Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: F11 (2000)

  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    1,119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    F11 (2000)

    My F11 key to show the database objects isn't working. What did I do?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: F11 (2000)

    Close the database (if it is open now)
    Keep the Shift key down while opening the database. This disables the startup options.
    You should now see the database window.
    If you want to be able to use F11 when you open the database normally:
    Select Tools | Startup...
    Tick the check box "Special Access keys".
    Click OK.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    1,119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: F11 (2000)

    I tried to open the database by holding the shift key down but it wouldn't open. Access did but the database didn't. When I open the database, I have a splash screen come up and then the switchboard opens. When I press the F11 key, the switchboard looses focus and one of the toolbars disappears. I don't know what I did for this to happen.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: F11 (2000)

    Try the following:
    - Create a new blank database.
    - Import everything from the problem database into the new database (File | Get External Data | Import...)
    - If there is a macro named AutoExec in the Macros section, rename it to something else.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: F11 (2000)

    Oh, perhaps the database window has just been moved offscreen. You can also try the following after pressing F11: select Window | Cascade or Window | Tile Horizontally.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    1,119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: F11 (2000)

    I had a backup of the database. I imported the form and the macro that I was working on all day into the backup and it works. There is a macro Autoexec. It has Minimize and Open Form. This is what opens the Splash form. I don't want this to happen again. Do you know why this would happen? It seems like when I press the F11 key, it would open up a new database. When I looked under window, it had hide and unhide and unhide was dimmed and there were two databases. What did I do to cause this?

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: F11 (2000)

    I suspect that the minimized database window had somehow been moved offscreen (as I suggested in the reply I added before this one).

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    1,119
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: F11 (2000)

    You were right. I cascaded the windows and it appeared. That is scary. I didn't know it could somehow move off screen.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: F11 (2000)

    It might be an accidental uncontrolled mouse movement, or something like that.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •