Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Troubleshooting Images (Frontpage 2003)

    I'm new to Frontpage (I'm using the Easy Frontpage picture book) and trying to build a web site.

    All the images appear in the design mode, but when I preview the page in the browser, many of the images have been replaced by boxes with a red X in the corner.

    Is this some kind of formatting error?

    Any help would be most appreciated.

    Thanks.

    Neal

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Troubleshooting Images (Frontpage 2003)

    Are these ordinary image files (.jpg, .gif, .png, etc.), inserted straight into the page, or do they use any special effects? If it's the latter, you could be running into this: Windows XP SP2 and/or a subsequent security patch has limited the use of ActiveX controls from your own computer. However, if they are "just images," then your browser preview definitely should match your FrontPage preview.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Troubleshooting Images (Frontpage 2003)

    Thank you for your response.

    They're ordinary .jpgs.

    I'm not using any special effects, but they are in a 3 row x9 column table/frame. The puzzling part is that some of the images in the same table appear. But many don't.

    Neal

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Troubleshooting Images (Frontpage 2003)

    While trying to pinpoint the source of the problematic images, I've learned that the images that don't appear in the preview mode in position in a table also don't appear when they're free-standing images outside of the table.

    According to Paint Shop Pro, the image information for visible and invisible images is the same.

    Can anyone help me solve this mystery? I don't know what else to do.

    Thanks.

    Neal

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Troubleshooting Images (Frontpage 2003)

    This is getting worse and worse. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> If you View Source on the page you're previewing, can you see any problems with the way FrontPage has translated the path and file name?

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Troubleshooting Images (Frontpage 2003)

    Thank you for hanging in. And for your encouragement.

    <<If you View Source on the page you're previewing, can you see any problems with the way FrontPage has translated the path and file name?>>

    If you mean the source code (such as what I can see in the Code or Split views), they look okay to me. But then I have no idea what I'm looking at. Other than the image file names, that is.

    In the hope that you know what you're looking at, I've excerpted the code for the image that is visible (bone.jpg) and the one
    next to it that doesn't (Brass Tags - 1f.jpg).

    I tried to attach a screen capture, but I think a cookies problem prevented it. I just can't seem to get these images to appear anywhere.

    I appreciate your help.


    <td width="90" style="border-style: none; border-width: medium">
    <p align="center">
    [img]Shapes - Bone.jpg[/img]</td>
    <td width="68" style="border-style: none; border-width: medium">
    <p align="center">
    [img]Brass Tags - 1f.jpg[/img]</td>

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Troubleshooting Images (Frontpage 2003)

    One thing that could be an issue, although not for Windows-based web servers, is that spaces in file or folder names can cause problems. An underscore character (_) makes an acceptable replacement.

    But here you have two file names with spaces, one of which works and one of which doesn't. I don't see the problem. I do think it's a bit strange that FP has made the table cell the same size as the second image, rather than using a uniform size. You can see the widths of the cells in the TD tag. I don't know if that could cause a problem, but you could do an experiment: save your page as a new page, then select the table, right-click, choose Cell Properties, and make all the column widths Automatic (this may involve clearing or unchecking checkboxes) so that they resize themselves to fit their contents. Does that work any better?

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    159
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Troubleshooting Images (Frontpage 2003)

    <<You can see the widths of the cells in the TD tag.>>

    I'm not sure what the TD tag is. I'm certain it'll be something painfully obvious, but what does TD stand for?

    <<...you could do an experiment: save your page as a new page, then select the table, right-click, choose Cell Properties, and make all the column widths Automatic (this may involve clearing or unchecking checkboxes) so that they resize themselves to fit their contents. Does that work any better?>>

    I tried to follow the steps you outlined, but I didn't see anything about cell widths in Cell Properties. I tried unchecking everything and letting the horizontal and vertical alignments work with default . But nothing happened to the table.

    Did I miss some steps?

    Thanks.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Troubleshooting Images (Frontpage 2003)

    Tags are the items in <angle brackets> so I was referring to <TD width="some-number"> as the "TD tags" where you could see the width being set.

    Unfortunately, I have FrontPage 2002, so if your dialogs do not refer to setting cell widths (column widths?) I don't know where to point you. Of course, you can switch to the HTML page and manually change or delete the width attributes in the TD tags, but please make a backup first.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •