Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Boot-up problems

    Been having a problem booting my computer. Many times when starting the process the screensaver comes up but many of the desktop icons don't complete and mouse hour glass doesn't disappear. The computer locks up and the only way to restart is to disconnect power and restart. Have also been getting numerous "kernel32.dll" faults while attempting to use various application software (Quicken). I have been able to circumvent some of the faults if I "end task" Opware32. I have run maintenance but without success in fixing this problem. I'm not experienced in troubleshooting computer problems and also new to the forum. Thank you any help.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot-up problems

    Welcome to The Lounge. It could be serious enough to require a re-install of the OS (over-the-top, so you wouldn't lose data or software). But before going any further, have you run a Scandisk on the drive to see what it finds? How about up to date antivirus software? Lastly, do you have any of the "popular" malware removal software you can run? If not, <!post=check this thread.,385669>check this thread.<!/post> We need to assess what your "conditions" are before going any further.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot-up problems

    Welcome to the lounge airboss. It seems that first of all we need to get your system to a point where you can actually do something! First of all, boot into safe mode (continually press F8 as the computer is starting, then choose 'safe mode' from the list that appears. It may take a few attempts to do this.)

    Once the computer has (hopefully!) booted into windows in safe mode go to the start button, and select 'Run'. In the run box, type in 'msconfig.exe' and press enter. You'll see another window with several tabs along the top, select the right-hand one (startup) where you'll find a list of ticked boxes. Try removing the ticks from most of these entries & rebooting, then let us know what happens and then we can take it from there.
    <font color=448800><font face="Comic Sans MS"><big>Lyra J </font color=448800></font face=comic></big>
    <img src=/S/flags/UK.gif border=0 alt=UK width=30 height=18> Ducking the arrows in Robin Hood country <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Lyra_J_sig.gif ALT="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!" title="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!">

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot-up problems

    Thanks for your input. I deleted 10 of 21 items on the startup tab. I guess I could have deleted more but was afraid they might be neccessary for startup. Once rebooted I saw little difference in operation. If it will help I can provide a list of what is left on the startup tab.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot-up problems

    Please, that would be very handy. Incidentally, did the system boot into safe mode ok, or did you still experience a lot of slowdown?

    <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>
    <font color=448800><font face="Comic Sans MS"><big>Lyra J </font color=448800></font face=comic></big>
    <img src=/S/flags/UK.gif border=0 alt=UK width=30 height=18> Ducking the arrows in Robin Hood country <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Lyra_J_sig.gif ALT="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!" title="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!">

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot-up problems

    I know you're busy with important stuff, but when you come back, take a peek at <!post=this thread,453218>this thread<!/post> in the Test Forum for what I hope is lighthearted.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot-up problems

    Yes, the system booted into safemode just fine and after observing several start-ups it does seem to start a bit faster than before. The items still checked in startup are; scan registry, system tray, oemrunonce, _hazafibb, ccapp, symantec core lc, urllstck.exe, symantec net driver monimsr, omnipage, state mgr, and scheduling agent. I believe we might be on the right track and that if I delete a few more of the items not needed in startup the problem might fix itself.

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot-up problems

    Thanks for that. I think you're right. Try unticking oemrunonce, _hazafibb, URLLstck.exe & omnipage & see how that goes.
    <font color=448800><font face="Comic Sans MS"><big>Lyra J </font color=448800></font face=comic></big>
    <img src=/S/flags/UK.gif border=0 alt=UK width=30 height=18> Ducking the arrows in Robin Hood country <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Lyra_J_sig.gif ALT="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!" title="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!">

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot-up problems

    Unticked the additional items you recommended, and had to re-tick three items that allowed me to access the secure net. With your recommendations implemented my computer seems to be back to normal speed without fault messages. Thank you so much for your help. You saved me time and $'s. <img src=/S/bow.gif border=0 alt=bow width=15 height=15>

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot-up problems

    Brilliant! Glad it's all ok. The only thing left to do now is install (if you haven't already) and run some anti-spyware programs to check that your system is clean- please see Al's earlier post in this thread for a useful link.
    <font color=448800><font face="Comic Sans MS"><big>Lyra J </font color=448800></font face=comic></big>
    <img src=/S/flags/UK.gif border=0 alt=UK width=30 height=18> Ducking the arrows in Robin Hood country <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Lyra_J_sig.gif ALT="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!" title="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!">

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot-up problems

    Sorry for the late response. Been away from the computer for a few days. I'll look at the thread that you have recommended. I've downloaded and run "spybot" along with my Norton "Internet Security". Things still working okay, however I'm getting a window on the desktop when I initially start that indicates that I'm booting in a troubleshooting mode. Can't remember the exact terminology but will pass to you when I next boot up. This window also says that I can click to not show it again. Thanks

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Boot-up problems

    That window you're seeing is because of the "work" you did in the Startup folder. Your system has some form of malware on it and Lyra's instructions have disabled it's ability to run and slow down your system, but it is still there and Windows objects to the alterations in it's programed start routine, even if part of that routine has been added by some malware. You really need to get copies of Adaware se, Spybot S&D and SpywareBlaster (all <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> utilities) and then update and run each one. SpywareBlaster doesn't remove anything, it just prevents a lot of the junk from ever getting onboard. There are links to all three and how to use each one in the post that bigaldoc linked to in his earlier post. Once you get rid of all that sttuff, you can go back into msconfig and re-enable anything that's left and that will get rid of that little window. A lot of work for one little window, but you'll be glad you did it. <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot-up problems

    Hi again. No need to worry about that little window- it appears when you make changes to MSCONFIG so that you're aware that changes have been made. As you noticed, there's a tick box to let you bypass this window- just make sure it's ticked and it won't appear again.

    Good luck with the spyware stuff!
    <font color=448800><font face="Comic Sans MS"><big>Lyra J </font color=448800></font face=comic></big>
    <img src=/S/flags/UK.gif border=0 alt=UK width=30 height=18> Ducking the arrows in Robin Hood country <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Lyra_J_sig.gif ALT="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!" title="No, Admins, no! I'm sorry, okay!">

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •