Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    WS Lounge VIP sdckapr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    11,225
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 342 Times in 335 Posts

    IE not using Activewindow with shortcuts (6.0.2600.0000CO)

    I just got IE6 installed on my work computer and it is annoying when shortcuts are selected from the toolbar.

    I have checked "reuse windows for launching shortcuts" under Tools- internet options - advanced.
    A window is reused, but it is not always the "active window" - It is the window of the first "instance" of IE that was opened.

    I have IE6 at home and it doesn't do this, so I assume there is some "fix":

    Does anyone have any ideas how to tell IE to open the shortcuts from the window they are called from?

    Steve

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,341
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,015 Times in 890 Posts

    Re: IE not using Activewindow with shortcuts (6.0.2600.0000CO)

    First thing I'd suggest is install Sp-1 plus all subsequent fixes.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP sdckapr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    11,225
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 342 Times in 335 Posts

    Re: IE not using Activewindow with shortcuts (6.0.2600.0000CO)

    Installing things is not a simple solution. I do not have admin rights install the upgrade...

    One would have thought that when IT installed IE6 he would have included all the service packs. If there is a solution which does not involve IT, to me, hat is a better solution...

    Any other ideas, or do you think I need to go thru IT to help solve my problem.

    Steve

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP sdckapr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    11,225
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 342 Times in 335 Posts

    Re: IE not using Activewindow with shortcuts (6.0.2600.0000CO)

    Another hint of the problem:
    It is not all the shortcuts that have this behaviour: it is only the shortcuts that are within Folders on the toolbar.

    Steve

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP sdckapr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    11,225
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 342 Times in 335 Posts

    Re: IE not using Activewindow with shortcuts (6.0.2600.0000CO)

    Joe you are correct and I will have to go this route as there is a MS KB article on it: Shortcut on Links Toolbar May Open in a Different Window

    Thanks,
    Steve

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,341
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,015 Times in 890 Posts

    Re: IE not using Activewindow with shortcuts (6.0.2600.0000CO)

    If you can download the service pack, can you 'RUNAS' the administrator?

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •