Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Problem with Spider

    I know a few loungers use the program to remove the index.dat file that IE creates, and Windows won't let you (easily) delete. I've used it successfully "out of the box" for a long time for this purpose. Now it has started giving me an error message (below) and can't seem to delete anything at all. I have done some Windows updates on IE6 - don't know if these have done something? Any ideas?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Problem with Spider

    Sorry -- the message does not exist in TechNet, so presumably it comes from Spider itself...

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Problem with Spider

    Hey Alan,

    I was curious about Spider (never heard of it) and a Google turned up this site with some info that might pertain to your situation. It seems IE6 and Spider may have issues. From the history section, "9 September 2001 - Erick van Zijl noted that the bug seems to have been removed from the beta of IE6, and possibly even IE5.5 (unconfirmed)." I'm, of course, assuming that you are using Spider v1.16.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Problem with Spider

    I'm sure that's right John.

    cheers
    Alan

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Problem with Spider

    Thanks Doc. I don't think that "bug" is behind it, or even an accurate description of what's happening on my box. The "hidden URL" he describes is, indeed, not removed by either IE's cleanup or by Spider. But Spider used to be able to remove it from IE6. Now it can't ???

    I have alternative ways of doing it, but I always found Spider (1.16) to be a convenience.

    Alan

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Banglamung, Thailand
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Problem with Spider

    Just for the record I use Spider with IE6 and have never had a problem. Could it be that it has become corrupted? If so a quick uninstall and then install a fresh copy may well do the trick

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Problem with Spider

    Thanks Ray. I thought of that and downloaded a "new" copy, only to find that the files in the archive were older than the ones I have already. Do you know of a reliable download for the most recent version?

    FWIW, this is the SpiderBite output following the problem message box above:

    C:WINDOWSApplication DataMicrosoftInternet ExplorerUserDataindex.dat
    C:WINDOWSCookiesindex.dat
    C:WINDOWSHistoryHistory.IE5index.dat
    C:WINDOWSHistoryHistory.IE5MSHist01200502012005020 2index.dat
    C:WINDOWSHistoryHistory.IE5MSHist01200502022005020 3index.dat
    C:WINDOWSHistoryHistory.IE5MSHist01200502032005020 4index.dat
    C:WINDOWSHistoryHistory.IE5MSHist01200502042005020 5index.dat
    C:WINDOWSHistoryHistory.IE5MSHist01200502052005020 6index.dat
    C:WINDOWSHistoryHistory.IE5MSHist01200502062005020 7index.dat
    *** Erased C:WINDOWSApplication DataMicrosoftInternet ExplorerUserDataindex.dat
    <font color=red>***</font color=red> Failed on C:WINDOWSCookiesindex.dat
    <font color=red>***</font color=red> Failed on C:WINDOWSHistoryHistory.IE5index.dat
    *** Erased C:WINDOWSHistoryHistory.IE5MSHist01200502012005020 2index.dat
    *** Erased C:WINDOWSHistoryHistory.IE5MSHist01200502022005020 3index.dat
    *** Erased C:WINDOWSHistoryHistory.IE5MSHist01200502032005020 4index.dat
    *** Erased C:WINDOWSHistoryHistory.IE5MSHist01200502042005020 5index.dat
    *** Erased C:WINDOWSHistoryHistory.IE5MSHist01200502052005020 6index.dat
    *** Erased C:WINDOWSHistoryHistory.IE5MSHist01200502062005020 7index.dat


    Alan

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Banglamung, Thailand
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Problem with Spider

    Hi Alan,

    Try this site I have just visited it so I know it is active. http://www.fsm.nl/ward/

    Hope this works for you. Remember, remove the old one in its entirety including the registry entries etc

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Problem with Spider

    <img src=/S/hmmn.gif border=0 alt=hmmn width=15 height=15>... it appears that others have run into this problem too. I suspect it might have something to do with cleaning up from within IE6 first, before running Spider. Maybe one of the numerous IE updates I've done (I have the latest) has mede some sort of changes. I might have to revert to my old batch file method. <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>

    Alan

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Banglamung, Thailand
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Problem with Spider

    Alan,

    Sorry to hear it didn't work. I will try to think of something else. I have all the updates for all of my software and it still works fine on my machine. Of course even with what appears to be the same set up there are probably little differences which could affect it.

    If you want I will email you a copy of the file Spider.exe I have and am currently using. Let me know your email address if you want me to and I will send you a copy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •