Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Access Runtime 2003 misbehaves? (2003)

    If I select Jan 15 2005 and then Jan 16 2005 in the calendar on the startup form of the attached mdb, the pspol text box displays its value correctly.
    If I open the same file on a pc that has only the Access 2003 run-time installed, the same procedure makes the pspol text box display #Name.
    Could it be caused by in improper run-time installation?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: Access Runtime 2003 misbehaves? (2003)

    I don't have Access 2003 or a runtime version of Access, so I can't test, but I notice that your database is corrupt (like previopus databases you posted). It is probably a good idea to create a new blank database and import all database objects into it. Don't forget to set startup options and VBA references.

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access Runtime 2003 misbehaves? (2003)

    Thank you Hans,
    I've created a new blank database and imported all database objects into it(please see attachment) but the problem still remains.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: Access Runtime 2003 misbehaves? (2003)

    As I wrote, I don't have Access Runtime, so I can't test.

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access Runtime 2003 misbehaves? (2003)

    Hans, I've found out the problem lies in the fact I've set English in Control Panel Regional Settings while all other pc's have Italian set but I don't see what I could change that would prevent #Name from appearing in the PSPOL text box.
    Do you have the same problem if you open the file using Dutch settings rather than English ones?

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: Access Runtime 2003 misbehaves? (2003)

    On my system with Dutch settings, I get #Name if I select a date outside the range from January 1 to February 15, 2005. It seems to be the old "Track Name AutoCorrect Info" problem: if I turn this off in the General tab of Tools | Options..., the problem goes away. You should ALWAYS turn off "Track Name AutoCorrect Info" in ALL databases. It is a known source of problems.

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access Runtime 2003 misbehaves? (2003)

    You must be luckier than I am my friend <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> because I've turned off Track name AutoCorrect info but the pesky #Name? keeps on appearing.
    Does the pspol text box behave if you open the attached mdb using Dutch settings?

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sint Niklaas, Belgium
    Posts
    2,778
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access Runtime 2003 misbehaves? (2003)

    Giorgo,

    With Belgium settings I get the error also.
    I change the default value of the textbox PSPOL to :
    =93/100
    and this seems to get rid of the error.
    Do you have SP1 ?
    I don't and will download it now and post back if it change something.
    Francois

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access Runtime 2003 misbehaves? (2003)

    Yes Francois, I do have SP1.
    I'm afraid the default value of the PSPOL text box cannot be a constant.
    Plus I've noticed that turning off Track name AutoCorrect info messes up the content of the CNTME text box on the startup form.

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: Access Runtime 2003 misbehaves? (2003)

    I get the error in the current one. It worked OK for a while in the previous database you attached, but the error returns after a while. As Francois noted, it is connected with the code setting the default value. Try changing the line

    Me.PSPOL.DefaultValue = lkup2

    to

    Me.PSPOL.DefaultValue = Chr(34) & lkup2 & Chr(34)

  11. #11
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access Runtime 2003 misbehaves? (2003)

    That's another piece of magic Hans! Thank you.
    Now #Name? only appears upon opening the form but clicking on any day that has a record to it clears it and the error doesn't appear even if you then select a day with no record underneath.
    Any chance to avoid displaying #Name? upon opening the form?

  12. #12
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alzano Lombardo, Italy
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access Runtime 2003 misbehaves? (2003)

    Clearing it did the trick, thank you so much Hans.

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: Access Runtime 2003 misbehaves? (2003)

    Try clearing the Default Value property of PSPOL in the Properties window, or enter a dummy value such as 0.

  14. #14
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sint Niklaas, Belgium
    Posts
    2,778
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access Runtime 2003 misbehaves? (2003)

    Hans,

    Just came to the same conclusion as you.
    Anny idea why a numeric default value has to be surrounded by double quotes ?
    Francois

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: Access Runtime 2003 misbehaves? (2003)

    From the online help for Access 2002:
    <hr><big>DefaultValue Property</big>

    Specifies a String value that is automatically entered in a field when a new record is created.

    ...

    In Visual Basic, use a string expression to set the value of this property. For example, the following code sets the DefaultValue property for a text box control named PaymentMethod to "Cash":

    <code>Forms!frmInvoice!PaymentMethod.DefaultValu e = """Cash"""</code><hr>
    So you must always specify the Default Property as a string (note the double quotes around Cash). If you forget that, it will still be OK in many cases, but Giorgio has run into a situation where it causes an error.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •