Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    234
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    connect from a xp pro to a win2000 server

    I don't know where to post this ongoing quest of mine. so if it should be elsewhere, please move it:
    I need to connect from home using a xp pro machine to my office server (win2000) via a broadband connection in order to use Quickbooks. Unlike using PC anywhere where I am commandeering the remote pc, I need to essentially connect as one would on a LAN.
    The perplexing thing is that at one time I was able to do this routinely with these two machines. Here is what I did.
    enter the ip address in window's search screen for a computer. It would find it, I would double click on it and it would prompt me for the servers password. After entering that, I would have access to all the files, and for my purpose, the Quickbook database in order to run Quickbooks on my xp pro computer.
    Now when I do the above, it does find the computer, and under the "in folder" heading it says "Web client network" (I don't think it said that before). When I double click, nothing happens.
    I assume there is a firewall setting, but I haven't a clue.
    I certainly don't want to compromise the security, but how can I tweek it, assuming that is the problem.
    fyi, I am able to connect using PC anywhere.
    thanks,

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newark, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: connect from a xp pro to a win2000 server

    So, your at home (xp) and the server is in the office (2000) and yur try to connect via cable or DSL?

    I would hope your office has a firewall and this would be the reason you can't do this. Is the ip address you usually type in internal or external?
    The normal way to do this would be, VPN to your office. That puts you on the LAN and you can search for the server via p and get in.

    Make sence?
    Mike Wolfman
    Jack of all, Master of none
    Bow before me, for I am root.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tfiles/112673-wolfsig.jpg>

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    234
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: connect from a xp pro to a win2000 server

    Yes, you have the question correct.
    I'm not sure I understand you ip question. I do know it is a dynamic address (it changes) and I check at the office to confirm the ip address by finding a web site that tell you such things.
    The one curious thing is that the office has always had a firewall, but at one time, able to get in by typing the ip address, then entering in the passcode. Something changed and now I have this problem.
    I guess I need a VPN, but how does one do that? This is a small office situation and I am the one who has to figure all this out.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newark, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: connect from a xp pro to a win2000 server

    So basically., the server is hooked directly to the DSL/Cable?? VPN on 2k is easy, there's a VPN server componet you can install.
    Mike Wolfman
    Jack of all, Master of none
    Bow before me, for I am root.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tfiles/112673-wolfsig.jpg>

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    234
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: connect from a xp pro to a win2000 server

    yes...I think.
    The server has the dsl line runing to a router, then out to the phone company.
    If this is correct, then I get the 2k disk out and install this VPN?
    any other things I need to do?

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    234
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: connect from a xp pro to a win2000 server

    I put in the windows 2k disk, and can not find a vpn component to add.
    this is probably out of my league, but you suggested it was easy, so I am willing to play around a bit if you can help.
    thanks,

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: connect from a xp pro to a win2000 server

    It's a long time since I did this, but I think you configure VPN on Windows 2000 as part of the RRAS (Routing and Remote Access Service).

    Hang on for a quick search on the Microsoft web site...
    ...here it is...

    Have a look at <!mskb=308208>Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 308208<!/mskb> for instructions.

    StuartR

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •