: 16 bit Windows Subsystem

    Colin,

    Is the folder name used in your first post accurate? Have you used something like Sysinternals Freeware - Autoruns to check out what is really being started on your PC?

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 16 bit Windows Subsystem

    I'm not sure what folder you are referring to, or if you are referring to the text of the error message in my first post. Regardless, I double checked and everything I posted is accurate (I hope).

    - I ran AdAware and I'm astounded it found 40(!) new critical objects, which I deleted.
    - I then ran SpyBot again (2nd time today) and it found 5(!) DSO Exploit entries, which I deleted.
    - Next I downloaded and ran MS Antispyware which found 4 more(!!) that I deleted.

    Finally, I re-booted and the error message is still there!

    I'll try the Sysinternals Freeware - Autoruns next.

    Thanks <img src=/S/brainwash.gif border=0 alt=brainwash width=15 height=15>

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,337
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,014 Times in 889 Posts

    Re: 16 bit Windows Subsystem

    Your original post had C:Windows32autoexec.nt. Windows32 is not a typical name for the Windows installation folder. See this thread: OSNN Forum - windows xp.

    Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: 16 bit Windows Subsystem

    Joe

    I think that was a typo. It was given correctly in <post#=447878>post 447878</post#>.

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  14. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,337
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,014 Times in 889 Posts

    Re: 16 bit Windows Subsystem

    John,
    Possibly. But the link I referenced specifically mentions the "window32" folder name & 16 bit subsystem errors.

    Joe
    Joe

  15. #15
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: 16 bit Windows Subsystem

    Joe

    If autoexec.nt were located in any directory other than WindowsSYSTEM32 it would be ignored as Just Another File, surely?

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •