Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    San Diego, California, USA
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Error Message (2000 SR1)

    I have a project file (Project A) that when opened, requests whether macros should be enabled - and I answer 'Yes' due to a custom filter that I added, and another more recent project file (Project [img]/forums/images/smilies/cool.gif[/img] opens in addition to the original in "read-only" mode. When I tried to close Project B file I get the error message attached below. Could this be due to my creating and running macros with Project File A open in the past?

    Has anyone seen this error (attached below) before? And if so, what was the cause?

    Thank you,

    Don
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Don Liebman
    San Diego, CA 92115

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    432
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error Message (2000 SR1)

    Is you custom filter saved to the Organizer (global,mpt) as a filter object, and is it triggered by a macro that resides in another Project file? If you macro resides in another project file Project will attempt to find the macro and open the associated file to access the macro. It does not have the ability to run a macro in a closed file. If it cannot find the macro, another words the file with the macro moves you will get an error. For custom filters I usually save them as named filters to the organizer making them available to all other projects on your local PC. Then just apply them from the filter drop down in the formatting toolbar. There are also strategies to put your global.mpt file on a network to allow others access to your custom filters etc.

    Carla

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    San Diego, California, USA
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error Message (2000 SR1)

    Carla,

    My custom filter had been saved to the Global.mpt as a filter object. I do not have any references in the macro to the "Master" file in question, though. What I do not understand is that whenever I either enable macros or use Options | Macros, I am prompted to open the "Master" file, and it shows up in my Project Explorer window if I open the VBA Editor (see pic below). I am not sure how to remove the 50W Master from this Explorer window, as it will not let me remove when I right click it. I remember messing around with the macro editor when I was trying to determine all of the triggering events in MS Project for a previous question that I posted earlier.

    Any additional help would be appreciated!

    Thank you,

    Don
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Don Liebman
    San Diego, CA 92115

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    432
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error Message (2000 SR1)

    Hi Don,

    Try removing the Reference to 50Master.mpp in the Global template of the Project Explorer, then see if you can remove the Master.mpp project from the explorer window. Also you might look at Tools, Links between projects and see if you have anything there. If you want to attach a scaled down version of the Project file, I could get a better look at it.

    Carla

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    San Diego, California, USA
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error Message (2000 SR1)

    Carla,

    I renamed the Global.mpt file just so that I could continue working without having problems closing the file. Then, I restored the name of the Global file back a couple of days later due to every time I closed Project down it would prompt me to save the Global.mpt file, but the file would disappear and have to be re-saved the next time I used Project. I do not understand exactly what happened, but I also have not had the time to investigate further due to project "crunch" time that will likely last until the end of March.

    Thank you again for trying to help.

    Don
    Don Liebman
    San Diego, CA 92115

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger GARYPSWANSON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Frederick, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    1,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Error Message (2000 SR1)

    Any chance you are running via a terminal server?
    Regards,

    Gary
    (It's been a while!)

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    San Diego, California, USA
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error Message (2000 SR1)

    While I have used Citrix, I do not have access to run MSP while doing so. I have always worked on MSP while at the office, or on my local hard drive on my laptop while away from the office. I will have more time in the next week to restore my Global file again, and try to find a way to resolve this issue. I may end up asking our IT group to just re-install MSP and go through the pain of loading all of my Organizer files again.

    I am still very open to any other ideas you may have, though.

    Thanks! <img src=/S/confused3.gif border=0 alt=confused3 width=45 height=45>
    Don Liebman
    San Diego, CA 92115

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    432
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error Message (2000 SR1)

    Don,

    Reloading Project may not clear up the problem. If you reload you do not always get a new Global.mpt even if you do an uninstall first. If you go to the length of reinstalling do a search and remove any existing .mpt files prior to reinstalling. I work at a training center where they reinstall the software for new classes, and I have noticed old Global.mpt files are still there even if they do an uninstall first. Only way I can be sure of clean installs is to first eliminate all .mpt files after the uninstall, then do an install. Project looks several places for a Global.mpt file at startup. I can't remember what the list of locations is, but if it finds one in any of those locations it will use the first one it finds. According to Microsoft if it does not find one it will regenerate it's original default Global.mpt. There are some registry settings that control this and Microsoft has a strategy for editing registry keys to change the order of locations in which it looks. I tried the instructions and was not successful. I was attempting to set a Global.mpt for multiple users on a network and was successful just by setting a path in Startup with a desktop shortcut. Much simpler than going into registry settings. Good luck!
    Carla

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •