Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Ram question!

  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    3,444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Ram question!

    Hi,
    If I add more ram to my PC, must it be slotted in, in a certain order. For example, I have a 128mb dimm in a PC, and I want to add a 256mb dimm (or maybe ever a 512mb dimm) into the extra slot. Must I first have the larger dimm in slot one, and then the smaller one...or does it not matter.
    If this is a silly Q. , please forgive me....my hardware knowledge is very shallow!

    Tx
    Regards,
    Rudi

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Ram question!

    This very much depends on the particular motherboard. Did yours come with a manual? If not then you will have to search for one on the Internet.

    StuartR

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    3,444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Ram question!

    Stuart,

    The motherboard is a P4 Titan series motherboard. (About a year old). I do have a manual for the motherboard which I have forgotten about. It is stashed away in a cupboard somewhere. Does my extra info help...or should I try and dig up the manual for safety sake???
    Regards,
    Rudi

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Ram question!

    You would do very well to find the manual or download a copy from the manufacturer's website. Newer systems are less picky about memory timings, but they still play a significant role.

    You can also take a look at the Crucial memory selector for assistance. I can't say enough good things about the company.
    -Mark

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Ram question!

    Stuart's correct, Rudi, you need to know something about the motherboard before you buy. Some tell you to put faster RAM in the first slot, others don't allow RAM of different speeds. And there are some that require the exact specs, such as voltage, etc. One thing you can do is give Crucial a look (Memory upgrades at Crucial.com) and if you give them the model of your machine or the name and model of the motherboard, they'll do the work for you and the prices are usually acceptable to most folks. If you need specs info, download Belarc Advisor if you don't already have it (Belarc Advisor). It'll tell you the name and model of the motherboard in your machine.

    Edited: Sorry Mark, bad timing on our part <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    3,444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Ram question!

    Thanx Mark and Al. This is valuable info.
    I will most definitely follow that Crucial link and read up about the details!
    <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>
    Regards,
    Rudi

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •