Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,360
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Using Acronis True Iamge (XP Pro SP-2)

    I'm just now looking at True Image...

    I want to do backups to DVD... but the backup won't start. It keeps kicking out asking for a dvd.

    I've used these dvd's with both Norton and NTI, so they should be OK... what might the problem be here?

    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Using Acronis True Iamge (XP Pro SP-2)

    I don't use DVDs, but have you looked here: Acronis True Image 8.0 :: FAQ ? (At the bottom of the page is a list of what you NEED to do.)

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,360
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Using Acronis True Iamge (XP Pro SP-2)

    Al:

    I (embarrassedly) lose track of the + and - R's, but, they talk about formatting "+R's"... I thought +r was "write once", and if you format, isn't that "once"?

    No matter really, since I don't have Roxio anyway. UDF packet writing? Seems that the "back up to DVD is still in the works for a lot of companies, so we still need the 00's of CD's with today's big drives...

    BTW, I back up to a second hard drive already... Have you ever heard of losing both drives in a crash? Don't know, that's why I often get the jitters and want to back it up "off-site" as well...

    Thanks for the help, though.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Using Acronis True Iamge (XP Pro SP-2)

    <hr>...I back up to a second hard drive already... <hr>
    Then you might want to take a look at <!post=this post,343720>this post<!/post> and there's probably others still in The Lounge. I have three such backup drives and rotate them whenever I do a backup.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,360
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Using Acronis True Iamge (XP Pro SP-2)

    Al:

    I'm fast reaching the conclusion that that is the real way to go... I'll have to look into setting something like that up... And till then just kinda make do...

    Thanks
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Using Acronis True Iamge (XP Pro SP-2)

    Believe me, you won't regret it if you do set something in place. The racks and trays are cheap enough that it's almost like having hard drives "ad infinitum." All you have to do is dedicate one of your four IDE connections to a tray and buy as many drives and spare trays as you think you need. Of my three rotate'ers, I keep one in the machine, one upstairs and the oldest one at my son's home, so I've always been covered.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,360
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Using Acronis True Iamge (XP Pro SP-2)

    Al:

    Sounds like a plan.

    Thanks.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •