Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    208
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Best way to use iPAQ for maps

    I recently purchased my first PDA, an HP iPAQ rx3115that runs Windows Mobile 2003. One of the reasons I purchased it was so that I would have a way to take maps wioth me when I travel. What is the best method to use my iPAQ for viewing maps? I know that Microsoft has a pocket pc version of its MS Streets & Maps but I'm not sure I want to use that. The reason for my hesitation is that a co-worker told me they bought a prior version of this product, probably the 2002 or 2003 edition, and that it was really not much more then a viewer. He had to download to the PDA in advance the maps of the areas he was going to and he had to have the MS Streets and Maps desktop edition in order to use the pocket PC version. And so the total cost wes a lot more then the originally advertised cost of just the pocket pc product. Now maybe things have changed with the more recent versions of the program but if it hasn't I really am not interested in paying around $60 just to get maps on my PDA when I can print them out from mapquest.

    Any thoungts that anyone can offer on how best to use my PDA for viewinig maps would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks
    Ed

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Best way to use iPAQ for maps

    Ed

    My friend recently bought a bluetooth GPS system for his Ipaq as he travels a lot around the UK, you know the type " Turn left in 0.6 miles" etc. He is travelling off to Germany and Holland next week and it has been supplied with Motorways and A roads. It has a great map utility. Is that the type of thing you were looking for? If so I can get some details from him and pass them onto you. The whole package including car kit and extra country software cost UKP
    Jerry

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Best way to use iPAQ for maps

    If you have the money then I would strongly recommend buying a GPS solution. I use Pocket Co-Pilot with my iPaq and it has been really good, I have a colleague who swears his TomTom is better. These do cost more than just buying maps - but they are worth every penny.

    I have tried using Pocket Streets, but the usability fell below my personal tolerance threshold!

    StuartR

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    208
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Best way to use iPAQ for maps

    Stuart,
    Thanks for the leads but what I

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Best way to use iPAQ for maps

    Ed,

    Understood, but I have never come across a decent product of this type for the Pocket PC.

    Good luck in your search, please post back here if you find a product you like.

    StuartR

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Best way to use iPAQ for maps

    I haven't tried it lately, but one of the bigger map sites used to have a 'download to PDA' option. It was either Mapquest or Mapblast. When I used it, it was useful enough for my purposes.
    Christopher Baldrey

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    257
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Best way to use iPAQ for maps

    Ed,

    Sorry this won't help you, but for anyone in the UK with this requirement there is PocketStreetMap http://www.pocketstreetmap.com

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Best way to use iPAQ for maps

    I now use the Navman GPS for my iPAQ, but what I did before I bought that, was to use MapPoint. I found my route, and then printed it out into Adobe. I then installed Adobe Reader to the iPAQ and voila. I had my map. Of course this solution requires MapPoint, and Adobe Acrobat, and Adobe Reader for Pocket PC.
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Paragould, Arkansas, USA
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Best way to use iPAQ for maps

    t8nt,
    Depending on the detail you're going for, I have saved web pages: Mapquest>view [map] image>save file to Pocket_PC My Documents, and load the web-page to view in Pocket IE. This works great for Geocaching locations. Same thing with JPEGs (Set your map software to the desired view, PrintScreen, process it to 72 dpi JPEG, and save.

    No, it's not "live" maps, but it's less of a memory load than Adobe Reader.

    Errol

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Best way to use iPAQ for maps

    What a Great idea... to utter those forgotten words... "Now Why Didn't I Think of That"
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Best way to use iPAQ for maps

    I know this is an old thread, but I just got a Pocket PC a week ago. Could you be more specific as to the steps to load the web page. I have saved pages to Mobil Favoites, a subfolder of Favorites, on my PC. However, despite the fact that ActiveSync says it has sync'd folders, I can't find these pages anywhere on my PC. Also, despite Help saying I should open Pocket IE & click the "star", there is no "star" or favorites on the Pocket PC.
    Thanks in advance,

  12. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Paragould, Arkansas, USA
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Best way to use iPAQ for maps

    Phil,
    "Old Thread" is really now a reference for people who use Search instead of starting a question over!

    This is how you physically put the web page onto your Pocket PC.

    On your browser, use the "File>Save", or "File>Save Page As...", or even Ctrl-S, to save a web page. Save it into an easy-to-get-to location. You should see two files there: WebPage Title<span style="background-color: #FFFF00; color: #000000; font-weight: bold">.htm</span hi> and a folder called WebPage Title<span style="background-color: #FFFF00; color: #000000; font-weight: bold">_Files</span hi>. Open the Pocket_PC My Documents folder that Active Sync has on your desktop. Choose a folder, or make one, for Web-Page files. Copy/paste the TWO files together into the Pocket_PC folder. (Note: you can't save a web page directly into the Active Sync shortcut on your desktop.)

    Sync with your iPAQ.

    On your iPAQ, first open File Explorer (Not Internet Explorer), and navigate to the folder you put the web page files. Tap to open the WebPage Title.htm, and it will come up in the iPAQ's Internet Explorer. I don't have iPAQ internet access, so I don't get workable links on the iPAQ web page. But, as a way to save pages for later reference, this works fine.

    Errol

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Best way to use iPAQ for maps

    Hi Errol:
    Thank you very much. I've never been afraid to ask dumb questions, so I appreciate the answer. <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> It's amazing how much you take for granted. I didn't even know there was a File Explorer on my Pocket PC, as it wasn't listed on my Start Menu. Am I correct that the ONLY files that PPC will sync are those in the Pocket_PC My Documents folder & any other specific file that you add?

    I'm still a little confused. At some point during installation of Active Sync, a Mobile Favorites folder was added to Favorites (I don't think I did it myself). I just placed a shortcut of Mobile Favorites into Pocket_PC My Documents. Then I ran the sync. It found 3 unresolved items in Favorites. There were 3 html files in Mobil Favorites. It sync'd them. Then I searched the PPC for "Penninsula" (one of the pages was named Penninsula.htm), but it came out blank. I know this is a little different than your method, but do you know why this didn't work?

    P.S. I now think I know what happened, but you can verify or clarify if I have this wrong.
    1. Finder doesn't search Pocket IE files. It won't even find the Favorites folder. When I searched for Penninsula (map to a restaurant from MapQuest), Finder couldn't locate it. Neither could File Explorer. I guess they only search limited locations.
    2. When I browsed to the map from my desktop PC, I specifcally clicked a link, save to PDA. This took me to an AvantGo page, where I downloaded (but didn't install, AvantGo). Somehow I saved the map as a gif or htm file & can view it in Pocket IE (although I don't connect to the web via the PDA.) The only way I found it was to open Pocket IE, click Favorites, & select it from the list.

    LATER: #2 is wrong. If you use IE on your PC & go to MapBlast, they have a link "Save to Pocket PC". You click that, go to Tools/Create Mobile Favorite & then sync. It copies numerous files because sync said there were 7 unresolved files under Favorites. This must have been Chris' solution from <post#=458328>post 458328</post: >
    Thanks again,

  14. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Paragould, Arkansas, USA
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Best way to use iPAQ for maps

    Phil,
    You know the old saw that "There ain't no such thing as a dumb question" truly applies in the Lounge. (I was thinking "I was helping Phil Rabichow?!?!)

    I'm glad you were able to answer your own questions. I rarely use Windows' Favorites system for anything. Also, I assumed Pocket PC's Finder was similar to Windows' Search. (I do use Finder to locate calendar events and contacts.)

    Loading Internet map pages to an iPAQ is a great way to have them handy when you're travelling.

    <img src=/S/whisper.gif border=0 alt=whisper width=29 height=17> Pocket IE has three View>Layouts (lower left corner):
    One Column squeezes everything, including images, into a column the width of the screen.
    Default is similar, but page elements could be smaller (for the tiny screen compared to a monitor)
    Desktop keeps everything at "normal" size, meaning you'll need to scroll all over (vert & horiz) to see the whole web page, but you can see image details.

    Errol

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Best way to use iPAQ for maps

    Thanks again for this additional information. Yes, I've learned that the

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •