Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Programs do not load correctly (XP SP2)

    This just started recently.
    After I reboot I have some programs that do not load correctly.
    To get them to load correctly I need to log off the account.
    When I log in back in to the same account, or another existing account, the programs will load correctly.

    If I create a new account, the first time I log into this account, the programs load correctly.
    When I reboot, the new account, the programs do not load correctly.
    When I log off and log in again the programs load correctly.

    The programs I am having problems with are, F-Secure and Goback.
    After each reboot I lose the Goback history.

    Thank you.
    WES

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Programs do not load correctly (XP SP2)

    Define "do not load correctly", it may help. We need to know what the real problem is.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Programs do not load correctly (XP SP2)

    When the programs are working normally. After the reboot and the desktop has opened, the Goback icon pops up and loads Goback. Then the F-Secure icon pops up and loads F-Secure. This all happens fast, maybe 5 seconds and everything is up and running.
    When the programs don't load correctly. After the reboot and the desktop has opened, the F-Secure icon pops up, after a 30-40 second wait and loads F-Secure, then the Goback icon opens and loads Goback.
    F-Secure is not working at this point. It is disabled and I have to log out and then log back in to get it into a working state. Goback is working, but I have lost my previous Goback history.
    If I still need to describe something more let me know and I will try again.
    Thank you for looking.

    WES

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Programs do not load correctly (XP SP2)

    Although this may have nothing to do with your problem, I wonder why you are using Goback when Microsoft in XP provides a perfectly usable alternative, System Restore?

    John

    PS It's not often that I commend a piece of Microsoft backup/restore software!
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Programs do not load correctly (XP SP2)


  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Programs do not load correctly (XP SP2)

    I installed SP-2 around a month to six weeks ago and I don't think this is the problem. But what do I know!
    If I could place a time when this problem started; I had a problem with my RECYCLE BIN, in the last few days, it would not save the files I deleted . This F-Secure and Goback problem could have started around that time. I had to have Ad-Aware correct the problem. Ad-aware had a special plugin that I downloaded just for that problem. I think Ad-aware said it was a malware,VX2.
    Thank you for your help.
    WES

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Programs do not load correctly (XP SP2)

    I am very snug in my little "COMFORT ZONE". And I don't like to leave it.
    I have used Goback for several years and it usually gets me out of any corner I place myself. With every new program there is a learning curve, and as long as Goback does what I need, I am in my "COMFORT ZONE". I am sure Bill has a very fine program and when Goback stops doing the job, I will give Bill's program a-little-look-see.
    Thank you for asking.
    WES

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Programs do not load correctly (XP SP2)

    Back to my problems.
    I have found, after a re-boot, and after the "WELCOME" window opens, if I wait 30 seconds, (or longer), before I open my desktop, both programs will open and run correctly.
    If I open my desktop, in less than 20 seconds after the "WELCOME" window opens, neither program will open or run correctly. At this point I then need to log off and log in to get the programs running correctly. (As I described in the previous posts.)
    Is this additional information any help in finding my problem?
    Thank you.
    WES

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Programs do not load correctly (XP SP2)

    Strange problem you have here... have you tried uninstalling & then reinstalling F-Secure & Go-back?
    <font color=448800><font face="Comic Sans MS"><big>Lyra J </font color=448800></font face=comic></big>
    <img src=/S/flags/UK.gif border=0 alt=UK width=30 height=18> Ducking the arrows in Robin Hood country <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Lyra_J_sig.gif ALT="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!" title="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!">

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Programs do not load correctly (XP SP2)

    I think what you are experiencing has to do with these two programs loading completely before you begin using your system. I have a similar issue with my DSL service. When I boot the system, if I begin using the internet before two windows indicating that the DSL software has loaded appear, my connection to the internet often doesn't work or will connect to the internet but not the ISP's servers. If I allow these two windows to appear (thus indicating that the underlying software has finished loading) I have no problems. F-Secure is a firewall as well as an AV program and needs to load completely to work properly. GoBack is loaded before Windows and runs in a DOS environment to do it's job, but it needs information from Windows before it can start (it creates a real-time system image so Windows has to load completely before Goback even starts to create it's image). I'd suspect that with the addition of SP2 that your system is loading differently (read more slowly) and that it is just taking more time for F-Secure and GoBack to load. Give the system the 20 seconds it seems to need and you shouldn't have any more trouble. The alternative is a time consuming process of checking what loads on startup and eliminating some unnecessary things until the system has enough resources to start F-Secure & GoBack more quickly.

    edited by Doc to add..... BTW - System Restore from MS is not even in the same ballpark with GoBack. GoBack restores your ENTIRE hard drive to it's previous state. System Restore returns ONLY your System Files to their previous state. All new data and revisions to data and non-system settings will be lost.</small>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •