Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Splitting database (Access 2000)

    Hello,
    My question of the day is: I have a form that adjusts inventory quantities. When I split the database the form no longer works and the de###### pops up a problem with the code.

    Me.UnitsInStock = Me.UnitsInStock + Me.AdjustmentQuantity

    My Question is when I split the database and moved the application end to another machine is the code erroneous?
    Here is the whole code set:

    Private Sub cmdAdjust_Click()
    If IsNull (Me.AdjustmentQuantity) Then
    MsgBox "You didn't enter an adjustment quantity"
    Else
    Me.UnitsInStock = Me.UnitsInStock + Me.AdjustmentQuantity
    End If
    End Sub

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: Splitting database (Access 2000)

    What error message do you get?

    (Are you sure that you have linked ALL tables from the backend into the frontend?)

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Splitting database (Access 2000)

    along the lines of what Hans said, are you sure you specified the correct pathing over the network? I ran into a problem where I couldn't link tables using the mapped drive in "My Computer" (because not all computers were mapped with the same letter designation), instead I had to take the link to the file through "My Network Places" to ensure the proper path for all users.
    <img src=/w3timages/blueline.gif width=33% height=2>
    <big>John</big>

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Splitting database (Access 2000)

    Thanks for your replies. I will check to make sure all paths are mapped. Maybe I missed something.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Splitting database (Access 2000)

    Hans,
    All the tables are linked correctly. The problem I am having is that when the form loads it says that the recordset is not updatable. This is not a problem with the administrator machine, but is a problem with the other user's. I have looked at the permissions for the tables and they ( the users) should have access. Do you have any suggestions.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: Splitting database (Access 2000)

    Do the other users have full permissions on the folder containing the backend database and (if different) on the folder containing the frontend database? I mean Windows permissions, not Access permissions. Access requires that users have full permissions on the folder(s) containing the databases.

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Splitting database (Access 2000)

    Hans,
    Yes the other users do have windows permissions for the folder that contains the backend database.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: Splitting database (Access 2000)

    Yet, the fact that you don't have a problem on one machine while you do on other machines points to something in Windows that is different, not in Access.

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Splitting database (Access 2000)

    Hans,
    The front-end and the back-end are both on the Administrators machine. The other users are linking to the back-end on the administrators machine and I agree this would seem to be a problem with windows permissions/Sharing but I am pretty sure that the folder is shared that contains the back-end. If you have any other suggestions they would be very much appreciated but I will look at the folder and what permissions/sharing that it has. I appreciate your swiftness in answering my posts.

  10. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Splitting database (Access 2000)

    Hans,
    I am very sorry to waste your time. It was exactly what you said it was. It was a windows setting that allows users to change data on my machine. The folder was shared but I did not allow users to change data. Again, as always I appreciate all of your help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •