Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Voorhees, New Jersey
    Posts
    200
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    screensaver password

    I am unable to set a screensaver password on my work computer. Is there something I'm missing? Or is this some kind of security measure that is in effect without my knowledge?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,348
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,015 Times in 890 Posts

    Re: screensaver password

    If you are logged into a domain there could be a group policy in effect that does not allow you to do this.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Voorhees, New Jersey
    Posts
    200
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: screensaver password

    "Password protected" is checked, but it doesn't ask me for a password...

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,348
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,015 Times in 890 Posts

    Re: screensaver password

    You don't get to assign a password it uses the logon password. Should require a Ctrl+Alt+Del to get logon screen.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Voorhees, New Jersey
    Posts
    200
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: screensaver password

    Then maybe then I shouldn't really care that my "screensaver password" doesn't work, since a 3rd party would have to know my logon password anyways, right?

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,348
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,015 Times in 890 Posts

    Re: screensaver password

    If you think the screensaver should require a password for the PC to be re-activated, then it is a problem. There is also a registry setting to check and possibly modify. See How can I modify the grace timeout for password protected screensavers?.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •