Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Placerville, California, USA
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Custom Toolbars (2003)

    We are automating many of our internal forms and posting them on our intranet. Since most of these forms are protected and have fill-in fields, I did get the macro working to allow spelling checking. I created a customer toolbar (document specific) to run the macro, but when the document is posted on our intranet the toolbar does not display.

    How can you make sure a toolbar stays with this posted document?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Custom Toolbars (2003)

    Do your users have IE set to open the document inside the browser, or to launch it in Word itself? This can affect the options you have available (for example, whether macros run).

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Placerville, California, USA
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Custom Toolbars (2003)

    Our users have IE open the Word document <img src=/S/argue.gif border=0 alt=argue width=50 height=25> which some do not like, but that is our standard!

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Custom Toolbars (2003)

    I don't have very much experience with that configuration. Hopefully someone who does can chime in with their solutions, workarounds, or shared frustrations. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Custom Toolbars (2003)

    I don't think you are going to be able to do what you want with this configuration. I've certainly never found a way.

    StuartR

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Placerville, California, USA
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Custom Toolbars (2003)

    Thanks....if we forced the web page to open Word and not IE, is there a way to force the toolbar to be open?

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Custom Toolbars (2003)

    If you open this document with Word then you could use an AutoOpen or DocumentOpen macro to display the required toolbar. This won't work if people have set their macro security to prevent macros from running.

    StuartR

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Placerville, California, USA
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Custom Toolbars (2003)

    Thanks for your previous answers. Now another question regarding opening the document in IE vs Word. I know that I can go to my folder options, file types, registered file types and uncheck browse in same window for .doc and/or .dot extensions and that will open the file in Word and not IE. Do you know if there is a way on the server to accomplish this instead of making the change on each individual workstation?

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    389
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Custom Toolbars (2003)

    You can do it from a .reg file. Something like:
    <pre>Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREClassesWord.Document.8]
    @="Microsoft Word Document"
    "EditFlags"=dword:00010000
    "BrowserFlags"=dword:00000008
    </pre>


  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Custom Toolbars (2003)

    Andrew,

    This reg file would still need to be executed on every client, and not on the server - unless I have misunderstood something.

    StuartR

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Custom Toolbars (2003)

    The method I have used to ensure that users don't open a Word document within a browser window is to ZIP the word document first. That way they have to open it with word.

    Low tech, but it works.

    StuartR

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    389
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Custom Toolbars (2003)

    Yes, Stuart, I think you're right, but I figured executing a .reg file would be a little more palatable than having to point-click-check through all those dialogs.

  13. #13
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Placerville, California, USA
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Custom Toolbars (2003)

    I'm hoping there is a way to do this without going into the registery....we would like to do this at the server since we have many locations.

    Any ideas on a server approach?

  14. #14
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Custom Toolbars (2003)

    > we would like to do this at the server since we have many locations

    To create a link that launches a template, or new document based on a template, in Word, try the VBScript in <!post= Re: Generate a new doc from a dot on the web (Word 97/SR2),130411> Re: Generate a new doc from a dot on the web (Word 97/SR2)<!/post>. I think this can be done in JavaScript, too, should that be desired, but I generally don't try to do automation from JavaScript.

  15. #15
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Placerville, California, USA
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Custom Toolbars (2003)

    Thanks for the suggestion.....however, I'm not very good with macro code. I got the spelling to work on the protected document using the macro that is available on the Microsoft Word MVP FAQ Site, but I'm not sure what code needs to be added to open the toolbar if it is not displayed. Any suggestions?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •