Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,560
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Report parameter problem (2003)

    We have a split database that we use to recommend changes (edits) to a collection of military publications. The editors use a form based on the tblEdits table. The first field calls for the publication number (3.0, 3.01, 3.02, 3.05, 350-XX). Then there are fields for the chapter number, page number, and line number. Then I created a report to display all the edits the editors have recommended. The datasource for this report is qryEdits. I put a parameter on the Publication field so the user can specify which publication's edits to display in the report. In the parameter box, I can enter "3.0", and the report displays only the edits we've recommended for that publication.

    The problem: If we enter 3.01 or 3.05, we get "Formatting page, press Ctrl + Break to stop...." But the report never comes up. It works fine for 3.0 (which produces a 6-page report), 3.02 (a 1-page blank report, i.e., no edits), or 350-XX (a 1-page report with a handful of edits). Furthermore, on the form, I can right-click in the Publication field and Filter-by-selection or "Filter for..." for any of the publication numbers and get the desired results. I can also run the query in datasheet view, enter "3.05" in the parameter window, and get the desired results. The only problem is with the report.

    I know this kind of thing can be hard to diagnose without posting the a copy of the database. I'll be glad to do that, although it'll take some time to reconnect the pieces and pare everything down to fit the 100K maximum size. Short of posting a copy of the database, can anyone here suggest some things I can look for to fix this problem?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Report parameter problem (2003)

    I'm sorry, but I don't think we can solve this without seeing (a stripped down version of) the database.

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,560
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Report parameter problem (2003)

    G'morning, Hans (et al): I've monkeyed with this thing till I'm blue in the face! <img src=/S/brickwall.gif border=0 alt=brickwall width=25 height=15> I went so far as to build an entirely new query and a new report from scratch. The maddening thing is that for one shining moment, everything worked. I keyed in "3.05," and it displayed perfectly! Then I went back and adjusted a few things

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sint Niklaas, Belgium
    Posts
    2,778
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Report parameter problem (2003)

    You have some bad charachters in your records. Some squares in the data. see attachment.
    If you remove the records with 3.05 and having ID nr 757 and greater the report run fine.
    Francois

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,560
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Report parameter problem (2003)

    Fran

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sint Niklaas, Belgium
    Posts
    2,778
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Report parameter problem (2003)

    Lucas,

    Having looked more precisely to the problem, the squares reprecent a tab charachter.
    You can remove them by using this code in the Before Update of the form.
    Private Sub Form_BeforeUpdate(Cancel As Integer)
    Me.Remarks = Replace(Me.Remarks, Chr(9), " ")
    End Sub

    But it seems that this is not the problem with the report and the squares print like they should.
    If I remove only the record 770, I get the report right.
    Even more, if I only remove the text in the remark in record 770, the report print.
    I can't find any bad character in it. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Francois

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Report parameter problem (2003)

    The problem is that some of the Remarks take up more than one page, but you have set the Keep Together property of the Detail section to Yes. This causes Access to keep on pushing the Remarks text box to the next page, in the vain hope that it will fit there. If you set Keep Together to No, the problem disappears (remember your question in the Word forum?)

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,560
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Report parameter problem (2003)

    Post deleted by Caesar3

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sint Niklaas, Belgium
    Posts
    2,778
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Report parameter problem (2003)

    See Hans <post#=459284>post 459284</post#> and look if this resolve the problem.
    Francois

  10. #10
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,560
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Report parameter problem (2003)

    Bingo! I've spent the whole day trying to figure this out, and all I had to do was change one little setting!

    Thanks, amigo! <img src=/S/salute.gif border=0 alt=salute width=15 height=20>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •