Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    963
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    PPoE through wireless router

    I am working on setting up a wireless router (Buffalo WBR2-G54S) so that I can have my work laptop computer witha built-in wireless card share my home DSL connection.

    Prior to the router install, I had a desktop icon for my ISP connection that I would click to logon to the net.

    After installing the router (and still wanting manual (as opposed to automatic) net logon), the Buffalo tech help is telling me that I need to now manually logon to the net via their browser interface and CANNOT have a desktop icon to do this. This is a pain. I have to first open the browser, then wait until it times out trying to load my home page, then enter the browser IP address of 192.168.11.1, then click connect. SImilarly for logging off the net. They tell me this is the same for ALL routers. Are they blowing smoke? Is there a way to get a desktop icon to logon to the net and and icon into the tray (like I had it prior to this router install) so that I can easily connect/disconnect when I want to?

    Running WinXP/SP1.

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: PPoE through wireless router

    You should simply be able to click on your IE (or Firefox or Mozilla or whatever) desktop icon and it should connect automatically through the router, if the router is set up properly. For example, in the router configuration, you have to specify your connection type as PPPoE, enter your userid (usually username@yourisp.com) and enter your password. You must also tell IE (tools>internet options>connections) to never dial a connection. In most cases, you can also set the router to connect on demand (i.e. when you lauch your browser or mail client) and you can specify a maximum idle time after which the router will disconnect.

    If you are referring to the desktop icon which connected and lauched your browser PRIOR to installing the router, you can no longer use it. This was software from your ISP which was doing, in essence, what the router is now doing.

    edited to add: Also, your TCP/IP properties must be set to Obtain an IP address automatically and Obtain DNS server address automatically (Start>Control Panel>Network Connections>right click Local Area Connection>properties>Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) >Properties).
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: PPoE through wireless router

    You can setup a desktop "shortcut" to http://192.168.11.1, and when opened, it will launch your web browser directly to that page. Then you can click the connect button. When done your internet session, open this shortcut again, and dis-connect.

    In my experience, all routers I've come across are the same way. They're setup to typically be an always on device, always connected.
    Christopher Baldrey

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    963
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: PPoE through wireless router

    Yes, I was referring to the desktop icon for signing onto my ISP. BUT no, that has nothing to do with any software from the ISP as I am using the built-in WinXP PPoE client. So it seems I should still be able to use a desktop icon to sign on to my ISP since the function is running through Windows. Guess I'll have to do some experimenting.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: PPoE through wireless router

    The PPPoE service provided within WindowsXP is very much similar to the PPPoE software provided by ISPs for previous Windows and MAC installations.

    The desktop icon is simply a network connection icon. You could do a similar function with your WiFi's network icon (NIC to ROUTER), however, your router would still be connected - and possibly allowing anyone network access via your router.
    Christopher Baldrey

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    963
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: PPoE through wireless router

    Sorry Chris, but I am not clear on what you are trying to tell me. I have security enabled on the router (using AES w/256bit key).

    I tried making a URL shortcut to open the browser window so I can then click the logon button but this caused me problems. I use Slim Browser (IE shell) as my default browser. SB has a long-standing bug that when you open it to a URL AND SB is not currently running, the URL for whatever you clicked on will open as a single tab. I normally have many tabs open (43 right now [lol]!). If you haven't saved your tabs before this operation, and you don't immediately reopen the tabs used in the last session, you will lose all your tabs (and with so many open, you may not remember what all of them were). So anyway, I tried to create a shortcut that invoked IE explicitly but even when pointing to iexplore.exe, SB still opened.

    I'm thinking that the best way around this issue is to construct a macro to logon.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: PPoE through wireless router

    Setup a shortcut for IE, with "C:Program FilesInternet Exploreriexplorer.exe http://192.168.11.1" as the target. This will invoke IE with the desired page.

    My other suggestion, was to make a shortcut to the network settings icon for your wireless NIC. Right click the icon, "create shortcut". This will place it on your desktop. My comments about leaving the connection open to others you've already considered, by enabling the security.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Christopher Baldrey

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    963
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: PPoE through wireless router

    "Setup a shortcut for IE, with "C:Program FilesInternet Exploreriexplorer.exe http://192.168.11.1" as the target. This will invoke IE with the desired page."
    --------------------------------------------
    As I mentioned above, I can't do this. If Slim Browser isn't open, when it gets invoked by this shortcut, my existing open tabs will get blown away. When you make another browser your default, even invoking IE directly will still get you your default browser.

    The screen capture you show is from the device with the wireless card. But the router is connected to the desktop system. I have to logon through the desktop side because my net connection now goes through the router and the router is not shown in network connections (should it be?).

    If this is how all routers work, then I can only hope that someone in a router manufacturer sees this thread and decides to find a way to mimic how DSL/Cable modems logon in WinXP.

    As an aside, if I were to buy another router with a DSL modem built-in, would it still logon through the browser? Or would the fact that it incorporates a modem allow it to connect through network connections?

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: PPoE through wireless router

    In every case I've seen, the router contains software which accesses your ISP connection, whether that be via PPPoE, PPP, etc....

    At this point, I'd have to say you're not going to find the same solution you previously had. My only other suggestion would be to physically turn the router on / off as required, or simply plug / unplug the wire connecting you to the outside world.
    Christopher Baldrey

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Irvine, California, USA
    Posts
    292
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: PPoE through wireless router

    The issue seems to be that you would like to work off-line some of the time. It appears that everyone in this thread is scratching their collective heads <img src=/S/dizzy.gif border=0 alt=dizzy width=15 height=15> to answer the question, Why? <img src=/S/confused3.gif border=0 alt=confused3 width=45 height=45> Since you appear to want to do this there is a simple solution. 1) If you are hard wired then pull the ethernet cable out of your computer. 2) If you are wireless, shut off your radio. Everything else, is as the others have stated works to undue what the router does; keeping your connection alive for instant access, no login, no hassle, no extra shortcuts or doors to open.

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    963
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: PPoE through wireless router

    Yes, I do want to work offline sometimes (rarely though). I also like to change my dynamic IP address regularly. So no, the issue isn't how to go offline, it's the ease of doing so. Having to go back and forth through this browser interfaceenter the browser account name (root), wait the 5 seconds or so for the screen to paint each time and so on is a pain. It shows poor design and is a poor UI. Must have been created by an engineer...

  12. #12
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: PPoE through wireless router

    <hr>It shows poor design and is a poor UI<hr>
    I think most users are quite happy to connect by simply opening their browser (whether IE, Firefox, Mozilla, Opera, etc.) and they are able to do exactly that. The fact that your browser of choice will not enable you to do this (or at least not do it the way you want to) would suggest that your problem may be a browser design problem rather than a router design problem. I'm also misunderstanding something else. You say that you "like to change my dynamic IP address regularly". I believe the PPPoE process itself assigns the router's IP address and then the router in turn assigns each of the networked computers addresses. I don't believe you have any control over this.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: PPoE through wireless router

    Having read through this thread a few times, I am still trying to figure out exactly what it is that you are trying to accomplish. Can you describe your current network setup in detail and try to clarify your need(s)?
    -Mark

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    963
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: PPoE through wireless router

    When I was connection to the net straight through the DSL modem, all I had to do to connect was click on a desktop icon. That bought up the connect screen. I click connect and voila, I was online. If I wanted to terminate the connection, all I had to do was right click on the icon in the tray and I was disconnected. Simple and straight-forward.

    As described above, with this router, I have to open a browser instance, wait for it to paint, enter the account name "root", then click connect, then wait 5 seconds or more for it to paint, then close the browser/tab instance. Same process required to disconnect.

    If anyone thinks that the second example is simpler or that this is what most users want, then I think you don't know what most users want. The only people who would want the 2nd example are those that don't know any better.

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: PPoE through wireless router

    Most users don't "want" to constantly disconnect and recommect their DSL connection. Those that do usually prefer a physical disconnection.

    I do understand that you are frustrated by this change in behaviour, but your requirement is very unusual. Why do you need to do this? Maybe we can find an alternative way to solve your underlying need.

    StuartR

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •