Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ashmore, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    msimn.exe drives CPU to 100% (XP SP2)

    We had a sudden power outage yesterday while my PC was on. Since then (and it may be only a coincidence) I am experiencing 100%CPU use, the computer has slowed to a dead crawl, and processes show msimn.exe running at 99 without IE or OE open. I have run SpyBot and AdAware, CounterSpy (all up to date) without finding anything amiss, and have Zone Alarm Security suite which is fully updated and providing firewall, antivirus etc. A virus scan (took nearly 4 hours as the PC is so slow) showed no infection.
    There are either two or three mentions of msimn.exe in processes. At one stage, 3 were showing 33% CPU usage each. Now there are 2 "copies", one at zero and the other at 99%. I must confess that I have never looked in detail to note whether the process is mentioned more than once.
    The PC runs reasonably normally at bootup then within a few minutes slows down and the CPU use rises to 100%. All other processes at zero.
    I reinstalled XP SP2 in case there was a problem with msimn.exe, and for a while things ran better then reverted to a near-death state.
    I have a fast fairly new PC with 1GHz processor and 512Mb RAM. I have asurge protector which is meant to cope with anything up to a direct lightning strike.
    Could a trojan have snuck through all my defences, or could there be a hardware issue? Not at all sure where to go next.
    All assistance and wise advice will be gratefully received!
    Dianne

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: msimn.exe drives CPU to 100% (XP SP2)

    msimn.exe is Outlook Express. Do you use that?

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: msimn.exe drives CPU to 100% (XP SP2)

    Try doing a Repair of IE. This should check for and replace any missing or damaged modules in the IE/Outlook package that is installed on your system.

    To Repair IE 6.0, go to Control Panel>Add/Remove Programs, and select the entry for "Microsoft Internet Explorer ... and Internet Tools" and then click the Add/Remove button at the bottom of the window. On the options window, select the "Repair Internet Explorer" option and click OK. When it is done reboot the system.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ashmore, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: msimn.exe drives CPU to 100% (XP SP2)

    Doc, Microsoft Internet Explorer etc is not listed in add/remove programs. Is there a way of making it visible, or an alternative way of repairing IE? I do use Outlook Express, but even with IE and OE closed ,msimn.exe is putting a heavy burden on the PC.
    Many thanks
    Dianne

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,355
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,016 Times in 891 Posts

    Re: msimn.exe drives CPU to 100% (XP SP2)

    Joe

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ashmore, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: msimn.exe drives CPU to 100% (XP SP2)

    Joe, I had found the MS KB and tried a reinstall of SP2. It didn't fix the problem, but I will uninstall and reinstall SP2 and see what happens. If that fails, any other advice?
    With sincere thanks
    Dianne

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ashmore, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Re: msimn.exe drives CPU to 100% (XP SP2)

    Now I am really puzzled. My IE version is 6.0.2900.2180.xpsp_sp2_rtm etc. I tried the Kelly's Korner suggestion for IE repair, using the run box. I was asked for IExplore.exe on the SP2 CD, but can't for the life of me find that file on the CD- have searched manually and using the Windows search function on the CD.
    Cheers
    Dianne

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •