Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Whitehaven, Cumbria, United Kingdom
    Posts
    135
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    IE 6 Problems? (XP Home (SP2))

    My OS is Xp(Home) SP2 and IE 6 (all patching up to date)

    I have a number of problems, which I think may be related, which have all started recently:

    Problem 1. Attempts to use the print or print preview options through my browser (including trying in OE) always result in the same error message (see screenshot below). Print or print preview options used through my Works7 Word Processor package are okay, so I assume that there is no problem with my printer interface. I

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE 6 Problems? (XP Home (SP2))

    For problem 1, scripting errors can be a pain to sort out. See if any of the options in the preview.dll section of Shdoclc errors helps.

    You could also try to re-install the scripting engine

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Whitehaven, Cumbria, United Kingdom
    Posts
    135
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE 6 Problems? (XP Home (SP2))

    Additional bit of information. Checked the System Internals option on Spybot S&D and found following info re registry entries - not sure if there's a connection? (first of two screen shots - second shot in next message).
    Keith

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Whitehaven, Cumbria, United Kingdom
    Posts
    135
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE 6 Problems? (XP Home (SP2))

    And the second (scrolled) screen shot.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Whitehaven, Cumbria, United Kingdom
    Posts
    135
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE 6 Problems? (XP Home (SP2))

    Tony,
    Thanks for links. Have been waiting to see if anyone else had any ideas, but it looks like I'm on my own. I'll report back here if I manage to resolve the issues on my own (not very likely I'm afraid). Cheers!
    Keith

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: IE 6 Problems? (XP Home (SP2))

    Hi Keith,

    You're never on your own when you're in the Lounge. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    You didn't mention what AV program and which firewall you are running. I noticed several references to Symantec in your Spybot Screenshots, all seem to indicate that the program is no longer able to check for Live Updates or has been removed or disabled. You also appear to have an inordinate number of items that are no longer present or not linked to anything in particular because a shared .dll file is missing. Can you shed some light on these isues ?? Have you removed and / or attempted to disable any programs lately and can you confirm that you are uninstalling programs properly and not just deleting things you no longer want ?? The popup problem sounds like a firewall or AV program is getting between you and the popups and preventing them, sort of, from loading.

    If you can provide a little more information, I'll try to point you in the right direction.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Whitehaven, Cumbria, United Kingdom
    Posts
    135
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE 6 Problems? (XP Home (SP2))

    Hi Doc and thanks for the reassurance - I was beginning to feel a bit lonely!

    I had some problems with Norton about six months ago and had to uninstall/reinstall Norton (Symantec) Internet Security package - suspect that that's where the hang overs came from. Anyway, I took a deep breath yesterday and let Spybot clear them all up for me! They've all now been deleted and, although I still have all the original problems I noted, nothing else seems amiss, so I'm fairly confident that I'm not missing them, or that they are related to the original problems.

    I'm running Norton Internet Security package and using Norton firewall with the MS one switched off. Norton Anti-virus is running and the whole package has been performing A-OK for long time - Live updates working fine. MS security centre acknowledges that I've Norton firewall and Norton anti-virus running.

    Only ever use the correct install/uninstall options provided with XP OS - The only prog that I have recently installed/uninstalled is the one mentioned in original posting (Memory Map) - I think this is probably a red-herring. Anyway, uninstalling it hasn't made any difference.

    Agree with your comment re pop-up blocking, but not sure why it should suddenly become a problem having been perfectly okay until recently (that's why I mentioned the 9 x MS critical downloads I performed). Anyway, I've tried turning pop-up blocking off (tools - popup blocker - turn off pop up blocker) but it makes no difference - I get the popup screen but it's blank. I've also tried changing the popup blocker settings to allow my home site (*.wanadoo.co.uk) - again, this allows the popup screen, but it's blank)).

    I'm at a loss (I usually am with anything to do with computers!) so would be grateful for any ideas/pointers you might have.

    Thanks,
    Keith

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: IE 6 Problems? (XP Home (SP2))

    Hey Keith,

    Ok, we can eliminate Norton from this situation. For now..... <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> take a look here and see if admin matt's solution in post 4 is something you might be comfortable with trying or if you think the issue he is trying to solve even relates to your problem. These script things can be a bear, but can be resolved. Let's see what we can do. It may have to do with the MS downloads and perhaps just using System Restore and reverting to a time before your problem began (if that's still possible) might resolve the issue.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: IE 6 Problems? (XP Home (SP2))

    What other add ins do you have for IE running, i.e., Google bar, Yahoo and etc, the all seem to have a blocker with them?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Whitehaven, Cumbria, United Kingdom
    Posts
    135
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE 6 Problems? (XP Home (SP2))

    Doc, Dave,

    Doc: Anything to do with the registry is way out of my league, believe me! Although, I could manage the "rundll32.exe iedkcs32.dll,clear" that is in the previous post (but why?), but think I'll hang fire on that and try something a bit simpler first (see below).

    Dave, The only addition I have in IE is the Yahoo toolbar - I have a separate e-mail account on Yahoo and use the toolbar as a quick way of "signing in". I've had the toolbar loaded for nearly a year now and it hasn't (as far as I know) caused any problems in the past - however, I'm open to suggestions.

    Before I do anything that I might have trouble understanding (!) I think it might be best if I do a system restore and try and go back to before I downloaded the MS critical patches (9 Feb) - Question; do you think I should uninstall the MS critical patches before I do the restore? My thinking is a) I could then see if anything was different before I did the restore, and [img]/forums/images/smilies/cool.gif[/img] after doing the restore, MS database would recognise that I didn't have the patches loaded and offer them up again. What do you think?

    Thanks for help and suggestions, much appreciated.
    Keith

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: IE 6 Problems? (XP Home (SP2))

    I have a client that was having a printing problem from FedEx and it turned out to be the Pop up Blocker that comes with Yahoo tool bar.
    Attached Images Attached Images

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE 6 Problems? (XP Home (SP2))

    If you do a system restore, the patches WILL be removed without you doing anything else. As long as you can find a restore point going to BEFORE the added patches. ( Feb 9 ).
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  13. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Whitehaven, Cumbria, United Kingdom
    Posts
    135
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE 6 Problems? (XP Home (SP2))

    Thanks one and all. I'll try and find a restore point prior to 9th Feb, do a restore and see what comes! I'll post results here in due course. Many thanks.

    By the way, my Yahoo toolbar doesn't have the pop-up blocker icon - I loaded the toolbar way back and haven't bothered to update it. But, just to cover all the bases, I'll uninstall the toolbar anyway before I do the restore. Fingers crossed!!
    Keith

  14. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Whitehaven, Cumbria, United Kingdom
    Posts
    135
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE 6 Problems? (XP Home (SP2))

    Doc, Tony, Dave and Bob,

    Success!!! But only after two restores!!! Went back to 6th Feb restore point and all the problems were still there - In desperation, I decided to go back to 20th Jan, not really expecting anything to change as the 6th Feb hadn't. But, lo and behold, everything seems to be working normally again. The script error has gone and I can now use my print facility through my browser; my e-mail address book and spell checker are working again and, finally, I don't get any more blank screens when I click on links!
    The only problem is that I don't know what caused the problems in the first place! And, I have a number of MS critical patches that I need to download again now - might I cause the problems to resurface I wonder? I think I'll give it a good 24 hours before I do anything else!
    Anyway, for now I'm back up and running and feeling pretty good after several days of despondency.
    Thank you all for seeing me through the problems - I'll repost if I get any subsequent problems as result of MS critcal patches downloads.
    If anyone can come up with any ideas/educated guesses as to probable causes I'd be most grateful.

    Keith <img src=/S/bow.gif border=0 alt=bow width=15 height=15>

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,584
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: IE 6 Problems? (XP Home (SP2))

    Try applying the patches one at a time. That way if one of the patches is a problem you'll be able to easily identify it.

    Joe
    Joe

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •