Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 43

Thread: networking

  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    networking

    For 2 years I had the perfect setup for me. 2 computers, which had set up fairly seamlessly to network to each other, at first through a hub, and a few weeks later, through a router. The internet is supplied via a DSL line. both computers file and printer share, both get the internet. Several times a year the second computer might stop "recognizing" the first one (it did much more work on the first than the other way around), but a good reboot would always solve this. Several months ago I put Norton's Internet Security on, the network never blinked.
    Until this morning. I had not recently changed any other things in the computer.
    I came in this morning, and the second computer had gone through a "reboot" at sometime overnight; it was waiting for me to sign into windows, although last night I had left it signed in already. It does this occasionally. More than that I cannot relate; it could have been a power surge, but it's never happened while I've been around. I brought the computer into Windows, and thought all was well, but after working for a few minutes I realized I could not connect to the other computer. Internet access was fine. The main computer could "see" the second one, although in its drive window the second computer's drives were listed as "disconnected." However, with a double click, the drive contents were easily visualized, and files could be opened, etc, as usual. This computer also continues to run the internet

    However, on the second computer, although the drives are also listed in the "my computer" drive window, they do not respond to the double click. Instead, a message comes up: "an error occured while reconnecting P to Barbarap Microsoft Windows Network: The Network is not present or has not been started. The connection has not been restored. OK" which of course it IS not. I rebooted both computers, tried installing a new Network Place, new Network Connection, but I cannot get anything...I feel as if a piece of hardware may be broken, but I cannot figure out which, or as if I've been infected with something weird. I went through the troubleshoot that Dell supplied as well, why not, I was desperate, and now I turn to you wonderful people. Any thoughts?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: networking

    These two computers are still connected to each other and the internet via a router, is that correct? You didn't say what make and model the router is, but sometimes the ROUTER needs to be re-energized. If you have documentation, you could check the startup procedure and that will give you a clue. If not, shutdown both computers. Now, shutdown the ROUTER by unplugging it from the electricity. Wait a minute or two before reapplying power to the router. Restart the computers and give the network a chance to settle in. See what'cha get...

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,359
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,016 Times in 891 Posts

    Re: networking

    What OS on each PC?

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: networking

    They both have Windows XP Professional. They are both Dell Dimension 4400s. The router is LinkSys. The router checks out on a check run by Linksys, and with a phone consult. The ethernet cards check out as well. I've looked into a couple of trouble shooter sites in some books, this sounds mostly as if computer #1 (the one which accesses but cannot access) is protected behind a firewall, but I turned off all the firewalls, and made sure that file sharing is on. Since there are only 2 computers in the network, I cannot be sure if computer #2 cannot simply not get into computer #1, or cannot get into anything, but I plan to try to bring a lap top into the situation tomorrow. I did try turning everything off, including the router, etc, unhooking everything from the computer, and reconnecting just the networking cable, but no luck. Thanks for all the advice, though. Arlene

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,359
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,016 Times in 891 Posts

    Re: networking

    You may want to check out Practically Networked Troubleshooting Guides. Lots of stuff to investigate.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: networking

    <hr>...and made sure that file sharing is on... <hr>
    Glad you said that! In Folder Options, View, do you have Simple file sharing UN-checked? (see cropped attachment)

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: networking

    Thank you. Yes, I do have file sharing checked as on. As I say, this network worked just fine for 2 years. When computer #2 (the one that cannot see #1) boots up, it says "unable to restore network connections." It also, strangely, offers me an opportunity to log onto my old telephone modem line via AOL, a setting that has sat there unused for years (we used it during the black out 2 summers ago here in NYC, so I leave it there). Usually, I don't get this kind offer from the OS. Despite the offer, which I don't take, computer 2 can readily use the internet.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: networking

    This sounds like a faulty NIC or network port to me. Have a look at the indicator lights at the PC and hub ends of the Ethernet cable to see if they are correct.

    StuartR

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: networking

    Thanks, Stuart. Now I just have to figure out how they are supposed to look. LinkSys was pretty adamant that they were ok, and I ran a test they offer on the internet which the router passed. I'm going to try to compare the computers, though

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: networking

    Bear with me Arlene. I don't know if you understood my post or not. You should have Simple file sharing UN-CHECKED.

  11. #11
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: networking

    Sorry, thanks for making that clear. I did uncheck it...on both computers, but no go. Thanks for the idea and all the hard work, though

  12. #12
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: networking

    I just ran the Diagnostics, and got some information, but I'm not sure what to do with it. I failed an IPAddress ping test on Computer #2:

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: networking

    Still sounds like a faulty NIC, Cable or Port.

    Can you try connecting your PC to a different port on the hub with a different cable?
    Have you checked the status of the lights?
    Do you happen to have a spare NIC that you could try?

    StuartR

  14. #14
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: networking

    Stuart, pardon my ignorance. I'm not sure if the NIC is the same as the Ethernet card...I reinstalled the Ethernet software and checked with Dell, where a person went through this with me and told me she thought the card was ok. Also, woefully, I am not at my office, but at home, looking at both computers on the network via GoToMyPC. I'm an at home mom this weekend (and every weekend for that matter), and single, so no one to help out, but am considering what big bribes I can offer to get my son to come into the office while Mommy works on the computer. Otherwise, I will check all of that out on Monday, or at least try to. Do you think the router manufacturer (LinkSys) will help me on the lights situation? They had told me everything was ok. The only error I got with the ping was on the Dell Diagnostics...which made me happy someone could find something...but they don't say how to fix it, and when I ping from command prompts each computer pings the other. Arlene <img src=/S/bif.gif border=0 alt=bif width=70 height=28>

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: networking

    Sorry, didn't mean to use technical terms.

    NIC = Network Interface Card, the thing on the computer that the cable plugs in to.

    Check the lights next to where the cable plugs in, at both ends. If there is a difference between the lights on the hub for the working computer and the other one then this will inidcate a fault (on the cable or the computer or in the hub). If your two computers are near each other then try swapping the cable from the working one to the broken one, to see whether the fault is at the computer end or the other end.

    StuartR

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •