Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,560
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Modem installation

    I use a Packard-Bell multimedia computer, Pentium 266 MHz, and I'm still using its original 33.6 kbps modem. If this machine conforms with what I've seen on other P-B products, the modem is built onto the motherboard and it's probably a "winmodem." I've finally bought a new 56K v90 modem, and I'm eager to install it. However, I remember the problems I had installing a new modem on an old 486 P-B computer I used to own. After I'd installed the new modem, the new modem and the old modem got to duking it out over ports and IRQs. To disable the old modem, I had to call Packard-Bell's tech support shop. (I had to pay for their advice, BTW). I remember this guy took me into DOS and had me monkey around with some secret-squirrel files. This time, I don't think Packard-Bell is even around to help. (Didn't they turn out the lights and lock the door at P-B?) My new modem is a U.S. Robotics (3Com) product, and not a Winmodem--I sprang for a good one this time. What I'm looking for is some good advice from someone who knows what he/she's talking about before I get deep into the installation process. The simple-easy-to-follow instructions make it sound too easy, for one thing, but the first thing the instructions say to do is to remove my old modem. Well, I can't do that when the modem is on the motherboard--I have to remove it "virtually." Suggestions, anyone? <img src=/S/help.gif border=0 alt=help width=23 height=15>

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern, California, USA
    Posts
    1,886
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Modem installation

    Did Pack Bell go under? <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15> I'm sitting in thier old building right now! <img src=/S/rofl.gif border=0 alt=rofl width=15 height=15>

    can't help you with your issue, but I suspect that's why the company went under. Thier backwards design offered them no respect or recognition from the Technical Community, all thanks to thier bas-ackwards design...

    Best of luck to ya!
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kel_sig.gif>
    Moderator:<font color=448800> Pix Place, Internet Explorer</font color=448800>
    <small>www.kvisions.com

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,560
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Modem installation

    Thanks for the reply! So...what's going on in the old P-B building? And wasn't P-B linked with NEC in some way? From what I've read, times is bad in the PC manufacturing world--the smart money says eMachines has only a few months to live. Those guys seem to have picked up where P-B left off. Sorry you're fresh outta tips for my situation, but that's OK--I'll just back up my registry before I start, say a prayer or two and jump in. Thanks!

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern, California, USA
    Posts
    1,886
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Modem installation

    I had that problem WAYYYY back in the day... Somehow, we were able to disable the on-board modem. (There is most likely a switch in there somewhere to turn it off...)

    Pacard Bell was affiliated with NEC, I believe there may still be support on the web somewhere, you might try searching for them from your favorite search engine... Motherboard specs for your particular machine is where I'd start, see if there's a jumper in there to disable the modem, chances are, you'll find one. If not, then it's a software or BIOS modification, you might dig around in there to see if you can find anything...

    Hope this helps!
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kel_sig.gif>
    Moderator:<font color=448800> Pix Place, Internet Explorer</font color=448800>
    <small>www.kvisions.com

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,560
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Modem installation

    I appreciate your ideas, and I thank you for the prompt replies.

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,560
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Modem installation

    DrkRealm, you set me to looking on the Internet, and I found a site that I think holds the answers to my problem. For anyone else out there who needs help with a Packard Bell computer: go to "Ray's Packard Bell Web Site" (URL: <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.geocities.com/SiliconValley/Lakes/8774>http://www.geocities.com/SiliconValley/Lakes/8774</A>). It looks as though "Ray" hasn't done a lot with the site since Pack Bell tanked, but the stuff that's there is well-researched and quite useful. There's even a section on "disabling the internal modem"! Seems Ray is to Pack Bell what Woody Leonard is to Microsoft--he maintained a love/hate relationship with the computer manufacturer till the bitter end.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern, California, USA
    Posts
    1,886
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Modem installation

    Great Find! <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kel_sig.gif>
    Moderator:<font color=448800> Pix Place, Internet Explorer</font color=448800>
    <small>www.kvisions.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •