Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger pauliez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    493
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Cable internet down speed

    I am not sure if I am on the right forum for this, but I would like to know ...can a PC have an effect on the down of my cable internet speed? I have comcast cable internet and as of the 18th of jan. my internet surfing has slowed down very much. I have gone to many speed test and have seen speeds from 473kbs to 2.6 Mbs. comcast has told me that the promised speed is 4 Mbs. They came out here and spent 4 hours doing test after test and told me that the reason my speed is so slow is because the "down stream is too high." They said that someone has to go out to the line to ajust the signal so that I have the correct speed. So far my surfing has not changed much. If they could only get it back to what it was before the 18th of jan. They gave me a $10 credit for the next 12 months, but I would rather have the speeds I used to have. Can someone help me with this mater? any and all advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Catz

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Cable internet down speed

    Well, after you and your cable tech guy spending that much time analyzing, I don't think there's anything I can add. Did "they" promise to send someone out to "adjust" your signal? I guess you would have said so if you're experiencing any other slowness in performance of the machine, i.e. the OS. But just for the heck of it, you have run an AV and scumware check, haven't you?

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Cable internet down speed

    I agree with Al - the first thing is to insure your system is clean of resource hogging adware using a complete arsenal of tools. I use AdAware, SpyBot and MS AntiSpyware to rid my systems of adware (trying to stick to Brian Livingston's desire to stop using the word "spyware"). Then I scan using an AV and anti-Trojan scanners. Is there another computer you can bring in and try?

    Do you live on the edge of the boonies? With cable, you do share bandwidth with neighbors - I suspect either new subscribers joined you or they have latency issues with current equipment. The solution (on paper) is simple - fix their equipment or just put a bigger pipe out your way. Assuming the equipment is fine, It sounds like your ISP would rather give you a discount than add a bigger pipe - which is not always as simple in reality as it looks on paper. More neighbors complaining may help motivate them. You might be in one of those situations where DSL offers the better service - that will depend on how close to the switch you live - and how much you are willing to pay for extra bandwidth.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger pauliez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    493
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Cable internet down speed

    Thanks Bigaldoc and Bill_bright for your reply. It was an adjustment of the signal. Now I am getting speeds of 3.5Mbs to 3.9Mbs. Before they adjusted the signal I did Spy ware, Adware, SpyBot, NAV, AVG, Stinger, SFC, CWS,ScanDisk, Defrag on a daily basis. Oh I left out allot of swearing and cursing at the cable company, my PC and the cat. (He still loves me).
    Catz

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Cable internet down speed

    <hr>Thanks Bigaldoc and Bill_bright for your reply. It was an adjustment of the signal. Now I am getting speeds of 3.5Mbs to 3.9Mbs. Before they adjusted the signal I did Spy ware, Adware, SpyBot, NAV, AVG, Stinger, SFC, CWS,ScanDisk, Defrag on a daily basis. Oh I left out allot of swearing and cursing at the cable company, my PC and the cat. (He still loves me).

    Pauliez <hr>
    Ahh, the old "adjustment of the signal" routine, huh? I always wonder what adjustments they make to digital signals. <img src=/S/confused3.gif border=0 alt=confused3 width=45 height=45>

    True story this very morning - about 8:10 this am the wife says she can't get out. I check my systems, I can't get out. I looked at the cable modem and I have PC and Power light, no Cable or Data light. I rebooted the cable modem (you know that will have you do that) same thing. Called up Cox Communications and I was talking to a live body (Bob) within about 2 minutes (pretty good!). He can't see my modem. Reboot, still can't see my modem. Checks neighbors and of the 8 cable users in my neighborhood, he can't see 3. So he wrote up a ticket to send a tech out.

    5 minutes later! - I hear email coming in! About 10 minutes later, a tech drives up. I went out and asked him what he did. "Nothing"! I called back Bob at the help desk and asked what he found. "Nothing!".

    But I was so pleased with the rapid response, I just laughed and said told him thanks.

    What can you do? At any rate, thanks for the followup and I am glad you got it going.

    A couple things about your list of badguy fighers. I see NAV and AVG. You should not have two anti-virus programs "in resident" at the same time. You can have one shielding full time, then call up the other "on demand" (after disabling the first) for a manual scan.

    Also, I do not see a firewall. You should use ZoneAlarm, Sygate, or some other 3rd Party firewall - not the one that comes with Windows. And use only one firewall too.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger pauliez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    493
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Cable internet down speed

    Thanks for the reply Bill_bright. I have Zone Alarm and only have NAV working in the background. I use all three AV's to keep each one honest. The cable is so fast now that I am afraid to blink for fear I will miss something. I have another problem that maybe you can advise on. I have two separate hotmail e-mail accounts on two different browsers. One is on IE and the other is on Netscape. It seems that every 24 hours I have to re-enter my password to get to my e-mail. I have contacted MSN and they say it is my browser. I can't understand how I can have the same problem on two different browsers. I have short cuts to each of these e-mail accounts and in the past whenever I wanted to go to these e-mail accounts all I had to do was click on it's short cut. I have not gotten back to MSN because everthing they advised me to do did not cure the problem. Have you heard of any one having the same problem?
    Catz

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Cable internet down speed

    Hi Pauliez - thanks for the reply.

    As for your other problem, since it is a different problem, and it does not fall into the Networking your Home category, I think it would be best it you open a new thread over in Other Browsers & Email Clients . There, folks who use both Netscape and IE browsers (I don't) will readily see your post and I am sure be able to help you.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •